Customer Reviews for

The Incredible Hulk

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic! Especially compared to the Ang Lee version!

This movie was brilliant. The idea of making it into a government chase for the scientist who ran away with their weapon was awesome. A very good way to update it. Edward Norton as Bruse Banner was perfect casting, and I think it was one of the best performances of h...
This movie was brilliant. The idea of making it into a government chase for the scientist who ran away with their weapon was awesome. A very good way to update it. Edward Norton as Bruse Banner was perfect casting, and I think it was one of the best performances of his career. It would have been so easy for the part (and then the whole movie) to be seen as cheesy, but Norton made it fun, emotional, and easy for the audience to see the struggle between his two "personalities." Liv Tyler and William Hurt were amazing, of course. Tim Roth as the villain could NOT have been better casting. He's such a great actor. He was the perfect opposite for Edward Norton. As they say, "Absolute power corrupts absolutely." A fantastic film all around. Most people liked "Iron Man" better but this film had better characterisation and performances.

posted by J_Blaze_Magic on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Green Fun

One of the most anticipated movies of the week is THE INCREDIBLE HULK and it certainly delivers! A well done cartoon feature from beginning to end though perhaps a little too violent for the young animation afficionados. The action reminds the viewer of the old Looney ...
One of the most anticipated movies of the week is THE INCREDIBLE HULK and it certainly delivers! A well done cartoon feature from beginning to end though perhaps a little too violent for the young animation afficionados. The action reminds the viewer of the old Looney Tunes cartoons with Bugs Bunny; while the comedy--and believe me there is a lot of it!--is a reminder of the late Ub Iwerks and other dead animation pioneers who are no long alive. The color is bright and cheery except during the scenes where the guy turns into a big angry toadfrog. That is plenty scary and will have you hiding behind or under your seat depending if the theatre has regular or stadium seating. But, in conclusion, overall this was movie and should be viewed as such.

posted by bv on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic! Especially compared to the Ang Lee version!

    This movie was brilliant. The idea of making it into a government chase for the scientist who ran away with their weapon was awesome. A very good way to update it. Edward Norton as Bruse Banner was perfect casting, and I think it was one of the best performances of his career. It would have been so easy for the part (and then the whole movie) to be seen as cheesy, but Norton made it fun, emotional, and easy for the audience to see the struggle between his two "personalities." Liv Tyler and William Hurt were amazing, of course. Tim Roth as the villain could NOT have been better casting. He's such a great actor. He was the perfect opposite for Edward Norton. As they say, "Absolute power corrupts absolutely." A fantastic film all around. Most people liked "Iron Man" better but this film had better characterisation and performances.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    leave your superhero movie cliches at the door...

    I went into this movie thinking it would be similar to Hulk from 2003. I wasn't particularly excited for the movie but from the opening scene it presented the done to death story of the Hulk in a captivating and intriguing way.<BR/><BR/>The 'first act' set in Brazil was visually amazing(especially on Blu-Ray) and the atmosphere was great. Bruce Banners conversations with the mysterious Mr. Blue were captivating. The plot evolved mostly unpredictably, which was a nice break from normal superhero movies like Spiderman. <BR/><BR/>The visuals and sound were great, and casting was exceptionally good. Edward Norton was amazing, on par with Downy Jr and Christan Bale. Liv Tyler was also good, showing venerability and support at the same time. Tim Roth was perfectly suited also, and William hurt will play a great role in the sequel.<BR/><BR/>In a year dominated by The Dark Knight and Iron man the Incredible Hulk takes third among tough competition. It's defiantly worth your time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Green Fun

    One of the most anticipated movies of the week is THE INCREDIBLE HULK and it certainly delivers! A well done cartoon feature from beginning to end though perhaps a little too violent for the young animation afficionados. The action reminds the viewer of the old Looney Tunes cartoons with Bugs Bunny; while the comedy--and believe me there is a lot of it!--is a reminder of the late Ub Iwerks and other dead animation pioneers who are no long alive. The color is bright and cheery except during the scenes where the guy turns into a big angry toadfrog. That is plenty scary and will have you hiding behind or under your seat depending if the theatre has regular or stadium seating. But, in conclusion, overall this was movie and should be viewed as such.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    INTENSE!

    I wouldn¿t realize it till after Hulk turned back into Bruce but id be tense and on edge whenever Hulk would come into the picture his raw power was showed greatly in this movie. Amazing visuals through out! Marvel is really making good movies now, cept for X-men 3

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this movie stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this movie stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this movie stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one boring movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    lame movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this movie stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    edward norton destroyed this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one very seriously lame boring movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bigger, Badder, Better!

    4.5 out of 5

    Dr. Bruce Banner. Scientist. Researcher. Genius.
    Victim of a Gamma Ray experiment gone horribly wrong.

    And the military knows it. They were there. They saw what he became-a hulking, big green behemoth made of pure muscle, rage and power.

    Bruce (Edward Norton) has been on the run from them ever since, keeping a low profile and doing everything within his power to find a cure for the gamma poisoning that created the beast caged inside him. And now he thinks he has one, so he ventures back to the States to meet a scientist codenamed "Mr. Blue" whom he's been chatting with over a secure internet line to work up a cure. He also accidentally runs into the love of his life, Betty Ross (Liv Tyler), and the two are now on the run from Betty's hotheaded military father, General Thaddeus "Thunerbolt" Ross (William Hurt), who wants to turn the Hulk into a weapon.

    They evade him for the most part until General Ross decides to supe-up his special soldier, Emil Blonsky (Tim Roth), and, once that super soldier proves not enough of a threat to the Hulk, Emil takes it on himself to make himself a greater match and forces Dr. Blue, aka Samuel Sterns (Tim Blake Nelson), to turn him into something else--an Abomination.

    Now only the Hulk can stop this new mammoth creature and the two wage a crazy, awe-inspiring war through the streets of New York.

    I admit when I first heard about this movie I was leery. It was only five years before that Ang Lee's Hulk came out and I knew that The Incredible Hulk was meant to be a reboot, so I wasn't sure what to expect and, really, a reboot after only five years was just plain silly.

    As it turns out, this movie wasn't a reboot per se, but more of a do-over, in that during the credits it quickly gave the Hulk's origin story and then got into a story of its own without referring to the Hulk movie of 2003. And to make things even more "separate," there was that oh-so-cool cameo at the end by you-know-who that cemented this new Hulk movie into the current timeline that Marvel's got going on in the movies, one that will take us up to The Avengers in 2012.

    What can I say? This movie was way better than Hulk. More action. Cooler story. More realistic. This really was a solid Hulk-smash type of movie that didn't get bogged down in so much drama like the one in 2003. I loved Edward Norton as Bruce Banner. Not only did he look the part of a scrawny scientist, he also acted like one plus also did a good job conveying the burden he carries and the suffering he has to go through because of what he is (i.e. sometimes living on the street). There was a chemistry between him and Liv Tyler, too. The two of them could easily pass as real-life lovers. This kind of realism was crucial in showing the sacrifices Bruce had made in order to protect those he cared about from the Hulk.

    The sheer power shown by the Hulk throughout this movie was just plain awesome. The strength displayed was astounding. The coolest display, in my opinion, was when the helicopter Betty was in caught fire and Hulk clapped his hands together so hard it sent a shockwave through the air to put out the flame.

    I enjoyed Tim Roth as the good-guy-turned-bad. He's always convincing. And when he became Abomination, the big fight between Abomination and Hulk was terrific: two giant titans going head-to-head, muscle against muscle, power against power. Fantastic.

    The Incredible Hulk was such a great movie.

    A.P. Fuchs
    Canister X

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    sequell or remake

    itis a good hulk film with great action scenes and good dauloge.

    is it a sequell or a remake? it sorta fallows the end of the last hulk movie. but people are saying a remake

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best Hulk Movie

    I really enjoyed this movie. Although, I do like the look of Eric Banna as Bruce better, I still thought the movie was great. Ed Norton did a great job acting and the Hulk looks killer. This is my favorite Marvel movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3