Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Average Rating 5
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(209)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Best movie I have ever seen

This movie is not only breath taking, it is an increadible experiance. I have seen the movie 4 times and never tired of it. I highly recomend this to anyone!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Buy the DVD version instead

I have watched the DVD version many times. Very disappointed to find many scenes removed in the Blu ray version: Elrond's council, inside Moria, in Lorien. The story has lost a lot.

posted by 266547 on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

    This one is quite good and entertaining. The people who portrayed the characters are quite good with their roles and the costumes are excellent including the sword fighting, villians, monsters and the eye including of course the one ring to rule them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Awesome! Great acting. Pretty close to the book, Peter Jackson shouldn't have let the script writer leave out Tom Bombadil. This is a MUST see!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    I never read the books so I wasn't too sure about this movie when I went to see it. I'm more into hard Sci-Fi than fantasy. I was very suprised on how good this movie was. I can imagine how hard it was to make the movie from the book. I think they went above and beyond what anyone could have hoped for. My only complaint was that the movie was too long and could have been shortened down a bit. This is a must see for just about everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    True to Form

    Brought Middle Earth to life. Almost as good as the book ... there's just 'something' missing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good, but not perfect

    A wonderful story, jewel of the 20th century, a novel that changed many people's lives was finally made for the big screen. And some parts of the movie are perfect and authentic. You can hear the real Elvish (very melodious language invented by Tolkien himself) and feel wonders of the Middle-earth. Nature is beautiful, and costumes, buildings and armor are just like they were described in the book. The big piece of the script was taken directly from the novel and music is story for itself: that is a truly masterpiece. However, something is missing. Or, should I say: something is not supposed to be in the movie. There are several unnecessary changes, totally typical and uninventive; some parts are silly and we already seen that in lots of movies (love scene, fight with troll). And, despite some boring moments, three hours is too short time for this kind of story. But still, there is a lot to see in this movie; its biggest problem is the story itself: Lord of the Rings is a unique story that is in no kind suitable for adapting into the big screen. Worth of watching, anyway. And great performances of Ian McKellen and Sean Bean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Most Exciting Movie You Will Ever See

    Lord of the Rings is an awesome movie. I have seen this movie 8 times. Best of all most of the charaters are total hotties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It was good

    The ''Fellowship of the Ring'' was a fantastc tale indeed. Athough they left out some things. In the book when the group went to see Galadriel when they were leaving Galadriel gave them many things. The one thing that she gave them in the book that was not in the movie was the elfen toast/cake cracker called ''Lembas''. The two hobbbits Merry and Pippin used it to survive in the ''Return of the King''. Aragorn also uses the leaf-like wrappers from the ''Lembas'' to help guide him to the two hobits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie, though not entirely true to the book

    I must say I thoroughly enjoy the movie and have seen it more times than I'd like to admit. The film did an excellent job of portraying much of the book and choosing actors to suit the characters. However, there are a few disappointments. Aragorn is portrayed as fearing his future, which is opposite of how he is in the book. Lothlorien is dark and gloomy and who knows where they got the portrayal of Galadriel when Frodo offers her the ring. What about the gifts from Galadriel? And how come Gandalf's sword never glows in the movie. It does in the Hobbit. Speaking of swords, Aragorn is only supposed to have his broken sword until AFTER Lothlorien. But again, the movie is irresistable and fun. For clarification on The LOTR, see my related titles list, and by all means, READ THE BOOKS if you haven't yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1