Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings - The Return of the King

Average Rating 5
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The End Finally Comes.....

    The Return of the King, is packed with every thing a good movie needs: action,adventure,comedy,romance,courages friendship,and of course a perfect cast! (Including the handsome,perfect,stunning,and hot Elijah Wood!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Who in their right mind would expect a word of word transfer of the book?

    I'll make this short and sweet. This is an outstanding "movie" that may not be a page for page transfer of the book... but who in their "right mind" would expect such a thing? The point is that Return of the King and the entire trilogy for that matter bring to life Tolkein's master piece of a story on the big screen. The story is captivating... the special effects top notch... the acting solid and the scenery lush. Return of the King has it all... as does the previous two entries. A must have for fantasy fans and and fans of the novel that have realistic expectations of a book to movie transfer. Director Peter Jackson... you da man!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best i repeat BEST movie ever

    sooooooooooooooo awesome. i never knew there could be a movie so good.i thought i was gonna faint.i actually was hanging on the edge of my seat.but i was so into the movie that i didnt realize it until i fell off. THIS MOVIE IS TOTALLY THE BEST MOVIE EVER. when they said it was better than the first 2 i thought it wasnt possible! {but it is}!! and you cant forget that Orlando Bloom is in it and he totally rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An initial epic of our Time

    'Even in Gandalf's eyes there was hopelessness' so J.R.R. Tolkien's words read. The movie had changed some of the enormous genius of the master-minde of Tolkien, but still it stayed true to what it could in the story. I was disappointed in Narsil not being reforeged in Rivendell (well in FOTR). But back to Gandalf the best part of this movie (with capturing Tolkien's words) was Ian Mc Kellin's magnificent acting at the battle of the Black Gate, his look of despair made me sleepless the first night I saw this movie. All acting was superbe in this story a monumental star of it's time. The world will marvel at the theme of the story with it's enormous depth. Although I would recommend reading the books because they are just a bit better than the movie, but not by far. This movie will be watched with all others in future time and time over again. This is the best story on film (literally) and is the initial epic of our time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Peter Jackson's LOTR world is a lot more than simply amazing

    Out of all the movie series, this one was the king. The whole movie kept me excited unlike the Two Towers of when thye start talking and it lasted for more than it should be. I felt like I was there in Minas Tirith close to the Pelennor Fields when that scene came up. I got scared because it felt like I was really going to try to slay all those Uruks and beasts. I was very excited the whole time. Shelob was great! It looked SO VERY realistic. The Fellowship only provided half of the excitement for this film, and the Two Towers didn't give any excitement at all to me. After months of watching the The Lord of the Rings Cartoon Trilogy, I was apalled on how the directors thought of Tolkien's world. The Hobbit for the cartoon series was horrible! The orcs in there are more like frogs than anything else. I guess no one was brave enough to do something that will really boost The Lord of the Rings up, until Peter Jackson came into the movie world. Now even my friends who hated reading and watching those cartoon Lord of the Rings says that The Lord of the Rings movies now are even a lot better than the Harry Potters. I'm just saying Jackson's imagination is not ordinary. When he meant to scare us or excite us in a part of the film, that's what we did. He just makes everything so realistic, and I like that about a director. Some directors don't make anything seem realistic. Like on Alien 3, the Alien looked like the computer game alien that I used to play on. You have big victory in these movie's Jackson. Keep on the good work, and see if you can take The Hobbit out of the shadows of which the Cartoon series put behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BY FAR THE BEST OF THE TRILOGY!

    I absolutely loved this one. The action scenes were incredible and the emotion throughout the whole movie was good too. If you ever get a chance, watch this movie! There are people who have written reviews that said negative things about this book which either, don't make any sense, or they fail to mention. You don't have to listen to those hacks. They said this movie was overrated! How dare they. The only movie and books I saw in the past two years that were overrated was the Harry Potter stuff. Books and movies included. The only part I didn't like about these movies were all of the stinkin' Arwen scenes! If you got rid of them, you'd be able to make more room for the good and important stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Epic Done on Epic Proportions

    I can't imagine a way that this movie could have been done better (aside from not having cut out so much!!!) The Lord of the Rings is an epic masterpiece, the definition of excellence in fantasy literature, and this movie takes on that mantle superbly. The acting is terrific (particularly on the part of Ian McKellen as Gandalf) and it was well-adapted. I missed the seemingly hundreds of scenes they cut, and I thought the Witch-King (the chief Ring-wraith) came across as rather weak in his demise, (and I REALLY wanted to see him and Gandalf battle!)...and I must admit the movie did have a rather drawn-out ending, but that was the way Tolkien wrote it. (And if they had just not cut out the bit with Saruman in the Shire it wouldn't have seemed like so many endings!) Otherwise, this is a fantastic cinemantic gem, a sheer delight. It sweeps you away from this world and into Middle-Earth. A classic to be treasured, but you if you really want the full thing, I recommend waiting for the extended version to come out. This movie fully deserved all 11 Oscars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Glorious!!!!! Simply Glorious!!!

    This is the best movie in the world!!!!!! The acting is great, the music is wonderful, and the story is one of the most beautiful and terrible tales ever created!!!!! Cheers to Peter Jackson and JRR Tolkien!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    By Far The Best One.

    This movie gives me goosebumps. It is one of THE best movies I have ever seen. It ends with such a sense of fulfillment and completeness. All of them are movies to treasure for a lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    This movie was awesome! It was the best of the three. I laughed, I cried, and was extremely happy with the way it turned out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Satisfied at last!

    I have, over the years, read the book trilogy over 20 times and each time find something new. I bought this movie yesterday and have watched it three times already seeing something new each time. Having read the books so many times, I can say I am extemely satisfied with the way this story was presented on film which had to have seemed an insurmountable task to Mr. Jackson and all involved. The wait was well worth it and This is definately the best movie ever made, ever! When is he going to do 'The Hobbit'?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    absolutely magnificent!

    being severly handicapped, i was cheated out of seeing this film in the theatres when it came out-i was so let down! but, finally, it has arrived on dvd and it is magnificent to behold! the incredible ensemble acting is, as usual, wonderful, and new line cinema has spared no expense to make this the dvd of the year! from visual beauty to incredible audio sound, this dvd absolutely sparkles! i will be purchasing the extended version, in dts sound, this holiday season as well. do not miss the opportunity to own this instant classic on dvd-especially this first week of release-as the prices are rock bottom- do not wait though, judging by the long lines at best buy this morning, i'd bet you they will be sold out by friday at the latest! bravos and kudos to mr. jackson and all involved in this massive, wonderful undertaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!

    Return of the King is a wonderful movie. It gives adventure and suspense. It also has elements for the family like laughter and the love sequence. This movie really is a masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great, but not fantabulous

    hmm.. i wouldnt say it was the best of the movie trilogy, but it was pretty darn good. i had read the trilogy a couple years beforehand, and i must say that i was a bit dissapointed with jackson's interpretation of rotk, but in all honesty it is just nitpicking. these movies are some of the greats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lovely conclusion

    As much as The Two Towers suffered from 'middle child syndrome,' 'The Return of the King sparkled in its epic immensity and vastly made up for its predecessor's lack of action and focus. 'The Return of the King' followed its literature counterpart as well as 'The Fellowship of the Ring,' which will leave fans feeling satisfied. 'The Return of the King' was a beautiful ending enstallment for Tolkien's amazing trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Awesome Movie

    I absolutely loved this movie!! I laughed, and I cried. My heart pounded throughout the whole movie. I did not move once, both times that I saw it. When these movies first came out, I didn't know anything about them. Then last summer I happened to be flipping through the channels on satellite and came across The Fellowship Of The Ring. I decided to watch, and became hooked. The final is by far my favorite. I only wish there had been more of Aragorn and Arwen at the end, but I still loved every moment!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wait for the Extended Edition DVD

    Although I have not bought this DVD, I have seen the movie. It is a phenomenal movie, and I highly recommend it. However, I have bought the extended edition DVDs for the past two movies, and I strongly recommend that you wait for its release later this year. It will include around 45 to 60 minutes of deleted scenes, and many more special features. Two thumbs up to the movie, but wait for the better version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i lost my bladder....but well worth it

    awesome plus ten minus nothing, thats it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Huge Fan

    This is the better out of the three movies. Finally the story comes all together. It shows what true friendships is all about.I really love this story and the chacters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Glad it's over and done with

    Impressive special effects, zero character development or direction - it is almost as if Jackson decided to cram as many scenes in as possible to satisfy anyone who read the original, and ROTK could have been shortened by an hour, been more interesting and worth watching - it seemed to end three, or was it four or five, times. Buy the books if you haven't and don't waste your money on this tripe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9