Customer Reviews for

The Land Before Time

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I'm almost 23 and I still love Land before time. I watched it for the first time in years last night, and remembered just how much I loved the movie. I think the movie handled the issue of death very well. While they showed the T-Rex attacking Littlefoot's mother, th...
I'm almost 23 and I still love Land before time. I watched it for the first time in years last night, and remembered just how much I loved the movie. I think the movie handled the issue of death very well. While they showed the T-Rex attacking Littlefoot's mother, the T-Rex didn't actually kill her. It was a combination of the wound, plus the continent splitting apart. Plus also, the later scene where he's talking to the other dinosaur about his mother. Littlefoot is blaming his mother for not knowing better, forgetting that she fought the T-Rex to protect him and Cera, and the other dinosaur explains that it's no one's fault, and that she's always with him so long as he remembers the things she taught him. Even at 23, this movie brings tears to my eyes. It's a wonderful way to teach children many lessons, including tolerance of the differences in others. I would definately recommend this movie to anyone who hasn't seen it yet.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You have to really love this movie to buy this disc

I adore this movie, always have, but I am immensely disappointed with this supposed "Anniversary" edition. You would expect much more from a classic film produced by George Lucas and Stephen Spielberg. First off, it's only available in full screen, which is, in and of...
I adore this movie, always have, but I am immensely disappointed with this supposed "Anniversary" edition. You would expect much more from a classic film produced by George Lucas and Stephen Spielberg. First off, it's only available in full screen, which is, in and of itself, a travesty. Second, they didn't clean up the film at all. On my big screen, high def television, the film is grainy and blurred. Lastly, surround sound is useless. The sound quality is poor at best. Still, I love this movie and am glad to own it, no matter what quality it is presented in. And little kids wouldn't know the difference anyhow. They'll love it nonetheless.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You have to really love this movie to buy this disc

    I adore this movie, always have, but I am immensely disappointed with this supposed "Anniversary" edition. You would expect much more from a classic film produced by George Lucas and Stephen Spielberg. First off, it's only available in full screen, which is, in and of itself, a travesty. Second, they didn't clean up the film at all. On my big screen, high def television, the film is grainy and blurred. Lastly, surround sound is useless. The sound quality is poor at best. Still, I love this movie and am glad to own it, no matter what quality it is presented in. And little kids wouldn't know the difference anyhow. They'll love it nonetheless.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oh my god.

    Ok, lady who keeps writing the lousy reviews for amazing kids movies, you should get a life. Or just stop watching movies in general cause they are all offensive to you. Haven't seen one good review, and if it was, it'd be like the Bible the movie. Probably too offensive somehow. Plus, maybe you should have gone to school. Dinosaurs did exist, and if you use the analogy about God not killing off anything he created, what about the carrier pidgeon? Or the dodo bird? How about 3 quarters of the animals that are on the endangered species list? Duh. I'm sure the carrier pidgeon was one of the devil's birds, right? Haha! Seriously. All mocking aside, the Land Before time is a wonderful kids movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I'm almost 23 and I still love Land before time. I watched it for the first time in years last night, and remembered just how much I loved the movie. I think the movie handled the issue of death very well. While they showed the T-Rex attacking Littlefoot's mother, the T-Rex didn't actually kill her. It was a combination of the wound, plus the continent splitting apart. Plus also, the later scene where he's talking to the other dinosaur about his mother. Littlefoot is blaming his mother for not knowing better, forgetting that she fought the T-Rex to protect him and Cera, and the other dinosaur explains that it's no one's fault, and that she's always with him so long as he remembers the things she taught him. Even at 23, this movie brings tears to my eyes. It's a wonderful way to teach children many lessons, including tolerance of the differences in others. I would definately recommend this movie to anyone who hasn't seen it yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    i'm 57 and I have loved since it came out in 88. my kids loved

    i'm 57 and I have loved since it came out in 88. my kids loved and their kids love it. truly a timeless work of art and story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    friendship!

    i thought this movie was a wonderful message about friendship!!! all the dinosaurs are of a different species and even told by their families how different dinosaurs don't interact! yet they stick together to survive finding the one thing they all have in common are their families! I have watched this movie dozens of time since i was a child and still find the movie endearing and of little violence!!! The t-rex is scary, but the movie shows little violence!!! if you dont believe dinosaurs existed then you shouldn't of even picked this up with dinosaurs on the cover!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic movie for kids!

    Every kid should see this. Great lessons about loss, adversity, and persevering in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The First Land Before Time

    Oh man did this movie make me cry especially what happened to the mother and couldn't watch it again. Now older I must say that this was an interesting and the kind of film that you should see with your kids especially. I'm surprised at how kids movies were back then and how they are now. I prefer how they were back then since it isn't only the childish stuff but it tells you a good story and you learn something. Its the story of a group different dinosaurs who band together to find their families after being seperated and are being chased by one creepy hungry angry t rex. Littlefoot was my fave character next to Cera.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Original is still the best

    The orgininal is still the best, sometimes, as is it is in this case. How can anyone forget the squabbles between Cera and Littlefoot? A beautiful family animation film that boils with more than childhood themes. Provides everybody with something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good movie

    I LOVED this movie ever since I was three years old. One of my favorite memories growing up was playing Land before time and getting the whole set of puppets that they mass-produced at Pizza Hut. However, the sequels are extermally disappointing and lack all the splendor and greatness of the orignal movie, which was something even adults could appreciate to a kiddie cartoony series which devalued them. In fact, I truly despise the sequels which are sad imitations of the first. However, the first is still a wonderful film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ok... here's the deal.

    i am 15 yrs. old, and i still LOVE land before time! i own the first 8 tapes. after that, my mum stopped buying me it. lol. anyways... land before time is the best cartoon movie with dinosaurs!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! my fav. one is probably the 5th one with chomper. he's so cute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My 3 year old loved it..

    I forgot how great these movies were. I was a teenager when this came out so I wasn't too in to it when my then 3 year old nephew watched it. But my 3 year old daughter absolutely loves this movie. She's accustomed to the whole ''dying'' thing because of Bambi and The Lion King, but when Little Foot's mother died, I think she had a more mature comprehension of it because they showed it happening and showed Little Foot remembering her. My daughter knew his mother wasn't coming back. Sometimes when she's done watching a movie for the first time, my daughter struggles remembering all the character's names. But because these characters are all so cute and lovable, she remembered and loved them all, even snotty Cera (my favorite is Duckie). I have to buy her more of these movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2000

    best movie!!!!!!!

    I'm a teenager and still love it. i've been watching the movies for almost 9 years! See all the movies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1