Customer Reviews for

The Fountain

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Face your worst fear with the person you love...

    The fountain forces you to face your worst fear. That of losing the person you love most in the world. The Fountain is compelling and irresistable. The message is sublime and delivered with grace and mystery. It is not in your face or preachy but just absolutely moving. My wife and I watched it together. After we left the theater she was animated talking too fast "what did it mean", "I don't understand"? I stopped her, held her eyes with mine and asked "Do you really not understand"? She broke down in tears, shuddering and sobbing. Anyone who watches this film and does not understand it either has never loved another more than himself, of is so afraid of facing the message as to deny the message. A magnificent film, score, message and visuals. Amazing acting by Jackman..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Full of novel imagery, The Fountain is a remarkable addition to Darren Aronofsky's cinematic talent. A non-linear tale of life and death, and one man's (Hugh Jackman) quest to conquer both, this film is not meant for the impatient viewer. Mr. Aronofsky's technique of implanting the characters in three, distinct periods may be difficult to follow at times, but is part of the central theme alluded to throughout the film. While Jackman's characters (a Spanish conquistador, cancer researcher and stellar traveler) seem compelled to seek out the illusory gift of immortality, the film achieves its most dramatic and thought-provoking moments as they collectively realize and finally appreciate the cyclical/symbiotic relationship of life and death. The Fountain may require an additional viewing, but will provide for hours of interesting conversation about some heady subjects. Well cast, intelligently written and marvelous to behold, the film is in part an homage to another wonderful cinematic experience, 2001: A Space Odyssey.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    The movie started somewhat strangely and slow but the characters had great emotional depth and the actors did a splendid job. The story line was one of the most creative I've seen in years and the movie moves your heart. To think that this movie nearly didn't happen. I could've done without the hair on the tree but it was called for. I would recommend this movie for anyone. It will strengthen your bravery in death and in life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This movie was fantastic. Hard to follow? Sure. Intentionally so? Without a doubt. I understand that turns a lot of people off, and if you are that type of person, theres nothing wrong with that, just don't watch this movie. (If youre that type of person, why did you watch a movie by Aronofsky? He isn't exacltly known for mindless entertainment) However, for anyone wanting something they can actually spend some time digesting, and enjoy watching multiple times in order to seek out all the different parallels and intricacies of each storyline, this is a perfect film for you. I found myself not wanting my 2 1/2 hours back, but immediatley wanting to invest another 2 1/2 hours watching it over again!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Death is the road to awe.

    Love Darren Aronofsky, he is a creative genius. This film wasn't just great visually but spiritually and emotionally. Will buy and share this to all my friends and family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Astounding Love Story and Visually Amazing

    The Fountain was not only the best love story of 2006 put to celluloid, but one of the best love story films ever. I can't even describe how spectacular this movie was. It's a very heavy story about love and loss, but it's also a metaphor for rebirth. The visuals in this movie are breathtaking and the story is even better. OWN IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE

    Sure, the story can be hard to follow. Yes, the characters can be a little emotional at times. And to make matters difficult to track, the editing of the film goes back and forth between each of the film's three time periods. Does this mean the movie stinks? heck no. If you missed it in the theaters then you missed something truely amazing. The visuals of the film are remarkable and help out the story quite a bit. Overall, the past and future scenes are the most enjoyable. The story, itself, was very clever and reminescent of '60s experimental novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    The story was hard to follow and strange, Hugh Jackman did a great job. If it wasn't for the fact the Blu-Ray made the film engaging it would have have been a waste of time. Glad I didn't but it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I hate this movie. This film does not make any sense. It jumps around so much you don't know what's going on. The ending is terribly stupid. I don't know what they were thinking when they wrote this movie. At one point, I actually started laughing at its stupidity. I talked about the movie for days. However, the only thing I said about it was how bad it was. Do NOT waste any of your time watching The Fountain. You'll spend twice as long trying to figure out what is was about and honestly, I still don't know. Nobody should watch The Fountain.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I want my 2 1/2 hours back

    Pretty sure drugs were involved while making this. It was obvious why this film reportedly took years to get off the ground - because it doesn't make an ounce of sense. If you want to see Hugh Jackman trying to find a cure for death (how stupid is that) and blubbering like a sissy for two hours, this is the movie for you. At the end, I was glad he failed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2