Customer Reviews for

The Hunger Games

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Film Adaptation I've Ever Seen

Let's face it, when we hear they're making a movie out of one of our favorite books, we have two reactions. First: Yes! We want to see the story come to life before our eyes. The second is fear. "I hope they don't f*** it up."

Hollywood does it to us all the ti...
Let's face it, when we hear they're making a movie out of one of our favorite books, we have two reactions. First: Yes! We want to see the story come to life before our eyes. The second is fear. "I hope they don't f*** it up."

Hollywood does it to us all the time. They take a fabulous book and they butcher it as they make the screen adaptation.

When I went to see "The Hunger Games" movie, I held my breath. How were they going to pull it off? So much of the story is in Katniss' head.

As the story unfolded before my eyes, I kept expecting Jennifer Lawrence, who plays Katniss Everdeen, to start talking to herself or at least have a voice over. But she didn't. Jennifer was able to show Katniss' thoughts and feelings without uttering a word. She was absolutely brilliant.

Effie and Haymitch were exactly how I pictured them down to a T. I loved the Lady Gaga-ish costuming of the Capital and yet they were still able to make it look both beautiful and scary at the same time.

They stayed very true to the story, anything that was left out, I understood why and it didn't bother me. The only line that was left out that I didn't understand why was one of my favorites. Where Peeta is laying in the river and tells Katniss she can kiss him any time now. I really loved that line and wished they'd left it in.

Everything else from casting to how they pulled it off was absolute magic, something I never say about a film adaptation. The pacing, the acting, the camera work. Fabulous.

I was blown away by this movie and give it five stars across the board. I can't wait to see what they do with "Catching Fire."

posted by ladyofwesttower on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I love the film, and have seen it 3 times. I pre-ordered this F

I love the film, and have seen it 3 times. I pre-ordered this Film the
day it was available for pre-ordering, and then on August 18, the day us
sad it would come out, i got an email saying they don't have it in
stock, and if they don't have it in 30 days, they'll email...
I love the film, and have seen it 3 times. I pre-ordered this Film the
day it was available for pre-ordering, and then on August 18, the day us
sad it would come out, i got an email saying they don't have it in
stock, and if they don't have it in 30 days, they'll email me. Very
disappointing. I'm just going to buy it from Amazon.

posted by Mayfly1125 on August 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Best Film Adaptation I've Ever Seen

    Let's face it, when we hear they're making a movie out of one of our favorite books, we have two reactions. First: Yes! We want to see the story come to life before our eyes. The second is fear. "I hope they don't f*** it up."

    Hollywood does it to us all the time. They take a fabulous book and they butcher it as they make the screen adaptation.

    When I went to see "The Hunger Games" movie, I held my breath. How were they going to pull it off? So much of the story is in Katniss' head.

    As the story unfolded before my eyes, I kept expecting Jennifer Lawrence, who plays Katniss Everdeen, to start talking to herself or at least have a voice over. But she didn't. Jennifer was able to show Katniss' thoughts and feelings without uttering a word. She was absolutely brilliant.

    Effie and Haymitch were exactly how I pictured them down to a T. I loved the Lady Gaga-ish costuming of the Capital and yet they were still able to make it look both beautiful and scary at the same time.

    They stayed very true to the story, anything that was left out, I understood why and it didn't bother me. The only line that was left out that I didn't understand why was one of my favorites. Where Peeta is laying in the river and tells Katniss she can kiss him any time now. I really loved that line and wished they'd left it in.

    Everything else from casting to how they pulled it off was absolute magic, something I never say about a film adaptation. The pacing, the acting, the camera work. Fabulous.

    I was blown away by this movie and give it five stars across the board. I can't wait to see what they do with "Catching Fire."

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    YOU MUST WATCH THIS MOVIE!!!!!

    BY FAR BEST MOVIE AND BOOK EVER MUST WATCH AND READ!!!!!!!!11

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    Epic

    Greatest movie ever!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    I loved this movie.  There's a lot of symbolism behind it, refle

    I loved this movie.  There's a lot of symbolism behind it, reflecting the real world more than most realize.  The books were fantastic, and I was very pleased with the movie version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    I love this movie!! The books are amazing!

    I love this movie!! The books are amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    The Hunger Games opened a door of adventure and excitement when

    The Hunger Games opened a door of adventure and excitement when I read this book and you probably will to. Normally reading would bore me but this is my go to book in case of emergency (like the power going off). It offers just as much fun as sitting and watching TV. the only difference the TV is in my head! Oh, and of course less ads.

    I gave this book a 5 star rating in my eyes because of how much it reflected onto our way of life. Many people speculate on how the hunger games book is real and its happening now and will soon be in different districts working for the government. But I believe it won't be like that at all, besides i don't think congress wants to dress up like Nicki Minaj 365 days a year.

    but anyway back to the book, the drama Katniss has to bare for a mere 16 year old makes it a interesting not to mention going up against mostly guys who are twice her size. Overall just a great book, you almost have to read this book . I recommend this book to anyone who can afford it or has a chance to see it in theaters. best book ever read. -KYLE W

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of the BEST movies I have seen in awhile. I watched

    This is one of the BEST movies I have seen in awhile. I watched the movie before I read the book and I have to say that the book was just as good. This is a must see movie. If you like to read as well, the book is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    amazinggg. best film adaption of a book in history.

    amazinggg. best film adaption of a book in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good

    Love the movie. Acting is actually done really well. No complaints there. The costumes, the setting and tone is really good. Even the score. My only complaint is the shaky cam but that's really all I can think of. What I find liking more was before games, than the games itself, weird as that sound. Yeah there are some differences from book to movie but that doesn't stop from the movie being any good. The movie is really good. Had heard a lot about this and finally got to reading the books. Like both. Overall very good movie. Recommend both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Most awsome. Camera was shaking alot and kinda makes u dizzy

    Most awsome. Camera was shaking alot and kinda makes u dizzy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!

    AWESOME!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    i preordered this movie a day before it came out, and i got it a

    i preordered this movie a day before it came out, and i got it about 3
    days later!! this movie it just so amazing and i love the characters and
    the theme of it. very creatively done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    The movie is as amazing as the book is! A great job was done ret

    The movie is as amazing as the book is! A great job was done retelling
    the story from the characters to the settings. If you haven't read the
    book it's really easy to catch on to the story, and if you have read the
    book you will really enjoy it. A great movie overall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2