Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings - The Fellowship of the Ring [Special Extended Edition]

Average Rating 5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Fantasy Great

    It's a really great movie but it's too dark and it's confusing at some points .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Practically Perfect in Every Way

    Peter Jackson and crew voiced their desire to match Tolkien's vision in all the pre-release interviews, and they came darn close. Most of the movie follows the book very well. Some alterations are expected, yet some are inexplicable. The Shire was so perfect my eyes welled with tears at first sight of it, but I missed Bombadill, Goldenrod and Glorfindel. Also, Tolkien fans, don't expect to see those Hobbits stand up and show their toughness, shouting Elven names and phrases from the past. That was actually my biggest disappointment, especially Frodo, who should, you know, be resisting the Nazgul far more through his own fortitude than he is given credit for in the movie. Great, though. I've watched it at least a dozen times. The Two Towers diviates more from the original text, in even more unexplainable fashion, but those who like the war scenes should really love the action in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the better book adaptations

    I first read the LORD OF THE RINGS in fourth grade and they have been my favorite since then. LIke many fans of the books I was afraid that they would mutilate the story. Lucky for me, they didn't. But I think to really enjoy the movie you have to have read the books. Many of the people that did not enjoy the movie were people that didn't already know the story. I can understand this, I would be lost if I hadn't read the books. The extended version of the movie might help to clear people's confusion. Most of the exta and extended scenes explain the plot better,in fact I liked the extended version more than the original. There was only one scene that I didn't like. In the original, after th''intro'' we are taken directly to frodo sitting by a tree. IN the new version we are taken to Bilbo pouring of his book that he is writing. I did not like this scene. I felt that it slowed the movie a bit to much. Overall, a good book adaptation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jackson movie ''Tolkienish'', not Tolkien

    I first read the Hobbit and the complete Lord of the Rings as a junior in high school in 1968. I have read all of them at least twice a year since then--now well over fifty times, and I still find something new each time. I found the movie enjoyable, though it is more in the style of the books than a real adaptation of the story. Jackson cannot take one of the central characters (Aragorn) and totally change him and say that he has adapted the book. This one change effects so much of the story that it cannot be ignored, and there are so many other fundamental changes in characters such as Arwen, Galadrial and Gandalf, that the story is totally altered from the oringinal. If you can view the movie as simply Jackson's vision of Middle Earth, and not as a desecration of a truely remarkable work of literature, then you can enjoy it for what it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    VERY DARING!

    ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I/VE SEEN IN YEARS!!!! BUT THE WAY IT ENDED WAS NOT SO GOOD. IT DOSE NOT SHOW THEM AT THE FINAL DESTINATION, AND THE FELLOWSHIP DOSEN'T STAY TOGTHER WHICH IS VERY DISSAPOINTING! THEY BROKE THEIR BOND. BUT STILL GREAT MOVIE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Why 3 different DVD versions/sets?

    I just bought this instead of seeing in the theater since going to a movie is cost-prohibitive (2 people can easily spend $50 at a movie). It's a technically good movie, effects were awesome, especially with the actors who were all actually about the same height & was quite faithful to the book with only minor differences. But I'm very upset that they only came out with the ORIGINAL version now, with an extended edition in Nov 2002 & a DELUXE set in DEc! What a bunch of crud! Obviously, all they see is $$$. If I hadn't pre-ordered this & paid for it online months ago, I would have waited to buy until the extended or deluxe set came out to save myself some bucks. Never again will I pre-order anything. Now, if only George LUcas would get off his butt and make the Star Wars & Indiana Jones trilogies into DVD sets, course he'll probably do the same darn thing....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie though not entirely true to book

    I must say I thoroughly enjoy the movie and have seen it more times than I'd like to admit. The film did an excellent job of portraying much of the book and choosing actors to suit the characters. However, there are a few disappointments. Aragorn is portrayed as fearing his future, which is opposite of how he is in the book. Lothlorien is dark and gloomy and who knows where they got the portrayal of Galadriel when Frodo offers her the ring. What about the gifts from Galadriel? And how come Gandalf's sword never glows in the movie. It does in the Hobbit. Speaking of swords, Aragorn is only supposed to have his broken sword until AFTER Lothlorien. But again, the movie is irresistable and fun. For clarification on The LOTR, see my related titles list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great but could have been perfect

    Where it was faithful to the book, this movie was nothing short of astounding. The cast was excellent, with special nods to Sean Bean as Boromir and Sean Astin as Sam Gamgee, a difficult role, since Sam represents an old-fashioned British archetype that is difficult for Americans to comprehend. The scenery was breathtaking, the special effects stunning and the battle sequences exciting and well-realized. In fact, it is the very perfection of all this which makes the two really glaring departures from the book so bitterly disappointing. I'm referring to: one, the expansion of Arwen's role in a clumsy and inneffectual attempt to incorporate the appendices into the body of the story; and, two, the complete reversal of Aragorn's attitude towards the throne of Gondor, the point of which escapes me. People like to sneer when those of us who are fond of Tolkien complain about such liberties being taken with his work. To me, it's like saying, ''well, we're going to do Romeo and Juliet, and we're going to be REALLY faithful to Shakespeare. Only, we're developing the relationship between Romeo and Mercutio and expanding the nurse's role and, well, nobody likes a sad ending so in ours they're both going to live. But we're going to be REALLY faithful to Shakespeare!'' Don't misunderstand me. It's an excellent movie and well worth watching. It's just not perfect and it could have been. And probably no one will ever come so close again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1