Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    genius

    Despite several negative reviews, I consider this to be a classic of animation. This version of LOTR is much darker and complex, without the counteracting lightness Peter Jackson's version brought to the story. I remember watching this as a child and being terrified - it still has that effect on me. Definately a landmark in animation, and should not be taken lightly. Who said genius was easy to understand?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this movie rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this movie rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing just simply amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing cartoon movie!

    i love this movie. i agree the animation isn't all that great, but so what? this movie is quite accurate with the books and it's a great kid's movie. i am 15 yrs. old, and i love it! believe it or not, this is a great movie to watch when you are sick with the flu or cold!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good for a cartoon

    Having read all three books before seeing the movies, I must say this is a good for a cartoon. I had seen the pictures and had been wanting to see it and finally seeing it after seeing Return of the King in theaters, I thought it was great. The music was great, the voice acting was okay, and it was kind of cool that they had real actors pose for the nazgul and the orcs. If you're a Tolkien fan, I would recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It was a lot better when the live action hadn't come out...

    I admit it, I watched the cartoon before I read the book. It does have a really good script but the animation is really bad even for a seventies movie. That thing about punching Legolas, I don't think he's that 'perky' The good thing is that it stays pretty true to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Three of the Best Movies Of All Time

    These movies are the best of their kind. These are date movies, stay at home movies,films for the whole family, go out must see movies. The Actors and all those people behind the scene are true treasure. These are a must have!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Interesting, but disappointing

    I don't want to knock the production since it is quite interesting and I have a special place in my heart for this film, but it has one major flaw which is that it is only half of the story!! It can be confusing if you haven't read the book, but even if you have you might find yourself eyeing your clock wondering exactly how Frodo is supposed to have time to get to Mordor. The answer is... we don't get that far. I just want people to know what they're getting into here, so there are no unpleasant surprises. So sit back and enjoy, but don't wait for the King to return.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BOMB!!!

    I liked this movie as much as the others! DO NOT listen to the other reviews. It rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Saruman and his Farrah Fawcett hair

    while this movie seems a brave attempt to make a movie that back in the 70's couldn't have been made in live action and though it has some interesting parts (Frodo sings!), it is awfully kitsch and ''spirit of the 70's''! All the characters have big (make that ENORMOUS) hair, Legolas makes you want to punch him because he is so perky (unlike PJ's movie...), and there are scenes where many of the characters look far too ''2D'' for their own good. The battle at Helm's Deep is too fast and dark to be properly enjoyed in my opinion. So I didn't like it. On the other hand, this is a true cult movie, it is Tolkien with all 70's glitz, spirit and utter kitsch, plus some of the most advanced animation available at the time. And yes, it is a darker look at the whole story. And yes, Gollum is again great. And I believe that it would be very interesting to anyone who enjoyed PJ's version to watch this movie. You might like it, you might hate it, you might roll your eyes, but you'll not be bored at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A pretty good movie

    I thought the movie was pretty good but I also thought that Ralph Bakshi should have finished the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent soundtrack

    Really. Listen to the music if you do not already own the soundtrack CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good script poor animation

    This animated film had many inconsistencies in its animation. They took enough time to explain Tolkiens world and it's surroundings in the script but the animation left something to be desired. In the beginning of the film the characters are well painted over the live actors using Rotoscoping. However as the film progresses, especialy once they arrive at the Prouncing Pony, the animation fell apart. It seems as though they were either trying to diversify the races of middle earth by mixing what seems to be real people with animated ones, or the artist painting over the live actors fell asleep at the wheel. As I progressed through the movie it was plain to see during sceens involving the Riders of Rohan or any sceen where the orcs or unhooded Ring Wraiths are present, that the artists involved did a poor job of painting over the characters in these sceens to create a true feeling of an animated world. However I have to agree with another reviewer in that Ralph Bakshi may have opened the door for Jackson by presenting a darker more violent depiction of the books. I was suprised and disappointed that Bakshi never tried to make another movie finishing the second half of The Two Towers and The Return of the King. I recommend this to those who have read the books and would like an animated version of the first one and a half books for their collection. Jacksons portrail of the Hobbits in the Movie was true to the books but the content and script quality will alwas be limited to those who have not read the books due to time constraints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good...but not as good as it could be

    it needed some work on the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I have to agree with one of the other reviews. And I am a big fan of the books!

    ''One of the worst movies I've ever seen''. The movie starts out OK then falls apart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ok but wasn't as good as the live action film!

    I thought that the Lord of the Rings was a good movie but it had alot to improve on. The film made the lead creatures: the hobbits too cute to take seriously the film may by hard to understand for those who haven't read the books. The title doesn't stay true to the book for it only completely completed the first book, the fellowship of the the rings. It only completes that book and the first half of the two towers. None the less, the lord of the rings is a good film that many of all ages will enjoy including the children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I hated it at first but then I could NOT keep myself from laughing!!!!!!!!!

    Ok when I think about this movie I laugh so much I could die.....They really were good with the movie like making it exactly to match the Fellowship book that is. I thought It was soooooo dang funny how they mixed the people with live action and how they created the people. It's sooo funny and you dont even pay attention to the plot....I just saw it for my 1st time and god DID I LAUGH!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies i have seen!

    I loved the movie. It was just like I thought it would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best*!

    It was the best i loved it it was intence and just cool me and all my friends think it was awsoum i love brendon smith, teresa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2