Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Average Rating 5
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(209)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Best movie I have ever seen

This movie is not only breath taking, it is an increadible experiance. I have seen the movie 4 times and never tired of it. I highly recomend this to anyone!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Buy the DVD version instead

I have watched the DVD version many times. Very disappointed to find many scenes removed in the Blu ray version: Elrond's council, inside Moria, in Lorien. The story has lost a lot.

posted by 266547 on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best movie I have ever seen

    This movie is not only breath taking, it is an increadible experiance. I have seen the movie 4 times and never tired of it. I highly recomend this to anyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    you know in this story bulacan like alister

    you know in this story bulacan like alister

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Buy the DVD version instead

    I have watched the DVD version many times. Very disappointed to find many scenes removed in the Blu ray version: Elrond's council, inside Moria, in Lorien. The story has lost a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The great movie to own!

    This is one of the best movies I have seen for the year so far!!!, after I saw the moview, I read the book. I must say, the book is not that much different from the movie...oviously the book is more detailed...the second part of the movie, I anticipate will be even better, because the book was a page turner.... after I had finished reading the entire book, in my mind I could envision the actual movie... the book was very clear and I can't wait to see the second part. the special effects are absolutely stunning. The directors did a great job with everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    Excellent movie follows the book very well!!

    If you love JRR Tolkiens Lord of the Rings or fantasy/adventure you have to see Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings Trilogy!! Elija Wood (Frodo), Orlando Bloom (Legolas), Viggo Mortensen (Stider/Aragorn), Sir Ian McKellen (Gandalf), Hugo Weaving (Elrond) and the others are outstanding!! This is a movie that does some justice to the book despite a few differences between them!! Excellent a must see!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''My Precious...''

    I have watched so many movies... too many, maybe. But never had any of them ever etched in my mind as much as the FOTR did. The visual effects and cinematography are stunning. Every scene is breathtaking -- The Shire, Rivendell, Lothlorien, the Misty Mountains, the River Bruinen, the Great River Anduin, and even the darkest place like Moria. The casts are so perfect for their roles. The score is majestic. I have watched Beautiful Mind. How it beated the FOTR at the Academy Awards I still do not understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this movie

    A good introduction to the lore and characters and the setting. Good acting, characters, soundtrack, direction, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    NOT the Extended Version

    I got my copies of all three blu-ray discs in and they are NOT the extended versions they are the theatrical cuts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie im currently am reading the fellowship of the ring

    lord of the rings is one big epic movie it rocks from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The best

    This is a very good movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Love LOTR!!

    I am probably LOTR's biggest fan!! (Although, I'm probably one of thousands who say that!;) This is one of my favorite movies, and always will be. You usually can't say that the movie was just as good as the book, but this one is..... and the book was amazing! I love all the characters. Merry and Pippin make it funny. All the actors did an amazing job. The special effects are great! Everything about the movie is great! Make sure you watch The Two Towers and The Return of the King. They get better each time! Which is amazing because I didn't think that it was possible after watching Fellowship of the Ring! I LOVE LOTR!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great for years to come

    I know this film will be a film families will watch for many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing Acheivement

    This DVD is the first version of the first Lord of the Rings movies. In other words, the one that sparked the whole phenonmenon. Sure, maybe the extended editions or The Return of the King is better than this, but do you really want to be without the one that started it all? I don't think so! This film rocks, and it's got even better pacing than the extended version; it's well worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating and Exciting!!

    Must sure you see the entire trilogy to understand the story. It is a perfect movie for fans of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    This movie is amazing! It has amazing actors, and is more light hearted and not as dark as the other movies. I love Merry and Pippin and how they bring some comedy to this amazing movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The beginning of a Classic

    What can be said about the movie that many thought would never be made. Everything from the casting to the actual film is FANTASTIC. I think the way Peter Jackson and his co-writers of this and the 2 sequels were able to extract the main story from the extensive books that are the LORD of the RINGS trilogy and make the films was tremendous. Many hard-core fans of the books were somewhat upset by what was left out but the movies were 3 hrs long each as they were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful film.

    Kudos to Al. Certainly no Kudos to Karl. I consider this film my generation's Star Wars. If you're a little nervous about the fantasy genre, just remember, this film represents everything that makes our world go round. You will learn a lot from this trilogy. And get a good nine hours of entertainment as well. The story and characters are what make this film. The setting is just a colorful way to keep the watchers attention. Definately my favorite film of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    To Karl...

    Instead of bashing people who may disagree with your taste in movies, read a book. Then go and see the movie. Then if you don't like the movie, let us know why. When you make snap judgements about things you know nothing about, people tend to not have much respect for what you have to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DORKS ! ! ! !

    want to know why this movie sucked? i never read the books and am not a geek. the movie has a midget going to throw a ring into a mountain. that's it. how is that make for and epic movie? if you play dungeons and dragons, have been stuffed in a locker at school, or have tape on your glasses this is the movie for you. otherwise it's over 3 hours of elves,wizards,and trolls. if you like this movie put down your dragon model and re-evaluate your life.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a must see!

    It entered me into another world. I'm tellin' you what this was the coolest movie ever. Besides the other Two movies, anyway. Trust me. Once you watch this you will be a Lord of the Rings fanatic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12