Customer Reviews for

The Graduate

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    And Here's to you Mrs. Robertson!

    The Graduate with Dustin Hoffman from the 1960's is a very good classic its amazing how and older woman suduced a young man in the movie i like the scence where he's lying out by the pool and the end when he stops the wedding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must For Us That DO Remember The 60's

    This film came along at the perfect time, so much was going on ,we really needed a great movie that we could relate to and feel good about. I am looking forward to the 40th anniversary edition, it's gonna be a great collectors piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An ultimate classic

    Anyone who has graduated from college and just wanted to live can relate to this film, with the exception of course of the seduction or perhaps not. If you like brilliant cinema, fantastic characters and a classic storyline get this movie. The cinematography and scripting are actually studied by film and acting students all over the world. As it is said "two thumbs up"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Plastics"

    I got one word-"Plastics." It typified the whole confusion of that generation and so did Dennis Hoffman's performance, ambivalent, uncertain, and idealistic at all the same time. With a taboo romance and some of the greatest songs ever put on track a la Simon and Garfunkel, the Graduate will definitely help you score a date with an older, sexy women or at least get her daughter to dump her current fiancee for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Look, maybe we could do something else together. Mrs. Robinson, would you like to go to a movie?"

    For his second film, Mike Nichols ("Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?") directed a faithful and devastatingly funny adaptation of "The Graduate", Charles Webb's novel about a young man who loses his virginity to a family friend and his heart to her daughter. The film provides an unforgettable portrait of a boy caught in the full panic of self-discovery and dragged screaming into manhood. With a modest budget of three million dollars, "The Graduate" quickly became a huge box-office smash, grossing over $100 million worldwide and winning Mike Nichols an Academy Award as Best Director. But the film's success might well have had something to do with the way it blends its modern sheen with concealed traditional pleasures. Its pleasure and popularity were enhanced by the bitter-sweet songs of Simon and Garfunkel that accompany the narrative. The film, which might easily at any moment have degenerated into an enjoyable but forgettable bedroom farce, is continually turned into a deft work of social satire, establishing Nichols as a cultural humorist in the tradition of Preston Sturges and Billy Wilder. Numerous bits of Americana are effectively integrated into the story: when Ben (Dustin Hoffman) visits Mrs. Robinson (brilliantly portrayed by Anne Bancroft) at her home, "The Dating Game" is blaring from the television set, adding a comic undercurrent to their relationship when Ben tries to stop Elaine's forced marriage, he finds it taking place in one of those modern churches that look more like an experimental art museum than a place of worship. There are numerous scenes that have become classics, including Ben's nervous routine when checking into a hotel with Mrs. Robinson for the first time, encountering an unperturbed desk clerk (Buck Henry), and Ben's early attempt to escape the banal small talk of his parents by submerging in their swimming pool with diving equipment, where he stares, in exasperation, directly into the camera. Understandably, Hoffman emerged as the most significant youth cult star since James Dean. With a deadpan expression and an uncertain voice, he offered an entirely new concept of how a star should act and look, just as the artistic techniques employed in "The Graduate" presented audiences with an alternative to the earlier ideas of how a Hollywood movie ought to be made. [filmfactsman]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    brilliant

    this movie is so great in every level: cast, plot, mystery, drama, love, hate and so on. Both lead characters are simply crafted pefectly. This movie is an ultimate classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie ever!!

    Everyone in the country needs to own this movie! It is sheer brilliance. Hoffman is amazing as Benjamin and Bancroft plays an excellent role as well. No movie tops it in my book. Great camera work. Fantastic music (Simon ang Garfunkel). Highly Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1