Customer Reviews for

The Godfather Part II

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    You Mean Nothing to me now...

    This is definitely not a sequel where the director revives a dead plot and swaps the characters and scenery for something equally shiny. This story is a sequel and a prequel. We get to see young Vito Corleone come to America and rise to the five family status with clever tactics and a bag of pistols, while on the other end we see Michael Corleone narrowly avoid assassination and travel to Cuba where he looks for investors in his casinos and searches for whomever put the hit on him. This story is as clever as the original and has most, if not all, of the original cast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I felt that this was a okay movie, overall, but I felt that it was way too long. The contemplation of suicide crossed my mind because of the utter length. I also felt the plot was boring, and contained little to keep me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Blood ,guts, honor, and family

    This movie is so accurately portrayed that it has now become one of my all time favorite and greatest movie. The scenery and beauty of this movie is excellent. But the famliy ties in this movie show what it truly was like when times were hard and family and the respect for them was all any one had. Respect for those who hold your life in thier hands is certainly the ones you want to hold up high or place on a pedestal. This movie is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Movie I could not Refuse to watch

    In many ways this movie was superior to its prequel. Less extravagent but no less violent, it has an instropective and an almost Shakeperean tragic touch with it as Michael becomes the unheralded and unrivaled king of the "family business." The film has a certain corrolary between Michael and his father, Vito, as they both rise to fight their enemies and they both display the necessary traits for the job--cunning, ruthlessness, scrupulousness and intelligence with the image of a benevolent family man. I think also that Michael exhibited an almost Lear-like vindictivness towards his brother and his ever growing dark side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Setting the scene...

    The sequal to prehaps the greatest film ever produced was very different to the blood shed first movie: The Godfather. The fil m delivers a parralell storyline, comparing Michael Corleone's rise of power with Don Vito's in the 40's. I think that this film was celverly written by Puzo to set the scene for the ultimate finalie: The Godfather III....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2003

    Poor Cousin of Godfather

    It's true that sequels are made only for money. Most of them don't make it but this one did ! That's the only difference. Loose storyline - Michael consolidating his empire in parallel with his father's rise to power. Commonplace ideas ( There is an instance of forcing a senator to grant license to Michael's new Casino. He is framed for murdering a prostitute. ). Ordinary music. Pauses which are used so well in this kind of movies are not used. It's shouting from begining to the end ( I could only come halfway. Didn't want any remaining sweet memories of Godfather to be erased ). Very disappointing !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2001

    A Movie you can't refuse

    Godfather II is the second in the series of three. It's not a sequel, rather, it's a continuation of the story as good as the origional. GFII continues the story of Michael Corleone but also adds in at the same time scenes of his father Vito's growth in power. Vito goes from a Sicilian immigrant to a Man of Respect in Little Italy. Meanwhile, we see Michael's downfall. Great story. 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2000

    FAMILY HONOR: GF-2 CONTINUES A BLOODLINE OF GREATNESS

    Just as every Kentucky Derby winner's fole has a million dollar price tag on their head and an expectation of greatness, GODFATHER PART 2 (GF-2) continues the winning heritage of its 1972 fore-father. Coppola brings two stories of the Corleone family to the screen and keeps their seperate continuity on an incredible unequaled track. The film never bogs and when the final frames roll, you sit in shocked amazement. The age old arguement: Which of the two films is better can be the chicken and egg debate of celluloid. DeNiro won his first Oscar for his role as young Vito Corleone. The film is almost stolen by the supporting work of Michael V. Gazzo as old school gangster Frankie 5 Angels and Lee Strassberg as Hyman Roth. Both were nominated for Best Supporting Actor, but lost to DeNiro. This is a great film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1