Customer Reviews for

The Hours

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    insane indeed....

    the movie is brilliant, that is a given. what i'd like to say is something that's not about the movie but about people who think they know how to appreciate good films yet doesn't realize that they can't even construct a simple grammatically correct sentence. just for the record, the film may have tackled issues of insanity but it sure is a far cry from absurd movies nowadays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    Unbelievably BRILLIANT!!! A master piece! It will linger in your mind long after the final credit. I love this movie every time I watch it I learn a new thing about it. I can relate to it so much it was a very emotional and intellectual movie for me. If you liked the movie you will LOVE the book it's (Unbelievably) ten times better Michael Cunningham writes so beautifully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    watch and live

    this movie lay hidden in my, well actually my mom's collection for a while b4 i was too bored to object to. i'd seen it in nyc last spring but didnt really pay attention, i just liked the music. however, after sitting down to watch the film, i was entranced, enthralled, enraptured in the slowly flowing river melancholy and self-loathing. i think i was able to identify so well that i couldnt help but like it. anyway, i'm looking for movies like it to contrast cunningham/woolf with others writers of what is real. all in all, awesome film. give it a chance with someone who you really want to get to know, you'll have so much to talk about!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful film.....Had to rebut Mr. one star..........

    Man, the one star review couldn't have been more wrong. Everyone is entitled to their opinions, I guess, and to him, it was a terrible movie experience. Oh well. I won't dwell on it, but I just want to comment on the 'overacting' remark. On the contrary, the subtleties in the performances are mesmerizing. The looks of terror and dread without a word being spoken, Nicole Kidman allowing Woolf's inner demons to sneak into her blank eyes, Meryl Streep's nervous eye darting and Julianne Moore's volcanic rushes of panic enveloping her face. This is anything BUT overacting. These are wonderful actresses at the top of their game, and the story is beautifully told. By the way, the music is lovely. My advice to Johnny one-star: watch it again.....and relax!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Movie

    This is one of the best movies I have seen. I could relate throughout the whole movie. It brings out true feelings and emotions that everyone feels at some time in their life. It was an emotional movie for me. I would recomend it to anyone that has feelings and not ice running thru their veins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I really enjoyed it

    I cried four times, the movie is touching and profound.I bought this movie, and ordered the book ''HE NEVER CALLED AGAIN'', I highly recommend it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant

    Astounding and brilliant. But why Meryl didn't pick up an oscar nomination for her role is puzzling. Meryl is deservingly the greatest actress ever...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Absolute Triumph!!!

    This is one of the year's absolute fantastic film!!!!!!!!!!!!! the story was very depressing and dark, but very rich. this should have won best adapted screenplay at the oscars!!!! i actually enjoyed this a little more than the pianist. nicole kidman's performance was unforgettable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! she made the whole film flow together. i would also like to acknowledge Meryl stree and julianne moore for their inspiring parts in the movie. this truyl is an unforgettable movie, and will live forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    it is the best film in2002

    it is the best film in2002

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    subtle brilliance

    This movie does not scream it's intentions at it's audience, it is not a spectacular bonanza of flash and sparkle. Instead, it is a multi-faceted representation of three women in the face of life, harrowing through their different paths with the same courage. It stays true to Cunningham's brilliance while developing a feel and level of it's own. A truly worthwhile and prestigous film worthy of it's credits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Expectations

    I haven't actually seen the movie, but from I have read the book and seen numerous clips and trailers to know this will be good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Every second of ''The Hours'' is timeless

    This movie, crafted amazingly by Stephen Daldy, is based on the Pullitzer-Prize Winning novel of the same title (which I also suggest you buy for a wonderful read). The movie is so well crafted, the segways between the three womens lives and their powerful connections is marvelous. Great Adapted Screenplay by David Hare, and the score by Phillip Glass makes the movie ten times more potent in bringing out your emotions. I cried four time, the movie is touching and profound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Proformance of a Life Time

    {The}Hours is by far the greatest movie I've ever seen. Nicole Kidman (Virginia Woolf), Meryl Streep (Clarissa Vaughn a.k.a. Mrs. Dalloway), and Julianne Moore (Laura Brown) give an absolutely stunning, breath taking, and memorable performance in this movie. In my opinion the movie itself did not get near enough amount of recognition it should have gotten. However, Nicole Kidman rightly deserved the attention she got from it. Congratulations Nicole on winning Best Actress of 2003 at the Oscars for {The}Hours! You deserve it!!! >^_^<

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1