Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings - The Return of the King [Special Extended Edition]

Average Rating 5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must have for any LOTR junkie

    I LOVE the extended versions of these movies. Anyone who is interested in movie making in gereral would enjoy all this edition has to offer. There are hours of "making of" clips. It talks of everything from makeup, script writting, wardrobe, editing, fliming locations and scheduleing, all the way through the post production and the movie premiers. The commentary is wonderful to watch too, if you can talk yourself into watching the movie with the commentary on. It is actually qutie entertaining, I thought! I declare that this is a must have for anyone who is a fan of the films! The added scenes to the movie alone make this worth your time and money! I couldn't be more in love with this collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE IT!

    If you are a fan of the theatrical release, then you MUST WATCH THIS!! There is over an hour of new and extended scenes. There are 23 extended scenes, and 14 new. It explains much more in depth of what is happening and what the characters are feeling. It shows how some things happen that you don't get to see on the origional. I love all the bonus features. There must be over 24 hours of them! They are very interesting to watch. These DVD's come with several different commentarys. I really like the cast commentary. I recommend this to any LOTR fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One Movie to rule them all

    Although the title comes just short of being my number 1 film of all time, it takes a solid second place. This film and its 2 predeccessors are such phenomanal pieces of cinamatography it's mind-boggling. Although this film strays somewhat from its source material, as a fantasy epic it has no equal. The only problem with this is that upon the excellance of this film, Hollywood assumed LOTR couldn't be topped and settled with releasing disappointing fantasy epics like the ill concieved Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, The Pirates of the Caribbean Sequels, The Chronicles of Narnia, and the abomination we like to call Eragon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS HAS GOT TO BE THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE!

    Hello again. I just have to say one thing, THIS IS WITHOUT DOUBT THE GREATEST MOVIE EVER!!! It totally deserved the best picture of 2003. There were some parts I didn't like but still. My favorite characters would definatly be Faramir + Pippen. Now don't laugh at me people, but whenever they're on screen, I rejoice! Everything in this movie is beautiful! The battle scenes, the photography, the music (you almost want to cry at Pippen's song) To those who haven't seen it, SEE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A masterwork.

    As epic in character and scale as "Lawrence of Arabia" As intimate and tender as "Kramer Vs. Kramer" these films stand out as the first great achievement of the new millennium. It is as well crafted an epic as Beethoven's 5'th symphony and will shake you to your core with its intense character driven action and emotion, which are blended together in an incredible display of the power of the written word, even when received second hand. You will laugh, you will cry, you will stand up and cheer and if you haven't already, you will rush to your local Barnes and Noble and pick up a copy of one of the greatest books and films of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A spectacular end to Jackson's masterpiece!!!

    The theatrical edition of this film is exceptional on its own, but director Peter Jackson and his team really outdo themselves on the Special Extended Edition of ROTK, as they have done for Fellowship and Towers. Not only are the battle scenes more engrossing and fantastic, but small character-driven scenes have been added back in to make this film truly worthy of the Best Pic Oscar. We see Boromir and Saruman one last time, find out how exactly Sam and Frodo got across Mordor's vast landscape to Mt. Doom, and watch as Aragorn, Gimli, and Legolas team up with the Army of the Dead to take over the ship. For real film buffs or those just interested in LOTR, the last two discs of the Appendices are wonderful. Like the discs before, they show the making of the film: sets, costumes, shooting scenes, etc., but there is special significance placed on the fact that the cast and crew won't all be together again. We feel a bit of the sadness too. Great action sequences, thrilling landscapes and F/X shots, and the little character moments make this a must see! Plus, this LOTR Special Extended Edition DVD has the funniest Easter Egg of all... it's hidden on disc 2! Surprise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best DVD to own ever.

    This is the best LOTR movie yet. The story picks off from about one thousand years ago when Smeagul wasn't insane. Him and his friend were fishing and his friend falls into the pond. He spots the ring, and brings it to land. Smeagul sees it and they end up wrestling each other for it. Smeagul kills his friend, for the ring. for around one thousand years it drove him mad. he thinks it is all he needs. the present-day story picks off at Frodo and sam in a cave. Smeagul still badly wants to kill them. The story is very good and long. 4 hours and 10 min. (ext. edition) which adds 50 min. from the theatrical release. If you like lord of the rings, and suprise endings... this is the one to buy!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    --->BEST MOVIE EVER<----

    Undoubtedly the greatest movie ever created. I became a tolkien fan after watching 'the fellowship...' when it first came out. Since then I've bought all the movies and all of Tolkiens books. I've eagerly plowed my way through LOTR and the hobbit as well as Silmarillion and Unfinished Tales. This movie is the crowning achievement and speaks volumes about the devotion that Peter Jackson has toward perfecting his view of JRR's work. One of the few instances where the movie is just as good as (if not better) than the book. Highly recommend buying it, even if you only have a small interest in his work. I am convinced I will never find a movie that surpasses this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The King Returns

    Hi. I am here to tell you about the return of the king, spechial edition. This is a great movie packed with extra senecs, bonus fetures and more, your sure to like it. i sure do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Saruman Rules the DVD!

    Ok, so the Extended Edition of ROTK was sweet, but the one part that made it great is the lost Christopher Lee scene. They should've kept it in it had everything you could ask for: death, fireballs, and some vocal name bashing. It was wicked sweet, if I wuz you guyses I'd rent or buy it just to see that scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HAIL TO THE KING!

    Great movie although at first the end seemed to drag on forever, however the extended version greatly enhances the viewing experiece and is much preferable to the theatrical version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS ROCKS!

    hey i bought t his movie and it rocks! ! i loved it its absouletly amazi ng another amazing thing is insound.com u can earn free points and everything i ts kicking! Luhkell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One Ring to Rule Them All

    I just watched the extended version of ROTK over the weekend, and I love it. It kept--and in some cases exceeded--the quality of Fellowship and Towers. I've loved LOTR since 8th grade, and I remember sitting thru the theatrical release of ROTK and wondering if Jackson could pull it off. Obviously, he did. His interpretation of LOTR has done for fantasy movies what Tolkien's books did for fantasy literature--turned it into a respected genre and forever changed what is considered good fantasy. I've always loved the books because for the time I'm reading them I can picture the locations and worry about the characters like they're my best friends. The movie has that quality of realism. I find myself forgetting that Gollum is CGI and that magic doesn't exist. Middle-Earth has always felt real, and Jackson's movies add another layer of richness. Long live the king.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great things come in small packages!

    The LOTR trilogy's director Peter Jackson brought JRR Tollkien's books to life. I felt that I was trapped in a dream state, and the simple theme of Good conquers Evil is well-deserved. Everyone is fighting to safeguard thier futures by coming together to fight the forces of darkness.I think it is a universal theme set in medieval times and that's what makes Tolkien's books and its adaptations so timeless.Imagine that all of life as we know it lies in the hands of a hobbit named Frodo, and he was an unlikely hero with no warrior skills but he was destined to go on his journey to make sure that the ring is destroyed. I think that it is a huge task on an unknown.Great things come in small packages. Size really does not count.Outstanding films and I am pleased that all three of the films got Oscars.Way to go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great job

    The books are great, and the other exteneded movies are fabalous. I cant wait to see this one. Almost a whole hour added!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    A truly spectacular masterpiece of cinema. Extended scenes include the final confrontation between saruman and the fellowship, were gandalph breaks sarumans staff and wormtounge stabs saruman in the back, before he falls of orthanc and lands on a spiked wheel below, a spike pierces his body and kills him. The corsairs of umbar is an awesome scene in which the dead men of the dunharrow take the pirate ships, explaining how aragorn arrived at pellenor in the pirate ships. The foul mouth of sauron torments merry, pippin, gandalph and aragorn before the black gate about frodo's torture and death before aragorn surprisingly and unexpectedly cuts off his head. But without doubt the best scene in the extended cut is the battle between gandalph and the witch king of angmar. A truly awesome, spectacular fight between the two ensues and gandalph is about to meet his match. After all that he's been through; fighting the balrog, saruman and the battle of the hornburg, to say a few, he has found an enemy stroger than he. As the fight draws to a close the witch king breaks the wizards staff and removes his power, explaing were his staff went in the rest of the film, gandalph is about to be finished off by the witch king when the horns of rohan call him to battle. Feeling that gandalph can no longer effect events the witch king leaves the battle, victorios, to fight on the fields of the pellenor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Lord of the Rings will rule Cinematic History

    If I had to rate the Lord of the Rings Movies in which were the best, I would have to say that ROTK still remains number one, but it is tightly followed by Fellowship. The action, the emotion of the characters is brilliantly portrayed by all it's performers. It seems like they all wanted to go out with a big bang, and believe me when I say that they did. The final chapter of the series is the best of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mildred Q, a LOTR fan from PR

    The third and last extended verson of the LOTR (ROTK)...is the best of them all! Not only do you get 50 minutes of sences that isn't seen in the movie version, also you get two short films from a young film maker after Jackson's heart. Plus, you get the tearful moments that happen on the set. ROTK, along with part one and two, shold be a part of you DVD library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    brilliance

    Having read tolkien's magnum opus at least annually since being stranded at home with the mumps in fifth grade, I've developed a somewhat protective attitude toward the work. I awaited Jackson's interpretation with baited breath, but maintained doubts that the breadth of Tolkien's written word could be translated into the differently limited medium of film. All three films left me initially disappointed, but after looking at them a 2nd or 3rd time, I came to the humble realization that Jackson, Walsh and Boyens revealed an understanding instructive for even the most rabid aficianados. And he doesn't just explore the deeper issues of war, alienation, power, etc.. He's just as comfortable as JRR at giving us the whimsy (i.e., you'll laugh, you'll cry....) I expect that this extended version, as with the other two, will give us an even more developed view of Jackson & co's take on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cinematic genius

    This was the best movie ever, it didn't distort the story or anything, you felt like you were experiencing the power of Middle-Earth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3