BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings - The Return of the King

Average Rating 5
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT

    Ok first off... to those of you who are complaining about them.Peter Jackson was making MOVIES. If he had left everything in the movies that are in the books,you would have been sitting in the theater for like 12 hours.He had a required time limit to the movies and couldn't make them so long. I'm sure he would've if he could've but honestly if you heard of a 12 hour movie, would you go see it?I know I wouldn't. ANYWHO These movies are fantastic. i love the special effects, the elves just everything!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good finale

    One of the best movie series I've seen. It's epic. Never get tired of seeing these. And the soundtrack is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I came out of this awesome movie loving that giant laser/eyeball

    I came out of this awesome movie loving that giant laser/eyeball. Now I bought high-power lasers and spy gear for my own personal tower. Be afraid. Be very afraid! (I live in Arizona--The Wild West--where my Governor hasn't been the same since that house fell on her sister.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Greatest story, but buy the DVD version

    I have watched the DVD version many times. Very disappointed to find many scenes removed in the Blu ray version: climbing down the elvish rope, in the tunnel, caught in Mordor and more. The story has lost a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie to end a amazing epic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! if should read the first books tho they have more detail and the book shows stuff that are in the movie but other stuff is missed and parts are cut the books will always be better than the movies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Return of the King is fantastic! Great wrap-up to this movie series.

    This final movie in the Lord of the Rings series is fantastic. All the actors and actresses gave great performances. I can understand why this movie won several Academy Awards including Best Picture. Once again, we see how loyal Sam is to Frodo and Sam's bravery is displayed full force in this final chapter. It's plain to see that Frodo is nearly possessed by the ring. When Gollum suggests to Frodo that Sam wants the ring for himself, Frodo bcomes suspicious and orders Sam to go home after a disagreement. When Sam finds the food that Gollum tossed over the side of the cliff, he heads back up the winding stairs to find Frodo. If you want to watch an epic, classic movie, I recommend this for your personal library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE this movie!!!!

    I love ROTK!! It is my favorite of all three. (And I LOVED the other two, so that is saying alot!) I know some people say that they are upset that they didn't put every part from the book in the movie. I think if the movie had every part from the book it would end up being 12 hrs. long. So it would have been impossible to have EVERY part from the book in it. On the movie, when Frodo and Sam are in Mt. Doom, I think I bit off all my nails and fell out of my seat. My favorite part is when they are climbing up the mountain. The actors did a great job playing the characters.(Orlando Bloom is my favorite!!) Merry and Pippin make it funny. Gimly is funny sometimes too. I LOVE Lord of the Rings!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST MOVIE EVER!

    As soon as i saw this movie i loved it! It is definently the best out of all, three, but they were still all amazing. It has a great plot which includes just the right balance of romance, action, and some comedy (Merry and Pippin mostly) I even cried at the end of this movie! It has great soundtrack also and features some amazing actors and actresses (Orlando Bloom <3, ELijah Wood, Viggo Mortensen...)I definantly recomend this movie. It is probably my favortie movie of all time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    Incrediably brilliant! Luv the books and the movie, not just because attraction to hot guys wiht accents or elfin ears, because it roxs! this movie is the saga of lord of the rings: the fellowship of the ring and lord of the rings: the two towers. Gollum becomes more bent on getting the ring, the war heats up b/t every1 on middle earth and the one liner made by a young woman in a suit of armor: 'i am not man i am woman!' This literally brought all the women in the movie theatre i was in standing on their feet yelling or clapping! it was pretty funny and pretty awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best one and i love these movies/books

    Thank you, Peter Jackson. I read the books after the movies and fell in love with the whole story -- the characters, plot and setting. It is absolutely the best movie and book series in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perhaps the Greatest trilogy in the history of cinema

    Despite taking some liberties with the plot, Jackson's brilliant end to the trilogy worked out very, very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOTR 3 IS SUPER-DUPER

    Wow! This is like my favorite movie! I would totally buy it. Just pay attention and it would help to watch the first 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best movie ever!!!

    i looooved this movie!! it is definately the best one in the trilogy. i loved the battle scenes, and the fact that aragorn{major hottie!}became king. i also thought it was cool when frodo almost got killed by shelob{the giant spider}. this is overall my fav movie, and if i could, i would give it 10 stars!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Impressive and wonderful!

    The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King was an impressive movie of the Tolkien classic trilogy. The entertainment of the film keeps your attention making you want to find out where our famous heroes will end up next in the journey. The battle scenes are thrilling and the costumes and make-up for every character are superior. The scenes are priceless as well. I also thought this movie had a very comedic side to it too. Merry and Pippin sing on a table with jugs in their hands and Gollum with his split-personality still ponders over whether he should steal his back his ‘precious’ from Frodo. The movie is also a long one with a running of over three hours. You really think that the movie ends when something exciting happens, but be aware that you’ll be in for another half an hour! And not being a total LoTR fan, I have to say that I think the final film, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, is my favorite of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite movie!

    It is the bestest movie ever! I loved it from beginning to finish. A true Masterpiece! A classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    simply WOW!

    there is simply one word for this movie - WOW! it truly touched me in all the ways possible, exitement, empowerment, anger and sadness the most, i cried like a baby at the end of it!!!!GRRRRRRReat movie, plus, rememeber, orlando bloom appears in it, so double WOW!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

    The movie is simply the best and does get to an awesome conlcusion to a wonderful story by J. R. R. Tolkien. Frodo with Gollum/Smegol and Sam are getting closer and closer to Mount Doom but slowly the Ring starts to distract Frodo into putting it on and slowly allowing Sauron to seize it. Sam still not trusting Gollum/Smegol overhears his plan but Frodo not listening to him still trusts Gollum/Smegol and continues their quest to destroy the ring as they come to destination while Aragorn and others stallf or them as the dark soldiers start a war that had been fought so long ago when the evil lord was set down by a mere mortal and his name was Isildur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stunning. Worth every Oscar.

    By far, the most incredible preformances of the year from all the cast! The most breathtaking of the three films, ROTK has everything. Jackson is the Tolkien of our time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Who gave this 2 stars?? The best movie of 2004..or all time!!!

    Not really much to say...its the best movie i have seen besides the other two in the trilogy! Great battles and follows the book in ways I didnt think could be reinacted! You must see this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The BEST!!

    Michael Flatley gives a great performance as Celtic Elvis in the final installment of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9