Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings - The Fellowship of the Ring [Special Extended Edition]

Average Rating 5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Extended Editon of the Fellowship of the Ring

    In this you get more scenes that make sense as the story goes along making an even spectacular movie the first in the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie ever!

    You will love it !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The first LOTR out of the gate sets the bar high!!!

    This is the film that took my breath away and the DVD that stole my heart. British professor J.R.R. Tolkien wrote a book trilogy 50 years ago called "The Lord of the Rings," and no one was able to put his incredible tale up on the screen until New Zealander Peter Jackson. And boy, does he do it! The story follows a creature called a Hobbit named Frodo who inheirits a powerful ring from his uncle. He learns that this is the One Ring, capable of destroying all that is good in Middle-Earth. With Hobbits: Sam, Merry, and Pippin, the Wizard: Gandalf, the Elf: Legolas, the Dwarf: Gimli, and Men: Boromir and Aragorn, Frodo sets out to destroy the Ring before the dark powers of Sauron find him and take the Ring. Along the way, the company encounters strange creatures such as Ring Wraiths, Orcs, Elves, Trolls, and a firey demon called a Balrog, all with surroundings to match. Jackson has captured all of these fantastic places and creatures and managed to make them seemingly come to life from the very pages of Tolkien. We never are conscious of F/X shots or actors' accents. Everything, from the Elves' ear tips to the Hobbits' feet and all around is completely natural and flows as though Middle-Earth is a real place and Jackson just happened to be there to capture this journey. You'll remember the Khaza-dum sequence: an awe-inspiring blend of F/X, real-life acting, green screen, Bigature models, and matte paintings. The Fellowship of 9 comes face-to-face with hundreds of orcs--and worse--in a landscape of exquisitely-chiseled pillars in a deserted mine. Of course, the reason to go for the Extended Edition is for the educational and engrossing (and often funny) Appendices and extended/added scenes. With these scenes back in, we can fully see Jackson's vision. The charaters are more real and human (as "human" as all the different races get). The battles and sweeping shots draw us further into the story. In short: it's just plain better! No matter what kind of films you watch, I recommend this and the accompanying movies. If you see them all, you'll see why they were such monster hits and why no collection is complete without LOTR: SEE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    flawless...

    perfect character development, mixed with a crisp story, and wonderful screenplay and directing. I recommend this to anyone. You could also read the book, but the movies are put at a faster pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the perfect movie

    kudos to peter jackson, this movie was done flawlessly, it was perfectly cast, it followed the book reasonably close, in fact it was better than the book, the extended edition added that extra touch, all in all, the best dvd experience ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!!!! I was Moved...

    My friend was the one who got me hooked to LOTR.... I didn't really care for it, but 1 day, she made me watch it....thank u, girl!!!! Ever since then, I have loved it...my room is filled with LOTR posters and memorobilia.......and all the magazines with even LOTR mentioned...and fyi...Elijah is gonna be my hubby sumday.......dont ask..but, buy this its awesome....the longer the movie the better!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best movie with hot guys!

    i loved this movie, it really touched my heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A mazing

    wow this movie is an eye and heart jabbing movie!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fan-freaking-tablous

    I will admit that the first time I saw the movie I wasn't too interested only beacuse I had no prior knowledge of the book or film. It wasn't till I saw the third movie in the theatre that I really got it. I got it so much that I purchased all three parts of the book. The book and the movie are so much alike and yet so different. I really got into the filmwork as much as the story. I strongly suggest reading the books then watching the movies, you will understand alot more and pick op on some things that you might have missed the first time around. The main thing I enjoy most was the fact that all the actors weren't huge blockbuster actors. Each and every one of them were perfect for the role they played.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So beautiful I could cry!

    I want to cry everytime the film opens in the shire it is so lovely. Jackson's masterpiece perfectly captures the shire and everything else! Boromir's final scene is gut-wrenching and makes me weep from deep down every time I see it. That sword scene with Aragorn at the end is my favorite one-on-one battle scene in the entire movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it, loved it, loved it

    *****This well casted movie was exciting and action packed. Only one minor romance factor (Aragorn and Arwen), but wonderful all the same. Small comic parts, like the friendly quarrel between Gimli and Legolas (counting killings and such). Characters are very similar to those from Harry Potter, or the other way around, since Lord of the Rings was written decades before. well developed and well shown conflicts between enemies, friends, families, cultures and choices. Great friendships and suspence. Stayed pretty true to the book and to the audience's liking. Quite exiting and had the audience on the edge (nervous, excited, happy, scared... asking questions about what will happen). Fabulous computer effects and special effects. Characters worked well together and the relationships and magic element believable. enjoyable scenes that flow together and even though the group (fellowship) gets seperated, going back and forth and following along is not complicated. Well developed characters and the conflicts (though not totally relatable, easy to understand. Followable and reoccurring themes. Unfortunatly, it is obvious that Frodo has to succeed or else the story couldnt end (which wouldnt be all that bad actually) so the ending is easy to guess. And most importantly (ha ha ha) gorgeous guys!!*****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was a great movie. I would love to see it again. The best action movie i ever saw!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I thought it could not be done.

    As a fan of the trilogy of the ring I never believed a movie version could ever be well and successfully made. I was wrong. This is not only a generally faithfull telling of the tale but also a great movie, entertaining from beginning to end and visually striking. Having read the book over 20 years before I was not distracted by details or even characters left out of the original work. And the extended version fills in significant pieces that really do enrich and improve upon the original movie. The film is full of breathtaking action and incredible attention to detail. For a story so fantastical, the relationships between the characters seem real and full of meaning and depth. The acting is superb. When it was over I wanted more. In the end, Peter Jackson and company made one of the best movies of all time, true to the original work, hugely entertaining, great to look at, touching and packed with emotion. A great film that should have won the Academy Award as best film of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A fascinating and superbly detailed look inside filmmaking at its finest!

    Normally I review music, but I just had to add my voice, for what it’s worth, to the over-seventy reviewers who have weighed in on this 4-DVD-set so far. The movie itself, whether extended version or original, is a wonderful interpretation of a truly seminal work of literature. But everybody knows that already, and it’s not why I’m writing this review. What truly blew me away here was the incredible plethora of bonus features--I’d give them TEN stars if I could; it took me an evening to watch the film, but several months to watch the rest of the content! Not only do you get the extended version of the film, but five (count ‘em, FIVE) variations of it, four of which contain full-length commentary by key people from the production team and cast, giving a blow-by-blow account (sometimes literally!) of how each shot was achieved, how the special effects were accomplished, and what was actually going on behind the scenes. The result is utterly engrossing--like actually being there. Some of the revelations are sobering, some hilarious, and some just mind-boggling. As if that weren’t enough, also included are 2 extra CDs containing the following: 17 original documentaries covering all aspects of the filmmaking process, an interactive map, examples of the computer wizardry used for the special effects, and galleries of photos, storyboards and artwork. The talent, effort and professionalism that went into the making of this film are staggering, and I hope all of these fine people receive the recognition they deserve. Thank you, Peter Jackson and friends, for allowing the rest of us into your world of magic-making. Not only is this set of DVDs an excellent value for the money, but it’s an absolute must for anyone interested in the craft and art of film-making. I can hardly wait for the sequels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best epic ever!

    Forget The Fellowship of the Ring, get the Fellowship of the Ring: Special Extended Version. This is the ultimate Tolkien fan's desire. It includes almost everything you want to know about the making of the movie. Sure, Glorfindel, Bombadil and Goldberry are gone, but don't worry, Arwen becomes a major character. Get ready for a DVD with romance, adventure, action, and mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect

    A flawless movie perfect in every way.The best movie of all time.None could or will be better.It would be impossible.A masterpiece.Best movie out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lord Of The Rings The Fellowship Of The Ring Extended Dvd Edition

    LOTR Extended dvd Edition was by far one of the best movies I ever saw, the 30 minutes makes a big diffrence. so don't waste 20 bucks on the orignal, pull another 10 out of you're wallet and go for the gold!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Exceptionally good movie!

    The extended edition is a marvelous movie. The added scenes tremendously enhanced the narrative. Acting, cinematography, music, visual effects...all superb. This trilogy will far outshine Star Wars as the greatest trilogy of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best fantasy film ever

    I have one word that sums up this movie. Wow. Lord of the Rings is clearly the best fantasy film of the century. Everything came together so well that you actually feel as though you are in the movie, and the three hours go by like a few seconds. Peter Jackson, as well as the rest of the crew and the cast rose to the challege of taking this complex and detailed fantasy world and bringing it to the screen, and not only rose up to the challenge, but surpassed my wildest expectations. Everything; the scenery, the acting, the special effects, the soundtrack, all of it was phenomenal. This is a movie I can watch dozens of times, and still enjoy it thoughly. I definitely give Lord of the Rings an A+ rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ITS SO GREAT!

    LOTR by far is a wonderful movie along with the soundtrack! The extended version is great also and billy boyd (pippin) is so hot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6