Customer Reviews for

The Island

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brought to you my Microsoft

    Put simply: This is a stupid movie that cost a lot of money, brought to you by Microsoft and numerous other sponsors. The sci-fi concept is interesting the problem is that Bay forced it into a hyperactive action movie. But if it doesn't have at least ten car chases and a hundred explosions, it's not a Bay film. This is definitely a Bay film. My first problem I will forgive: he pushed the sci-fi idea just far enough to make a formula plot, falling short of any thoughtful social statement--but what did I expect, it's a Bay film. The second problem is unforgivable: Product placement. You mean to tell me that in fifty years, Microsoft is still using the same logos? The placement was so ridiculous that in one scene there's a close up of a fancy beverage that McGregor swigs. The bottle then takes the center of the shot and upstages McGregor and his clone (you gotta try real hard to do that). I was just waiting for him to say "refreshing, and tastes great too!" The movie was alright from an action packed, interesting-idea-that-doesn't-make-you-think-to-much point of view. As for plot and character...not so refreshing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    I actually didn't see this movie in the theater because I listen

    I actually didn't see this movie in the theater because I listened to a friend who said it wasn't good. I caught it on cable, and now it's one of my favorite movies. It's story is unique and interesting; the kind of movie that keeps you looking at the details. The more you watch it, the more details you look for. I highly suggest this movie for men who are looking for an action movie to watch with their girls. Much like Equilibrium, Lincoln takes an emotional journey that I think many women wished their men who love action films would learn how to take. And, like some of the others who posted, this did remind me a little bit of Logan's Run. The classics never die.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    “It's always the same dream - I'm on a boat, headed to The Island.”

    I had the opportunity to watch this film the other day and though it was okay. I’ve took it as another movie that has something desperately to say along with a long line of other frustrating Hollywood thrillers. There are a number of things that is good here but the bad brings down the entire experience. The underlying problem with this movie is Michael Bay. He has missed the mark yet again. The Island starts out as an engaging, entertaining Sci-Fi film. Then, about halfway through, it gets Bayified. Guns, explosions, chases, and actors yelling "run" over and over again. The movie starts out in a futuristic world where everybody dresses alike, lives in a contained environment, and believe that their only salvation is the prospect of getting to 'The Island', the only place in the world where life still flourishes. Well, as we all should know by now, "life finds a way". Lincoln, played by Ewan McGregor, starts to get curious about who he is and why he lives the way he does. Why can't he have bacon? Why is Tuesday always tofu night? Why does he always have to wear white, even after Labor Day. He has a "friendship" with Jordan, played by Scarlett Johannson. This could have been a movie in itself as these characters begin to understand who they are, or what they are, and why they live the way they do. Instead, about 30 minutes into the film, Lincoln discovers the big secret, grabs Jordan, yells "run!!", and the Michael Bay film begins. Don't get me wrong I love action, but it's like Orange Juice, it's much better smooth and pure, than processed and stagnant. So, what's good in this movie? First, McGregor is good as both Tom Lincolns and you can tell them apart base on blond highlights. Secondly, I liked the fact that they realized that 2019 isn't that far away, so L.A. looks different, but not that different. There are familiar buildings, cars, brand names, etc. Steve Buscemi, Michael Clarke Duncan and Djimon Honsou are all solid, not surprisingly. The movie has some funny moments, such as Lincoln getting worried when he's told his friend is "in the can". I know film-making technology has really come along way, but the scenes involving both Lincoln characters are so well done that you forget there's only one actor on the screen. What was bad to me in this film was Scarlett Johannson. I though she was completely wasted in this movie. It is by no means her fault. There is no character for her to play. The movie literally could have existed without the character of Jordan. She's bascilly there to look good in each scence. I liked Honsou as the tough, no nonsense operative out to retrieve the missing clones, but of course there ends up being more to his character. Otherwise, Honsou never would have been in this movie. And of course, there's the Bay factor. There are only so many times that characters can survive car wrecks, and falls from great heights, and bullets just missing them. It just gets old, and the box office reflects that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Underrated

    This movie was sadly underrated and underpromoted. Is it high art? Of course not, but it does have more heart and brains than any other action movie released in the last decade. Scarlet Johannson was wonderful as Jordan Two Delta, but once again it is Ewan McGregor as Lincoln Six Echo/Tom Lincoln who steals the picture. The scenes where the sponsor and clone interact show just how good an actor McGregor is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVED IT!!!!

    This movie did not get the headlines it deserved! Imaginitive, amazing, spectacular. Often confusing, but that just adds to the overall picture! Amazing movie--Ewan McGreggor: fabulous as usual, same to Scarlett Johansson. AMAZING, WORHTH EVERY PENNY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not bad...

    Reminded me of sort of a combination of Logans Run and The Matrix. Clones for 'batteries' or 'organ donors' kept in a giant, secret, weird area, fed false memories. One doesn't tell them where they were, one doesn't tell them where they are going. Enjoyed it, but it was predictable given the other 2 movies. Didn't like Steve Buscemi in his role.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This was a really good movie.....

    The international movie-goers got what the U.S. people did not. This was a really good movie and why it did not go over as well in the U.S. as it did elsewhere is beyond me. Ewan McGregor is wonderful as usual. The premise is interesting and makes one think. It's an action movie with an interesting story. If you didn't see the movie at the theaters, you WILL enjoy this at home. It is worth the price of admission.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1