Customer Reviews for

The Lake House

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another Keanu movie

    This movie had the possibility of being a good movie, until they cast Keanu Reeves to play it. Keanu, per usual, played Keanu.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lovely to watch

    Even if you don't like Keanu Reeves, as some have expressed ,this still deserves 5 stars just for the beautifuly photography. I personally have enjoyed watching this movie. Put it on several times and each time I spotted something I didn't see before. Buy it and enjoy. Good date movie. The chemistry between the two stars, Keanu and Sandra is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A BEAUTIFUL STORY

    This the best Sandra Bullock, Keanu Reeves movie I have ever watched. It is emotional and romantic, sad and happy at the same time. I highly recommend it to everyone, but it is a really good girlfriend night movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Love Story

    This is one of those rare and fantastic movies that can put the viewer in a very different place mentally. It is a fantasy, but, think about it, if it could happen in the movie "The Bishop's Wife" why not "The Lake House"?? The viewer does need to pay close attention to understand the premise -- the thought process -- of the author. That's not a problem for me --watching Keanu Reaves. I watch this one over and over and just love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it!

    The movie has a surprise ending. If you like Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves then you must see this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific

    This is what a romantic movie is supposed to be. To those reviewers who complain that it is so sentimental, seem to wish it had some high action shoot-outs or something, this isn't even trying to meet their needs. It is a great love story, well made, effectively told with some of the most visually stunning cinematography - the kind usually limited to epics, not common for this genre. The chemistry between Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock is very strong, Christopher Plummer gives a superb performance. The soundtrack is notable too. I'm sure if I watch this movie enough times I'll find some holes in the plot, but searching for logical gaps in a film that asks you to suspend disbelief in a magical mailbox would miss the point. Go with it and enjoy. It's terrific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I must be from mars...

    I thought this was a HORRIBLE movie... the story was cheesy and silly had me laughing through out the whole thing. Everyone in the room with me agreed my fav funny part was when Keanu is fixing the sink and says "2006!?" oh man and "those deep socket eyes" it was a big goof. It¿s not because im a guy im saying this lovely movies ive seen and enjoyed but this... this is just bad... why do people still hire Keanu reeves for movies?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An ageless movie experience

    I saw this in the theater & have owned it since it came out on DVD. This is a wonderful romantic film in the classic sense that can be enjoyed 10 or 20 years from now. Don't worry or try to make sense about the time difference--that's immaterial. It's a story about making a connection with someone & sharing everything of what you are, your hopes & dreams. It's about two people finding true love with someone they thought would never come to them & against all odds find a way to be together. Reeves & Bullock have incredible chemistry & despite the little time they were together on screen you could really feel it. I would love to see another movie with these two actors together--They are the 21st Century version of Bogie/Bacall or Tracy/Hepburn. A delightful film that I will watch & enjoy for years to come. Ageless!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lily, foreign film fanatic

    i actually prefer korean version "Il Mare" as i usually do for all the remake hollywood has done lately. if you like this kind of story then you should see My Sassy Girl. it's very funny and romantic at the same time. it seems that korean movies always deliver the emotional messages along with the great story lines. you will cry and feel for those characters. if you love romantic movies like me, you would appreciate the foreign films as much as i do.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thank god for the Hollywood version!

    I watched the original Korean version of it before the english version was made and I was left in a pool of questions..not really understanding what the movie was about. Thank god ,hollywood made an english version or I would've missed a great story. I really really love this movie.Planning to buy it on DVD. :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    5 stars are not enough

    In spite of Keanu's statuelike appearance, the chemistry between him and Sandra is incredible. Putting that aside, the movie is a fairy tail and an artform. It will go beyond "classic" status...the more I see it the more I want to see it. I finally bought it after watching it "on demand" on cable TV. I try to watch it 4 or 5 times per week and still find small things which I hadnt noticed. I still pull for the good finish...at the end...when Sandra is kneeling at the foot of the mailbox... Whew! Thank God movies like this are still made. Fantasy? Of course...this is why I go to movies...to get away from reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So, what's wrong with an old fashion love story?

    We enjoyed this sweet story and were so glad to know love stories can still be made without being too sappy or violence. Most of us are just everyday people and yes, we believe in "true" love, 36 years of marriage has proved that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unexpected Obsession

    At first, I didn't think this movie would good. I didn't go see it in the theatre. But this weekend, I was at my aunt's house, and I saw the DVD case lying on a table. I picked it up and asked if I could watch it, and I did. Now I love this movie. I don't own it yet, but my mom says she is getting it on her way home from work one day. If you haven't seen this, I would highly recommend you do so immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MUST SEE

    This movie might not make sense to people from a logical stand point but it does a superb job at appealing to your emotions. The chemistry between Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock is just as astounding as it was in Speed (another great movie I might add). Throughout the whole movie we find ourselves rooting for them and ultimately rooting for true love and yes even those hesitant, bitter/cynical people will find themselves doing this also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent!

    This was one of the best movies I have seen. It's all about not rushing life or love, and that some things are worth waiting for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing.. one of the year's best movies

    i recommend this movie to everyone who has a romantic spot in them, it's so nice and moving, i went out of the cinema thinking , wow, i would like a story like that! it's a fantasy movie, but that's what movies are about right? to make you dream and give you an enjoyable pastime from life's routine. highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!!!

    Both my mom and I loved this film, me with a passion. The chemistry between Sandra Bullock and Keenu Reeves is just spectacular! It's a great movie and a must see for any Sandra Bullock or Keanu Reeves fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Most romantic

    I loved this movie. I have watched this movie four times now, crying at the end each time. We all have a romantic heart and this movie gives it to us - how time can not keep true love apart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    an instant classic!

    I have to admit that I groaned out loud when my wife picked this one up, but after watching it, I must admit it was excellent film. I love how they never explained how the time lapse was taking place giving you the opportunity to throw logic out the window. There is a definite chemistry between Reeves and Bullock. Also a great performance by Christopher Plummer, in his recent roles like National Treasure and Must Love Dogs, he seems to have a sense of passion with his lines that I haven't seen before. The soundtrack was great too. Loved the song by Maccer (Sir Paul McCartney) and Nick Drake is always welcome on my personal soundtrack. Really a great movie that I owe an apology to my wife for begroaning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a reviewer

    I wish that Sandra and Keanu would do more movies together. They have such palpable chemistry. You got just a little taste of it in Speed, but this movie gives the viewer so much more. They both give stellar performances. The story can be a little difficult to follow and it requires a lot of suspension of disbelief, but as one reviewer said, it all ties together in the end. The acting is so good that it deserves 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3