Customer Reviews for

The Hurt Locker

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Finally, an EOD movie

1st, let me point out that my husband is EOD. We went to theater to see the movie with half of his command. They all pretty much concurred that while this movie is a bit of a far cry as to how they really operate, it's still a really entertaining movie. There is no p...
1st, let me point out that my husband is EOD. We went to theater to see the movie with half of his command. They all pretty much concurred that while this movie is a bit of a far cry as to how they really operate, it's still a really entertaining movie. There is no place for guys like "Will" in the movie, lest everyone in the vicinity get blown up. As most military guys know, you can't exactly go rogue (too many times) because the hammer of authority will come down upon you. That said, the constant threat of dying, the hot and heavy bomb suits, the robots, the tempermental personalities in conflict with one another, the strained lives back home, the silly officers who filter into a situation with the idea of taking charge yet have no idea what's going on...that is entirely true to life. They don't, however, typically take off willy-nilly chasing down bad guys in alleyways with guns blazing nor do they try to track down little friends in their 'hood. But it makes for a good story. The acting is really quite good and the directing is awesome. For anyone who likes military movies or just action movies, this one is a good bet. After all, my husband is planning on buying it as soon as it's released...

posted by SheWhoShall on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Hardly a hint of reality!

My other half is in the military, so I was anxious to watch this movie with him. Boy, were we disappointed! We were also stunned to discover this movie got nine Oscar nominations. It was absolutely not representative of the reality of how EOD missions are done (was obvi...
My other half is in the military, so I was anxious to watch this movie with him. Boy, were we disappointed! We were also stunned to discover this movie got nine Oscar nominations. It was absolutely not representative of the reality of how EOD missions are done (was obvious even to me as a civilian, let alone those who serve our country), and I didn't think it was even well made. I was disappointed and saddened to realize that some people will believe this is how our soldiers conduct themselves. But of course Hollywood loved it, which only makes sense when you see it and realize it was more Hollywood than military. This could have been a great movie, and the topic hardly needed the additional and fictional drama they added for effect. It's little wonder why people have such stereotyped thoughts about our soldiers when movies like this only only portray the negatives. According to this movie, they are mostly rogues going out on their own, or else about to break from PTSD. Yes, PTSD and other stress-induced issues are very real among those who serve. Yet only one soldier is portrayed as mostly sane, which was rather disheartening. I wish I hadn't wasted my money.

posted by redheadb5 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie, really hits home.

    You will have so much More respect for our troops after watching this.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    excelent movie

    biased by attending land mine warfare school
    in Korea in 1954, 1st. Mar. Div.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    I write movie reviews for my school newspaper so I've seen it all. 2009 i had to sit through some of the worst movies i've ever seen in my life "Epic Movie" (was that 2009? I try to forget it), "Twilight", "Sorority Row", "Jennifer's Body" and...gad..."Orphan". While i was banging my head against my keyboard thinking to myself why i spent 9 bucks to see The Unborn, i stated that "there are movies that i've seen so far that are going to make me talk about for years to come...(i listed movies that were okay and good) but none are really...memorable. There are truely no movies that are going to come out in the theater that i demand you to see (all we get is big corperation Hollywoord crap fests.) Sorry, but don't see this movie. Kill it with fire and holy water." (I was still talking about The Unborn...by the way)
    While browsing Youtube ways back, i saw a trailer and ad for a movie with great reviews called The Hurt Locker. Naturally, when movies get good reviews, i make an effort to see them. Trying to find a theater to play it was hard and took quite a few gallons of gas. When i finally got to the theater, i planted down into my seat and the movie began...
    "Movie reviews by ***********. This month, The Hurt Locker: This movie made me get a boner while watching it (yes, i actually said that. I get away with a lot of things. The editor loves me...) I mean, this movie is proof that God exists and Hollywood hasn't completely sold her soul to the devil. I shouldn't even have to explain the plot. To figure the plot out yourself, go see the movie! You'd be glad you did and is well worth the 9 bucks you'll pay for it. In fact, it was the best 9 bucks i've spent this year. The reason i love it is because it's real. This isn't a gun toting badass who blows through armies of men with a gun with unlimited ammo. This isn't about a man in a suit fighting evil. This isn't about a Spec ops team deep in Iraq. These are normal US foot soilders trying to deal with day to day life in Iraq. This is what Iraq was like and still is. The characters are real and the plot is real(it is very believable.) Verdict: I want you to see this movie, if you don't I'll find you."
    Buy it, watch it, love it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "The Hurt Locker" Exceeds Expectations

    After viewing the Academy Awards and witnessing the first Oscar to a female director (Kathryn Bigelow), I hoped that it wasn't just hype or publicity. "The Hurt Locker" does not disappoint. The compelling story grips viewers from the early scenes depicting the immense danger of the missions and takes them on an emotional ride that clearly illustrates how war is addictive. Jeremy Renner certainly deserved the Oscar nomination and appearances by Guy Pearce and Ralph Fiennes added to the high quality of the film which proved that blockbuster budgets are not necessary to produce blockbuster films. I am happy with my purchase as I am sure I will view it again and again- particularly with groups of people with whom I can share a thought-provoking intellectual discussion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the greatest movies

    This is an absolute astounding movie. You are on edge through the whole movie as the plot progress you grow and follow the characters very complex emotion. The ending left me breathless. Highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Your HOOKED the first FIVE MINUTES...

    Watched this movie on HBO when visiting family in October, I didn't want to watch it at first, as I have family in Iraq. Within the first five minutes I was HOOKED. When I got home I purchased it for my own collection. With regard to NEGATIVE REVIEWS... THIS is ENTERTAINMENT... NOT A DOCUMENTARY! This movie ENTERTAINS... is fast paced, keeps your attention and delivers... provided you like 'war' movies! You will NOT be disappointed. If you want reality... watch the NEWS... but, then again... you CAN'T BELIEVE their stories... all the time either! Boynton Beach, FL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    HURT LOCKER

    We loved this movie. It was very real and also very moving. We would hope more people would watch this and come to see what our Men and Women do, to keep all of us safe.

    We would urge everyone to see this and talk to your "teens" about what it all means.

    God Bless us all and God Bless America

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredibly Intense!

    Now I know what it must be like in Iraq and Afghanistan. Incredible movie; very intense and gripping. You finally begin to appreciate what the troops must endure and handle while keeping their sanity. A great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Hard to fathom

    How can you define such bravery of those that volunteer for this work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    hunt locker

    THIS MOVIE WAS A GREAT MOVIE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thought I didn't want to see this movie

    Because I don't like a lot of violence and gore and usually don't like ware movies, I really thought I didn't want to see this movie. My theory is that we should all just learn to accept each others differences and do our best to get along. War is senseless and I don't like to watch people killing other people. But my husband is a big war film fan. He loves to watch the old movies about the world wars and anything that contains any history about any of the wars the US has been involved in. His Dad was in the Navy during WWII and served on the USS South Dakota during some of the big battles, so he heard lots of stories growing up. That and his natural curiosity and love of history make these kinds of movies "must sees" for him. Being the good sport that I am, and because it won so many awards, I decided I'd at least give it a chance and ended up really impressed by the way it was presented. I still think war is senseless and I still don't like to watch people killing other people, but this movie really brings the war right into your front room. I was really able to understand what our service men and women are doing for us, and it gave me a much greater appreciation of the sacrifices they are making. I already had an appreciation for their sacrifices, but his changed my whole view and really made it real for me. It's a movie everyone should watch for that reason alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent film from a groundbreaking director

    And engrossing film from, and a well-deserved Oscar for, Kathryn Bigelow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Well Done

    This is one of those movies that you are sorry you like. It is the story of what some of our soldiers have to endure. So, you can say you don't like it but that doesn't change the fact that this stuff happens. The movie is very well made and held my attention the entire time. Good Work !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The unsung heroes of the war

    Fantastic movie. Wonderful performances by some very talented actors. God bless the guys who do this on a daily basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Unforgetable

    Great movie--the tension of the job and the stress on the solders is maintained throughout. Most important is the believablability of the actors playing the three main characters. Well worth seeing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding

    I picked this video up because of the awards it won, and had no real idea of what it was about. However, I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. You never know what is going to happen, and you certainly are emotionally attached to the characters. It was hard to watch at times due to the political foundation of the movie. However, I think the actors and the content of this movie is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SOME TRUTH, SOME EXAGGERATIONS BUT YOU MUST JUDGE FOR YOURSELF!

    A MIX OF HOLLYWOOD and WAR SCRIPTS! HIGHS and LOWS! GOOD and BAD! THIS VIDEO HAS ALL OF THESE!! I experienced the personalities of this movie in the Corps in 1970 thru 1973. My son's experiences in The Marines today tell me it has intensified. Not everyone nor every unit is like the others in the military. I believe that is why the different reviews, but that does not tell every story. This is but one of them. CHECK OUT THE MOVIE FOR YOURSELF!! One thing about this movie everyone seems to agree, IT IS DRAMA! The adrenalin rush when you have diffused an IED (Improvised Explosive Device) and then pull a chord and find six more connected, it helps if you are a little crazy. You have to let out steam (pressure) sometime or you will explode. This movie shows that as well. I thought they went alittle far in the sniper scene, as they acted like they had the training from Fort Benning. I do not think so. The almost daily pressure of trying to save a person with an Improvised Explosive Device chained to them. Like Medical Doctors you want to win them all but you have to learn that you will not win them all. The reality of coming home after the tour in Iraq and everything can go back to the way it was in a mondane life style is STUPID. Where is the "cool down" for a soldier coming from an intense setting? I can understand the conclusion of the movie "welcome to delta company"! View it for yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Hurt Locker

    Excellent, captivating portrayal of life at the front lines in war time. Gritty and realistic...The Oscar achievements of this film were well deserved. Even if some aspects are not typical, they help give the people far removed from the war front an eye opening experience of what our brave men face each day. The portrayal of how the Iraqis see the American troops is enlightening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oscars, well deserved.

    Excellent adherence to military operations and techniques. Good portrayal of the personality differences and conflicts of the soldiers. Very realistic movie.

    In addition to the "bomb squad" activities featured in the story, the movie provides an excellent insight into unforgiving, desolate geography of the countries to which we are sending our troops as well as a realistic view of the actions and interactions of our military personel with the people in the war-torn countries. Friend? Foe? A good rule of thumb. . .trust no one.

    HURT LOCKER is a "must see" movie for those who are not "faint of heart". It realistically shows the fanaticism of some of the people we are trying to "save" as well as why it is so important that we attempt to assist the genuine non combatant. The movie is riveting look into the horrors of war, not a relaxing, escapism flick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2