Customer Reviews for

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous!

I had the opportunity of seeing the Swedish film version of "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" in its limited release in New York. I had read Steig Larsson's novel, and it is the best books I have read this year. That being said, I must say that the film is much better...
I had the opportunity of seeing the Swedish film version of "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" in its limited release in New York. I had read Steig Larsson's novel, and it is the best books I have read this year. That being said, I must say that the film is much better than the book. The Millenium Triology films have been shown on Swedish television, each book being a two-part movie.

Having read that there are plans to remake this as a Hollywood production is a disappointment. Rumored for the part of journalist Mikael Blomkvist are "pretty boys" Clooney, Depp, and Pitt, and rumoured for the part of Lisbeth Salander are Carey Mulligan and Kristen Stewart. After seeing the Swedish version, in my opinion, it would be extremely difficult to see anyone other than actors Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace in these roles. The American version would benefit from getting Ms. Rapace to reprise her role as Lisbeth, and perhaps the accomplished actor Viggo Mortensen in the role of Blomkvist.

Like the book, the film contains graphic sexual violence. However, it is not gratuitous, but serves to drive the narrative forward, and to underscore the alarming rate of sexual violence toward women in Sweden, one of the novel's underlying social themes.

If you can find this movie in the theatre, please seek it out. If not, I would highly recommend owning the DVD.

posted by witte59 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Expected more

I saw this film (in a theater) with someone who hadn't read the book. He was confused, because the movie cuts plot points from the novel, and the story didn't quite make sense. I was disappointed, because they made the story feel workmanlike and obligatory, not suspense...
I saw this film (in a theater) with someone who hadn't read the book. He was confused, because the movie cuts plot points from the novel, and the story didn't quite make sense. I was disappointed, because they made the story feel workmanlike and obligatory, not suspenseful and sexy. Some nice moments, but overall a letdown. I recognize Larsson's shortcomings as a writer, but his novel was "grippy." The movie, not so much.

posted by 752764 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabulous!

    I had the opportunity of seeing the Swedish film version of "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" in its limited release in New York. I had read Steig Larsson's novel, and it is the best books I have read this year. That being said, I must say that the film is much better than the book. The Millenium Triology films have been shown on Swedish television, each book being a two-part movie.

    Having read that there are plans to remake this as a Hollywood production is a disappointment. Rumored for the part of journalist Mikael Blomkvist are "pretty boys" Clooney, Depp, and Pitt, and rumoured for the part of Lisbeth Salander are Carey Mulligan and Kristen Stewart. After seeing the Swedish version, in my opinion, it would be extremely difficult to see anyone other than actors Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace in these roles. The American version would benefit from getting Ms. Rapace to reprise her role as Lisbeth, and perhaps the accomplished actor Viggo Mortensen in the role of Blomkvist.

    Like the book, the film contains graphic sexual violence. However, it is not gratuitous, but serves to drive the narrative forward, and to underscore the alarming rate of sexual violence toward women in Sweden, one of the novel's underlying social themes.

    If you can find this movie in the theatre, please seek it out. If not, I would highly recommend owning the DVD.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Excellent

    Please disregard all negative reviews of this film. It is phenomenal, and extremely well put together... just like all of the novels. My high expectations were met with each character (especially Salander), above and beyond what I thought was possible. Take the time to watch each movie of this series if you love the books, you won't regret it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Expected more

    I saw this film (in a theater) with someone who hadn't read the book. He was confused, because the movie cuts plot points from the novel, and the story didn't quite make sense. I was disappointed, because they made the story feel workmanlike and obligatory, not suspenseful and sexy. Some nice moments, but overall a letdown. I recognize Larsson's shortcomings as a writer, but his novel was "grippy." The movie, not so much.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    LOVED!

    I read the book first and felt that this film followed it as closely as a two hour film can. Even as a foreign film I felt that I could connect with all the characters and found the whole film riviting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    Agree Highly Recommend

    I have read all of the books and found the movie great to watch, I will not view the American version when it comes out, this was too close to the feeling of the books in cast and setting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I have not yet read Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy, but after seeing this movie I will be reading them starting tomorrow. I found the overall plot exciting, gripping and intense. As mentioned in other reviews, this movie has several gritty scenes so it may not be for the faint at heart audience. Fans of crime novels will probably enjoy this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Grizzly and Disgusting!

    I wanted to read the book series. So I watched the movie to see if it would spark an interest. I should have known better.
    The pros- I see where the story can suck you in to want to read the books.
    The cons- Very graphic rape scenes, sex scenes and disgusting murdered victims. I shake my head in horror.
    The subtitles did not bother me, the acting was okay, the ending left you hanging for the next chapter, but I wont be reading it. If this gave me nightmares what does book two do you. Maybe I am overreacting and its a great series, I was just turned off.
    Not suitable for young audiences!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    What just happened?

    I decided that I would watch this movie before I read the book because the book was getting such good reviews. I didn't even know what it was supposed to be about, and the fact that it was an investigation kind of surprised me. From the start I had no idea what was going on. That didn't change as the movie went on either. I still don't exactly know what a lot of the movie was about. The only thing that I really understood about this movie was that they were trying to uncover what happened to this girl. I have no idea how the very end played into the whole movie though...it just seemed really random. Let's just say that somewhere I read a review and it said that the movie was better than the book, I think the movie sucks so I'm definitely not going to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    swedis

    when i first put the movie in
    it was in swedis.
    then i pressed a butten
    then it was in english.
    it was good and had you
    guessing untill the verry
    end. i cant belive ther making.
    an american remake would it even
    be the same. but others may not like
    the movie if you read the book.
    as i say if you read the books, the
    the movie is always shiz most of the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Movie!

    I really enjoyed this movie despite the fact that I had to read it. The only bad thing I can think of is that the movie skipped around according to the book, but really what movie thats based off a book doesn't? the actors were phenomonal and the setting was exactly as I pictured it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good movie but you must read the book

    The movie is good, however I can see people getting confused specially if they have not read the book. Of course the book is so much better, they changed scenes around and some scenes are slighty different from the way is written in the book. They don't mention Millenium, the magazine, nearly as much as they should. They concentrated in Harriet and the Vanger family and left too much out about Wennerstrom. It's hard for me when I have to read the subtitles so I got a bit confused at times, specially because it was very fast paced and it was hard for me to keep up. But none-the-less it's a good movie and it's worth to see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    save your money

    Save your money and buy the book. Loved the books and was excited to see the film and how it would encompus the book. For someone who has not read the book they will be lost, to many gaps in the story line of the movie that doesn't explain what happened or is happening. Very disappointed in this film version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4