BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Happiest Baby on the Block

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Works every time!

    We saw this video right before our first son was born. It is short and a quick watch, so easy to fit a busy schedule. We used the 5s that are taught all the time with him and that worked so well that we wanted to share this gold mine with all our friends and family that are having babies. I regularly give this as a shower gift (at least a dozen times)and make a nice swaddle blanket to go with it. We now havea second son and are using the 5s's with him and they work great! We are so grateful for the information we received in this video and I don't know that we would have ever got it from the book because we just never had time to sit down and read it all the way through... so the DVD made a great choice for us. Highly recommend to any expecting or new parents or for anyone looking for a great baby shower gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I read the book (from the library) and it worked!

    First off, every baby is different. So this review is really just to say that this worked for me, although it may not for you. If it doesn't seem to, don't throw the baby out with the bathwater: Keep some steps, throw out what doesn't seem to work. Modify, experiment. My baby liked to be swaddled, but she was large, so I had to make my own swaddling (she outgrew baby blankets very quickly), and did it till she was about four months old, because by then she was just too big for any swaddling. Rocking and shushing still works and she is now 16 mos. old, sleeps two naps a day, two hours each, and a solid 10 1/2 hrs. a night. Good luck to you and have a good night!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Getting Ready for Baby

    At the recommendation of a friend with three children and a busy husband, I ordered the DVD version instead of the book because I wanted to make sure we were both getting the same information and had a chance to talk about it before baby's arrival.

    My husband watched with rapt attention as the baby expert told about how to activate the calming reflex of a newborn. It was like magic, watching the upset babies calm down and chill out. It's going to be really nice to have these tools in our toolbox, and while I'm sure the book version is great too, I can't guarantee that it would have been read cover to cover by both of us in time. The DVD gives a general overview and for the visual learner, actually watching the irate baby start to coo and blink cutely after a few quick tricks was really valuable.

    Recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Haaaaaappppy Baby!

    I bought this book prior to the arrival of my fabulous daughter. It was a very easy read and gave me great tools to sooth and understand my newborn. I am very happy to report that a lot of the doctor's advice is very natural and I find myself using the techniques so naturally as if they were my own original idea. My daughter has been sleeping through the night since her 2nd week of life in part I believe because of the confidence that this book gave us. The best part is that her first word was happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    For the Happiest Parents on the Block

    The techniques described in this video for soothing a fussy infant are maddeningly simple but remarkably effective! They work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Happiest House on the Block!

    The video and the book were very well written and comforting. We wish that Dr. Karp lived in our neighborhood. We now have an extremely happy and calm baby in our house!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must see for every new and expecting parent!

    I was lucky enough to meet Dr. Karp at a training in my area. His methods of calming babies are amazing and work every time. This video along with some homemade swaddling blankets make a perfect baby shower/new baby gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    As my son said, "The best investment he ever made."

    After a sleepless night for all of us, 5 day old baby, mommy, daddy and grandma, my son brought home the DVD and immediately after watching it, put into practice what the DVD showed with dramatic results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Cure for "Colic"

    When my baby boy would cry, our hearts would break! Grandmas kept thinking it was his tummy. Though he did have reflux, once I borrowed this DVD from the library, our crying issues were solved. Simply the BEST gift you can give to expecting first time parents!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It Works!!!!!!!!

    I have seen this DVD several times and used it on several little babies and it works everytime. My friends 6 week old slept for 6 hours for the first time. The father told me, they get their first good night's sleep since the baby got home from the hospital. Friend shared her copy and I bought 2 as gifts for new two new grandparents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    This made all the difference for 1st time parents

    I received both the paperback and the video and enjoyed both tremedously. The book gives insight into the reasons the 5 methods work and their historical significance, while the video gives a visual aid to the techniques. My husband is the best swaddler I've ever seen and our son now quiets within 30 seconds every time! You won't be disappointed! It does require some practice, so don't lose heart if it doesn't work the first few times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It Works!

    We have a 6-week new born. As first time parents, everything is a challenge, especially when she cries. Dr.Karp's 5S method works the magic. We have found our daughter reacts to the Swing, Shushu sound and Stomach position. My husband said this DVD is a life saver because we now can have dinner together (before we had to take turns). The DVD version's demonstatration is very helpful. I highly recommend it to every parent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2