Customer Reviews for

The Lives of Others

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FOREIGN FILMMAKING SHINES ON ITS HIGHEST BEAM

    "The Lives of Othes" is a perfect example on how foreign filmmakers can tople American filmmakers due to the fact they show more grit, passion and determination. Now, I wouldn't say that "The Lives of Others" was the BEST FOREIGN LANGAUGE FILM OF 2006 like the Oscars stated last year. I think "Pan's Labyrinth" should of taken that prize home. But "The Lives of Others" is vulgar and brilliant. The characters are very well written and looked into. Rarely now days do writers let us get to know the characters we're watching, inless of course you're Quentin Tarantino. The writing is superb, dido the acting and the directing. It's hard to believe as you watch it that this is a first time director's project. So whats the downfall of "The Lives of Others?" Well, its a bit of a slowburn. Much like "The Good Shepherd." And I found myself time to time slogging through a film that has no pulse, but overall I was very much satisfied and I do recommend this film (hint: the 4 star rating I gave it), but I have to warn you, if you are not a fan of films that take their time unraveling at a few minutes shy of 2 and a half hours, this may not be the flick for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Honor to Watch

    After seeing this movie the first time in theaters with my then roommate, I was exstatic about it and decided it was going to be one of my favorite movies. The emotion of the writing and acting was very believable for me, which I think is hard to find in most movies these days. I recommend it to everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lessons for those who didn't live it!

    As a rule I don't watch subtitled movies but this is a must see for my children who have no concept of Socialism. In our fast paced lives we can become complacent, dare I say, lazy about excesses of government. And when we ask how could those people let that happen, we need to be more self-reflective about politics today. This is a movie I can honestly recommend to any thinking person that values individual freedom but perhaps needs a push toward appreciating it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Intelligent, affecting, & elevating

    This is an extremely well crafted film in the vein of 'The Constant Gardener'. The actors are perfect for their roles, every character is richly drawn, you want to know more about these people. The director evokes the time period, pre-glasnost, with a chilling, confident hand. I cannot remember a movie experience that had so profoundly affected me after the closing credits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great psychological drama

    Terrific movie! "The Lives of Others" is a riveting time-period story, and it refreshingly shuns violence and special effects. It's a wonder a movie this dramatically taut gets made anymore. The movie relies on the intensity of relationships, and it keeps you thinking start to finish. The photography is pinpoint perfect. "The Lives of Others" reminds us of what really great filmmaking is about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No spy thriller, but an interesting glimpse of the DDR

    This movie is no spy thriller, there's no gunplay, and the chases are short and anti-climatic. It's a good view of life inside East Germany, that, if anything, makes it seem not as bad as people have told me. I like the way in which the movie shows that friendships and relationships were so important in the DDR, and wish it would have better-illustrated the sense of betrayal people felt when they learned of Stasi collaborators. ANyway, this is not a movie you'll want to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Survival of the Individual Under the Cloud of Totalitarianism

    Das Leben der Anderen (The Live of Others) is a powerful film that opens a window to the West of what life was like in East Germany during the time of the Berlin Wall. It is a tense yet balanced work by newcomer writer and director Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck who manages to present a tense story of espionage, suspense, intrigue, and political danger without the need for car chases, explosions, gunfire, or any of the usual accoutrements that pulse through other stories of this nature. Instead von Donnersmarck shows us the interior lives of his characters, both those working with the East German government and Secret Police and those who struggled to survive individuality. One of the primary jobs of the Secret Police (Stasi) was to spy on informers and those who would leak information about East Germany to the West. One fact that was kept under lock and key was the high rate of suicide, especially among artists who could not bear the crushing eye of the Eastern police, that would be devastating information if leaked into the press of the West: this forms the nidus for the story of this film. It is 1984 and one agent - Captain Gerd Wiesler (Ulrich Mühe - who sadly died in July 2007 of stomach cancer) is assigned the duty of spying on popular playwright Georg Dreyman (Sebastian Koch) and his live-in girlfriend, brilliant actress Christa-Maria Sieland (Martina Gedeck). Dreyman is a friend of blacklisted director Albert Jerska (Volkmar Kleinert) and when Jerska commits suicide Dreyman feels compelled to get in the information to the West into a popular magazine in hopes that action will be taken. Wiesler alters his spying routine when he discovers that the Stasi official to whom he reports has different designs on Georg and Christa-Maria and his spirit shifts subtly in support of the artists. It is this inner struggle within Wiesler that alters the manner in which his spying information is reported and Wiesler's courageous deeds alter the Stasi plans to destroy the artists' venture. The manner in which Wiesler interplays with the Stasi and covers for the artists is a towering example of the dignity of the individual human soul threatened by the worst of circumstances. The results of Wiesler's decisions alter with the fall of the Wall in 1989 in a deeply touching yet very subtle way. The technical aspects of this film - cinematography, pacing, lighting, editing, and the splendid musical scored my Gabriel Yared - are as fine as any film created by seasoned directors. The manner in which von Donnersmarck keeps every actor focused on the inner personality, as much by body language and silences as well as by dialogue, is astonishingly fine. This is a fascinating story, told with elegant understatement and most worthy of the Oscar for Best Foreign Film. Highly Recommended. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1