Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings - The Two Towers

Average Rating 5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Great story, but DVD version better

    I have watched the DVD version many times. Very disappointed to find many scenes removed in the Blu ray version: parts of the trek across Rohan, climb down the elvish rope, death of Saruman and more. The story has lost a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good sequel

    What hasn't been said about this sequel? The acting is even better, as are the characters and fight scenes. Love the soundtrack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie great sequel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The best second sequel

    The second best movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love LOTR!

    I really like this movie!! I thought Gollum/Smeagol would only be scary. He is actually funny too! He always talks to himself. I like the part when he tells himself "Go away and never come back." It is hard to pick a favorite character. I like them all. One of my favorites is Legolas (Orlando Bloom). It is fuuny watching him and Gimly compete on how many orcs they can kill. I love all the fights. The special effects are amazing. I really, really, really like this movie. I think I have watched it twenty times. I will never get tired of watching it. If I could, I would give this movie 100 stars. I Love LOTR!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

    This one is just exciting with a terrific battle scene near end on Helm's Deep as everyond defends it with the woman and children underneath them trying to stay quiet and alive praying. The movie is far the best of the series so far and then second is the return of the king. In this one of course, we finally get to see Gollum/Smeagol and Sam has a grudge against him none the less since he can't trust him but Frodo has no choice of to ask for his help as a guide to guide him and Sam to their ever long quest towards Mount Doom to destroy the one ring to one rule them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of the greatest films of all time.

    TTT has done something that few middle films in trilogies does and that is not only bulid upon the story set up by the first film but stands on it own as great cinema not by copying the formual of the first but by being original as we've seen some films that try a new direction in the telling of the story fall short of the orginal but this is not the case with TTT in this story things become darker and the story call upon characters to grow I have read the books and yes the devations bother me a little but I think to myself this movie keep up with the spirit of Tolkien and does it in such a powerful and artistic I loved ever second of this film and this trilogy I give this film 10 stars. Highly Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love Lord of the Rings

    WOW BEST MOVIE EVERY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    two towers stands tall

    what a awesome movie. just watched this film this eveing it was a fun and exiting adventure to watch.also of course had the surround sound on and the parts with the battale seans made it sound so realisstic.and next to see will be the third adventure in this saga.return of the king. cant wait to seethat one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eowyn Rocks!

    I had only read The Hobbit when I saw The Fellowship of the Ring in 2001, and I had loved even though I was never a huge Tolkein fan. The Two Towers is even better! Some say its not true to the book, that may be true but it is still an excellent film that feels so authentic. You get caught up in the world of Middle Earth and believe you are there. Eowyn is my favorite character this time around, but Gollum's cool too. I saw The Return of the King in theaters recently, I can't wait until it comes out in extended version DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of the best movies ever made!

    When you watch any Lord of the rings movie, but especially this one, you get sucked into the world of middle earth where hobbits and elves dwell. It actually seems like you are in the battle of helm's deep, fighting the urak-hai. The movie is so suspenseful and action packed, it will leave you hanging on each and every word the characters say. It is one of those movies that even if you have to go to the bathroom, you will not get up out of your seat no matter what. Peter Jackson makes the characters so believable, it makes you want to get out your sword and fight alongside them. The movie shows you that there is always hope out there no matter what the circumstances are, and this is what I like most about the two towers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    LOTR The Two Towers - Sensational Movie!

    All in all, I believe this was a fantastic film, a better effort even than the first one, although that one was exceptionally good too! Not having read Tolkien's books, I can't comment from the 'purist's' standpoint about specific 'details' that may or may not have been omitted - or changed - from the original work. But if the books are ANYTHING like the films, I'm VERY anxious to read them now! The backdrops and the scenery (shot in New Zealand) were incredibly gorgeous! 'Rivendell' (from film #1 and then visited briefly again in TTT) actually made me FEEL as if I had been transported to another world - an 'ethereal world' inhabited by a 'noble race of Elves!' The Hobbits were adorable - and very convincing. Gandalf was SUPER! I felt that each actor did an excellent (and believable) job of making his or her individual character 'come to life,' especially for those of us whose familiarity with the books may be limited. I personally LOVED John Rys-Davies' 'crusty' and amusing portrayal of the loyal dwarf, Gimli. And of course - Gollum! What a fantastic technical achievement HE was - SO LIFELIKE in his movements and expression! The battle scenes, of course, were simply awesome, and the comraderie and heroism of the 'fellowship' inspiring. I felt, by the end of this film, that I had really come to 'know' these characters well and to share emotionally in their triumphs and tragedies. I'm looking forward with great anticipation to the third and final film in the trilogy, 'Return of the King.' If that one measures up to the greatness displayed in the two films that preceded it, I know I won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE OF THE CENTURY! until The Return of the King lol!

    OMD!!! The Lord of the Rings first of all is amazing!! The Two Towers was even better than The Fellowship of the Ring and that's hard to beat! The detail and the time put into the movie is incredible and the characters are great! I would love to add that I know The Return of the King is going to be even better! All the other movies better watch out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love these movies!

    This is the best movie trilogy I have ever seen...I love it so much! All 3 parts are great...I love all the actors especially Elijah Wood...I watched him ever since he was little and was very pleased with this movie...Viggo, Liv and the gang were great...everything was perfect...I have all the books and all the movies(well almost...the third didn't come out on dvd yet but when it does I am buying it!)...I saw the third one 3 times so far in the movies! I love this movie so much! I can see it everyday even though it's a long movie...I can relate to all the characters and love the way Peter Jackson did all that he did...there is so much to this movie and it is so great...it's the best movie and should get all the awards it is up for...I also have the video game and love it...The Return of the King and The Two Towers...they are so fun! I love this movie! I love all the actors and actresses in it...I wish i coulda been a Hobbit or something :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    Best movie of the year. Make it part of your collection.

    It is the best movie I have ever seen. It's action packed yet funny. It will keep you in your chair untill it's over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gandalf's back

    I think it was an excellent movie, the script was well thought up and the graphics are amazing, but what REALLY astounded me was Gandalf's return, yay Gandalf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lord of the Rings ROCKS!!!

    This movie is so cool! I don't know about you but Legolas ( Orlando Bloom) is so cool! I also like Arwen ( Liv Tyler) and Eowyn (Miranda Otto). I CAN'T WAIT TILL Dec17 can you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Orlando, the ears work really well for you!!!

    I love this movie!! The cast is amazing and they ALL complement each other. It's made me notice Cate Blanchett (The Gift), and Viggo Mortensen (Hidalgo, I can't wait!) who was also in 28 Days;I have that movie and i didn't even recognize him! And Orlando Bloom Pirates of the Caribbean-The Curse of the Black Pearl). Good Job, you guys!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Lord of the Rings trilogy is the best andventure film trilogy ever and it always will be

    This film is GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!It has great special effects and pretty much goes by the book.It would have been better if it did go by the book but still it is a terrific movie.All the scenes that Peter Jackson added that are not in the book are great and exciting.This is a must get DVD!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Beautiful Example Of The Struggle Of Good Against Evil And Of The Loyalty, Honor, Love And Friendship That Is Not Often Found In This Age.

    The Lord of the Rings-The Two Towers was a wonderful movie that took me to a time of adventure, love, loyalty, and betrayal. The emotions of the characters were excellently portrayed; this along with the amazing music and the story itself allowed me to feel Frodo's struggle, Gollum's lonliness, Aragorn's battle, and the victory of Helm's Deep. Tears fell freely from my eyes each time I saw this movie(3 times so far). And I have to mention how wonderful it was to watch Legolas's character be portrayed by Orlando Bloom, a most beautiful man :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7