Customer Reviews for

The Haunting

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Movie "The Haunting"

    This is a remake of the old version that came out in the '60's, which is much better. The script and dialogue is very well written and does not jump all over the place. The story line logically leads the viewer to the plot of the movie. It may be too scary for younger children, but the movie was done very nicely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    REALLY SCARY MOVIE

    i think the movie has a really good supernatural twist to it. And I also think that the movie had some really good scenes. There is one that is my favorite but I will not ruin it you will just have to watch and see for yourself. WARNING: DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE ALONE. It was very scary and I actually jumped really high.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't watch this alone!

    I loved this movie & I have watched it many times. Each time I find something I had not seen before. Liv Tyler was very good, as was Owen Wilson & the rest of the cast. I don't like bloody, horror movies. This was just a very good watch!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    This is the perfect movie to watch on a stormy afternoon-- A c

    This is the perfect movie to watch on a stormy afternoon-- A classic, moody, atmospheric haunted house story! While the actors performances are all very finely done, I thought Lili Taylor's portrayal of Eleanor made this version of The Haunting of Hill House as good as it was. If you are a fan of movies like, "Dracula (Frank Langella), The Wolfman (Lon Chaney), or , more recently, The woman in Black (Daniel Radcliff), you will enjoy this film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Horrorible Disappointment

    I have to say that this movie made me want to brake the DVD if there was a half a star it would be getting that. This has very little blood or gore...and there are no really killing sences. Also there are no scares in this movie. for a harror or scare movie this one seems to have a almost happy ending. Though the plot does have some good twist...but it is to simple and the plot type is over done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Good ``Ghost Movie''

    When I saw this movie , I was 11 , so some parts were pretty intense , like -``Hugh Crain's ghost coming out'' , and the skeleton popping out of the fireplace. A movie I will remember from the year of 1999. This film had plenty of believable illusions , and pretty ok acting , but excellent plot , and storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent chiller!

    A great screen version of the Jackson novel. The special effects are very well done and the cast was so good I forgot who I was watching. Most people don't realize Wilson is in this film and are surprised. A definite must-see with a pillow in hand. Do not leave the room anywhere near the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fascinating Special Effects!!!!!!

    This is a wonderfully Mastered production of the Original Story. The Special Effects in this Movie Rival other Horror Movies who have gotten more Acclaim. I am Surprised that this Movie was not nominated for any Movie Awards around Special Effects and Sound. The DVD has wonderful Sound Effects and really Visually Enhances the Special FX that were put into the production. This is a Sleeper Movie for Popularity but it is truly a Gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Special Effects

    An okay flick--relied too heavily on special effects, though. Kind of a cheesy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Masterpiece!!!! Must-See!!!

    I really enjoyed this movie. I enjoyed some of the gore, such as the fountain that started to gush blood out, and the over-the- edge excitement. I really enjoyed the part when Crain had been destroyed. This movie is my #1 pick, a two thumbs up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pretty Good Flick

    I really enjoyed the Haunting. The screenplay moved along at a perfect pace and it was really creepy. The way the haunted house was designed featured Oscar-worthy set decoration. Great and very enjoyable movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1