Customer Reviews for

The Hunger Games

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Film Adaptation I've Ever Seen

Let's face it, when we hear they're making a movie out of one of our favorite books, we have two reactions. First: Yes! We want to see the story come to life before our eyes. The second is fear. "I hope they don't f*** it up."

Hollywood does it to us all the ti...
Let's face it, when we hear they're making a movie out of one of our favorite books, we have two reactions. First: Yes! We want to see the story come to life before our eyes. The second is fear. "I hope they don't f*** it up."

Hollywood does it to us all the time. They take a fabulous book and they butcher it as they make the screen adaptation.

When I went to see "The Hunger Games" movie, I held my breath. How were they going to pull it off? So much of the story is in Katniss' head.

As the story unfolded before my eyes, I kept expecting Jennifer Lawrence, who plays Katniss Everdeen, to start talking to herself or at least have a voice over. But she didn't. Jennifer was able to show Katniss' thoughts and feelings without uttering a word. She was absolutely brilliant.

Effie and Haymitch were exactly how I pictured them down to a T. I loved the Lady Gaga-ish costuming of the Capital and yet they were still able to make it look both beautiful and scary at the same time.

They stayed very true to the story, anything that was left out, I understood why and it didn't bother me. The only line that was left out that I didn't understand why was one of my favorites. Where Peeta is laying in the river and tells Katniss she can kiss him any time now. I really loved that line and wished they'd left it in.

Everything else from casting to how they pulled it off was absolute magic, something I never say about a film adaptation. The pacing, the acting, the camera work. Fabulous.

I was blown away by this movie and give it five stars across the board. I can't wait to see what they do with "Catching Fire."

posted by ladyofwesttower on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I love the film, and have seen it 3 times. I pre-ordered this F

I love the film, and have seen it 3 times. I pre-ordered this Film the
day it was available for pre-ordering, and then on August 18, the day us
sad it would come out, i got an email saying they don't have it in
stock, and if they don't have it in 30 days, they'll email...
I love the film, and have seen it 3 times. I pre-ordered this Film the
day it was available for pre-ordering, and then on August 18, the day us
sad it would come out, i got an email saying they don't have it in
stock, and if they don't have it in 30 days, they'll email me. Very
disappointing. I'm just going to buy it from Amazon.

posted by Mayfly1125 on August 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Best Film Adaptation I've Ever Seen

    Let's face it, when we hear they're making a movie out of one of our favorite books, we have two reactions. First: Yes! We want to see the story come to life before our eyes. The second is fear. "I hope they don't f*** it up."

    Hollywood does it to us all the time. They take a fabulous book and they butcher it as they make the screen adaptation.

    When I went to see "The Hunger Games" movie, I held my breath. How were they going to pull it off? So much of the story is in Katniss' head.

    As the story unfolded before my eyes, I kept expecting Jennifer Lawrence, who plays Katniss Everdeen, to start talking to herself or at least have a voice over. But she didn't. Jennifer was able to show Katniss' thoughts and feelings without uttering a word. She was absolutely brilliant.

    Effie and Haymitch were exactly how I pictured them down to a T. I loved the Lady Gaga-ish costuming of the Capital and yet they were still able to make it look both beautiful and scary at the same time.

    They stayed very true to the story, anything that was left out, I understood why and it didn't bother me. The only line that was left out that I didn't understand why was one of my favorites. Where Peeta is laying in the river and tells Katniss she can kiss him any time now. I really loved that line and wished they'd left it in.

    Everything else from casting to how they pulled it off was absolute magic, something I never say about a film adaptation. The pacing, the acting, the camera work. Fabulous.

    I was blown away by this movie and give it five stars across the board. I can't wait to see what they do with "Catching Fire."

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    YOU MUST WATCH THIS MOVIE!!!!!

    BY FAR BEST MOVIE AND BOOK EVER MUST WATCH AND READ!!!!!!!!11

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    I pre-ordered this in July and was SO EXCITED for yesterday ...

    I pre-ordered this in July and was SO EXCITED for yesterday ... but
    instead of a DVD I got an e-mail saying that my order is delayed. This
    is the SECOND time this summer I've pre-ordered something and had this
    happen. Don't pre-order from BN, it's not going to work out for you.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    I love the film, and have seen it 3 times. I pre-ordered this F

    I love the film, and have seen it 3 times. I pre-ordered this Film the
    day it was available for pre-ordering, and then on August 18, the day us
    sad it would come out, i got an email saying they don't have it in
    stock, and if they don't have it in 30 days, they'll email me. Very
    disappointing. I'm just going to buy it from Amazon.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    Epic

    Greatest movie ever!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    I loved this movie.  There's a lot of symbolism behind it, refle

    I loved this movie.  There's a lot of symbolism behind it, reflecting the real world more than most realize.  The books were fantastic, and I was very pleased with the movie version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Seeing Hunger Games gain so much recognition is difficult to fat

    Seeing Hunger Games gain so much recognition is difficult to fathom; especially when it’s more or less a blatant copy of “Battle Royale”, a Japanese novel (1996), movie (2000), and manga (2000-2005). I’ve read the entire series of “Hunger Games” (2008), and not only is the writing style bland, but the plot is exceedingly unoriginal and not ‘unique’ like many of you are claiming it to be. Like the “Battle Royale” manga, “Hunger Games” includes love triangles, a group of teenagers randomly chosen (BR: by class HG: by district), plans to overthrow authority, teens given weapons and forced into a death match, a pair working together to undermine the game with the help of an older mentor who had previously won the game, both female and male main leads, a corrupted government, signal fires and bird calls, a reality TV show program (which IS in the English adaption of the manga (2006) for the series unlike many of you have known), and the list goes on and on. Evidence of these unconcealed similarities can be found on various Internet articles (whose writers I sincerely thank). I urge you to go right now and read the manga or novel of Battle Royale online so that you can compare the two series. The author of “Hunger Games” blatantly claimed (*cough* lied *cough) that she supposedly never even knew of “Battle Royale”, so you can’t use ‘inspiration’ as an excuse anymore. Instead, she blurted out nonsense about Roman mythology and the Iraq war since she doesn’t want to admit her source of inspiration is a contemporary. How convenient for her own success since “Battle Royale” is a Japanese series that isn’t well known in North America. She basically made an American-version of the series that contains less gruesome content and involves districts in place of school classes. Even if she truly did not know about “Battle Royale” or mysteriously forgot about it in the back of her mind, it is still part of an author’s job to confirm the originality of his or her own to-be published works through researching. I’m posting this all of over the web so that “Battle Royale” can at least receive some acknowledgment that the “Hunger Games” author denied. Sure enough, both series also share resemblances with “The Lord of the Flies” and “The Running Man”. However, unlike the HR author, the BR author has not denied this inspiration. Moreover, the “Hunger Games” is more like a rip-off of “Battle Royale” than an inspiration since the majority of the plot elements are nearly identical. There’s a fine line between the words ‘inspiration’ and ‘copy’, and “Hunger Games” has extended far past it. There are also many popular American series that were inspired by Japanese series such as “The Matrix” from “Ghost in the Shell”, however they rightfully gave credit for the ‘original’ series… unlike a certain someone. I sincerely apologize if I seem rash with my word choice, but it’s so aggravating that Suzanne Collins had dare stated that she wasn’t inspired by “Battle Royale” when she clearly was. What’s more contemptible is that she’s getting not only famous from her rip-off, but she’s also obtaining vast amounts of money from it. But hey, that’s how reality works, right? Therefore, I don’t care if this is marked as spam or hauled with negative comments from “Hunger Game” fanatics. As long as it reveals to some people the credit “Battle Royale” genuinely deserves, then I’m satisfied. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    i was really looking foreward to this film--BUT it looked like a

    i was really looking foreward to this film--BUT it looked like a bad remake of lord of the flies--the casting was horrible and donald sutherland as snow looks more like a grumpy old man than the creepy evil snow--i was extremely disappointed--read all the books and liked them but i made it 1/3 way through the movie and turned it off as not worth my time

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    I really enjoyed the film in the theatre, and the books are grea

    I really enjoyed the film in the theatre, and the books are great,
    too-only problem I have is that I pre-ordered this film in MARCH and
    then here it is the day of release and no movie in my mailbox-I am not
    going to pre-order anymore movies from B&N, I'll just go stand in
    line at Walmart from now on-VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    I love this movie!! The books are amazing!

    I love this movie!! The books are amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    The movie was okay and as expected, the book was better. If you

    The movie was okay and as expected, the book was better. If you are purchasing this with special interest in the Digital Copy feature, the codes have expired and no longer work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    I loved the books and have re-read them all several times.  They

    I loved the books and have re-read them all several times.  They are wonderful.  However, the movie was not.  

    Sitting and watching this movie was more like watching a documentary.  There was no sense of excitement or danger as depicted in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    this movie suuuuucked, I was expecting it to be really gory and

    this movie suuuuucked, I was expecting it to be really gory and disgusting just like the book but I was heart broken, this movie should've been Rated R

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    The Hunger Games opened a door of adventure and excitement when

    The Hunger Games opened a door of adventure and excitement when I read this book and you probably will to. Normally reading would bore me but this is my go to book in case of emergency (like the power going off). It offers just as much fun as sitting and watching TV. the only difference the TV is in my head! Oh, and of course less ads.

    I gave this book a 5 star rating in my eyes because of how much it reflected onto our way of life. Many people speculate on how the hunger games book is real and its happening now and will soon be in different districts working for the government. But I believe it won't be like that at all, besides i don't think congress wants to dress up like Nicki Minaj 365 days a year.

    but anyway back to the book, the drama Katniss has to bare for a mere 16 year old makes it a interesting not to mention going up against mostly guys who are twice her size. Overall just a great book, you almost have to read this book . I recommend this book to anyone who can afford it or has a chance to see it in theaters. best book ever read. -KYLE W

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    I love the books, and I'm happy they made the movie. Good qualit

    I love the books, and I'm happy they made the movie. Good quality acting. The only thing, they left out some important information from the book....!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of the BEST movies I have seen in awhile. I watched

    This is one of the BEST movies I have seen in awhile. I watched the movie before I read the book and I have to say that the book was just as good. This is a must see movie. If you like to read as well, the book is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    amazinggg. best film adaption of a book in history.

    amazinggg. best film adaption of a book in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good

    Love the movie. Acting is actually done really well. No complaints there. The costumes, the setting and tone is really good. Even the score. My only complaint is the shaky cam but that's really all I can think of. What I find liking more was before games, than the games itself, weird as that sound. Yeah there are some differences from book to movie but that doesn't stop from the movie being any good. The movie is really good. Had heard a lot about this and finally got to reading the books. Like both. Overall very good movie. Recommend both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Terrific Film, but "Blah" Extras

    If this had some good--really good--extras on it I would go for the five stars, but for such a high profile DVD, I'm amazed they did not spring for better extras. These aren't awful--they're just totally blah. Would have loved some deleted scenes, no commentary track?! Even bloopers would have been fun...but the film is great. I am a big supporter of the books and am always cynical when a film is made of a great book--but they have done a solid job here. Casting is especially inspired namely Woody Harrelson and Lenny Kravitz. As for the extras, maybe some of my 'want' list is on Blu-ray, which I don't own:((...and I always feel cheated and somehow made to feel inferior when Blu-ray buyers get the "goodies" while those of us who don't necessarily need, want or can afford Blu-ray get stuck with the lesser extras..oh well--a really enjoyable film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Most awsome. Camera was shaking alot and kinda makes u dizzy

    Most awsome. Camera was shaking alot and kinda makes u dizzy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2