Customer Reviews for

The Last Waltz

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Old Time Rock 'n Roll

    An excellent trip back in time to classic rock 'n roll. The farewell concert by ''The Band'' in 1976 is a house-shaking, roof-raising rock 'n roll revival. Before the glitz and glitter of slick made-for-MTV pre-packaged pop, this concert is pure, raw, unadultered rock, the way it was meant to be! Many rock legends jammed with The Band in this movie/concert - Dylan, Clapton, Young, Diamond, in their youth, if not their prime. If you grew up or listened to music in this era, this movie is a trip down memory lane. If you were wheened on MTV and VH-1, then take a glimpse into the roots and history of rock 'n roll. You will be moved by the music!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Great filmed concerts

    There are only a few filmed concerts that can be rightly called great. This is one of those films. If you love Rock N Roll you ought to own this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Did you grow up in the 60's and 70's?

    The Band wrote some of the great songs of that time, and the rest of the cast of performers..... Magnificent. At the beginning of the film they tell you it should be played LOUD. So true. Enjoy the Show!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great DVD Extras

    Those wanting to see THE LAST WALTZ can't go wrong watching the DVD. There are two commentary tracks. One features Martin Scorcese and Robbie Robertson (not together, but one or the other, throughout) and the other features various participants. The effect of the second one is almost that of a Ken Burns narrative, with different voices in succession. Some of the great rock critics comment as well. Altogether, this is a well-restored movie, with great sound. The stories told in the commentaries are fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best of the Best

    After getting cable channels and a Moxi recording box, I saw this and kept it on my box to watch almost every night. Van Morrison and Joni Mitchell, the greatest! I had to change out my box and now have to buy the DVD, but the price is minor compared to the content! Robbie Robertson a genius! Van Morrison, best male vocals ever! Joni Mitchell, what can you say, she has been the best for more than 4 decades! Evangaline, the sweetest cajun song ever. Something for every boomer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Wonderful Band A Wonderful DVD and CD

    Own and love it. Was never really aware of the group. Hopefully more of the present generation will become aware. Great classic rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    RENTED IT FIRST AND WILL OWN IT NOW!!!

    Rented this film tribute to the Band from Netflix and was so impressed we are buying the video here at Barnes and Noble. If you like a variety of rock n roll then you must get this. Extremly entertaining, you won't be disappointed. Too many great artist pay tribute to the Band and the Band itself is just super.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The last Waltz

    Just recently I viewed the last waltz. After viewing this tenthralling documentary, the dulcet tones resonate through my sole to this very day. If you have any appreciation for music, this film is an integral part of yuor musical library. Filled with cameo appearences of the greatest contemporary musicians, the nastalgic musical arrangments nearly bring tears to my eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this reminds me of why I love music the way I do

    The last waltz is about a group of guys who's main LOVE is their MUSIC. THEY make you laugh and cry and remember a time when LIFE was much simpler. I cant wait to get THE other 3 albums about this great group. They play agreat mix of classic rock,soul,jazz,soft country& make the mix GREAT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Film Should Be Played Loud! The Best Rock Movie Ever

    The world's greatest director, Martin Scorsese, takes on the Band and some of the best musical artists ever, how could it be bad? That's right, it can't! This is perfection for rock movies and some of the most enjoyable performances ever. A wonderful film that all music lovers should see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simple, Raucous and Elegant

    ''The Last Waltz'' is not so much a retrospective as it is a musical link between the roots of American blues and the future of rock and roll. Alone, The Band was an awesome combination of talent and guts-the guts to mold the music as they heard it into a new form. When you combine the dazzling array of performers, all of whom have links with The Band, the result is music and history. It's easy to forget that such great music is a true craft honed on the road. (Imagine Brittany Spears and/or any boy band/''American Idol'' being ''on the road'' for 8 years before their first album, and 8 years thereafter. You can't and neither can I!) It is truly a joy to listen to Robbie Roberson's reason for joining the band (actually Ronnie Hawkins' and not repeatable here) as well as the others'--all showing a love of making music. It comes across loud and clear in the movie. If you have any notion that ''the good old days'' weren't what they were cracked up to be, watch the Movie and disabuse yourself. 100 years from now, The Last Waltz will be shown at what's left of the Smithsonian-the movie is (ironically) an American treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1