Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings - The Two Towers [Special Extended Edition]

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good movies that gets Judged by few idiots.

    Whoever hates these movies is really gay and self centered. Out of all the critics, these movies are better than Star Wars. Like anyone is going to make the movies excactly like the book. If you read the book, you would know what would happen. It's better to surprise than dissapoint. And dissapoint it did not. Especially not me. People need to understand more about movies and their directors points than judge them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Love it!!!!

    The Lord of The Rings is my favorite book series and I love it in movie format too. This is a great movie worth seeing, but you might want to read it first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    must see

    I wasn't too into wizards & warriors & hobbits and all that other crazy stuff until someone told me to just watch the first one. so I did and then the second one and then the third one. i realised that I may not know all the characters by name or where they're from yet I know that I really like the visualism & imagination that it brings to life. I'm a huge skeptic & I think that no one knows what really happens in middle earth & no one is brave enough to go find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This sophomore effort shines brighter than the first.

    Every great adventure story worth telling has a solid hero - someone who puts others before themselves and uses their talents to do their best at keeping the forces of evil at bay even if it means the loss of life and limb. At its core, this movie has eight such heroes and each one lives up to the call. Peter Jackson was faced with a great challenge but he managed to pull this off real well. This film was better paced than the first in the trilogy. There were still some breaks in the action that were a little dull, but the dialog was necessary to further the story. With three separate stories going on simultaneously between the three groups of the splintered fellowship, the film kept the action moving quickly. Clocking in at 179 minutes, it is just one minute longer than the first film. This time, I didn't mind the length. The battle for Isengard comprised about a third of the film, and it was very intense. The rest of the film had a lot of the same excellent cinematic shots tracking the actors from above done by helicopter. The landscapes helped to keep me involved with the story when the action slowed for dialog intensive scenes. The creature Gollum played a very key roll in this movie, and the computer-generated character was very lifelike and amusing. He sort of reminded me of Dobby the `House Elf' in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. Gollum and the Dwarf were the two main comic relief characters in this very serious film. As a film, this movie has it all - action, drama, comedy - but none of it would've worked without characters we cared about, villains we despised and heroes we cheered for. Great film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie Ever!

    This was, to me, the best of the three movies. Legolas and Gimli had always been my favorite characters in the books and the movies, and a lot of the new scenes were about them. Pippin and Merry's job of playing the commic relief is given over to Legolas and Gimli. Frodo begins to truly realize the burden that he is carrying on a gold chain around his neck, and Aragorn is coming to see that he is needed. Not as a ranger, but as a king. The Battle of Helms Deep was by far my favorite part of the movie. It seemed so real, and it was even better than I pictured it in the book. This takes everything that happened in the first movie and puts it into play. Anyone who has the time to watch a three and a half hour movie should give this a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jackson doesn't let Tolkien fans down!!!

    Two Towers picks up where Fellowship left off in a grand fashion and refers to the breaking of the company enough so that anyone who hasn't seen Fellowship can easily follow the story and fall in love with the characters. (I can't imagine who!) Frodo and Sam are on their way to Mordor, Merry and Pippin have been taken by a band of Saruman's evil Uruk-Hai orcs, and Aragorn, Gimli, and Legolas have vowed to go after the two kidnapped Hobbits. Despite the absence of a light-hearted beginning like Fellowship had, Towers more than makes up for "warm fuzzy" feelings by enriching the characters and expanding our view of Middle-Earth. The skirmishes with the Nazgul and orcs in Fellowship, though breathtaking, look like nothing compared to the amazing Battle of Helm's Deep, a desperate fight for life that has me quietly muttering encouragement to the good guys each time I see it. Like the previous Extended Edition, Jackson and his crew add to the amazing theatrical film with extended battles and touching and/or hilarious character-driven scenes. Betcha didn't know Eowyn can cook, huh? Well, as you will see, she can't! The Appendices are also must sees. They document the making of the film from all aspects and are thoroughly engrossing. So, if you adore films, are a Tolkien fan, or are determined to know what all the fuss is about, this (and is 2 accompanying films) make a great night on the couch! Jackson's vision does Tolkien's classic work justice in the best possible way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a kid thinks

    One word explains it all...COOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Orlando Bloom fan! <3

    this was great! it really looked into the movie and gave you a better understanding of the story with the added seans. the extras were really fun to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The BEST movie ever!!!!!!!!!

    The Two Towers was the absolutely best movie I have ever seen. I love the battle at Helm's Deep- so cool! Have you ever seen so many Orcs? I would definitely recommend the movie to people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    it cant get any better than this

    helms deep is hands down the best battle in any movie ever made period. the only thing that can come close is the battle in return of the king, so the lord of the rings trilogy corners the market there, gollum was great, it seemed they gave gimli more of a personality in this one, this was the coolest movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't listen to anyone who gave it less than 4 stars

    This was phenomenal! Yes it did depart from the book a lot but it's still really really good. It's a pity they had to alter so much, but that's part of movies. You can't have Faramir a good guy because that would bore a lot of people. The Special Edition is really good for people who want to know how they made it. It's got a lot more inside facts and they finally brought in the big thing about Aragorn having the Ring of Barahir. They also saluted Old Man Willow and Tolkien's poetry (unfortunately it was altered a bit too). You really want to listen to the commentary and watch the documentaries on WETA workshop and WETA digital. It expands on the characters too with scenes about Gimli and Legolas, Pippin and Merry, Boromir and Faramir, Theodred, Eowyn and Theoden. About the race issue, may I remind you what period of time the book was written? If you've read the book and was upset by it then DON'T SEE THE MOVIE! And on the Easterlings: They were white. Arwen is considered pretty much the most beautiful woman on earth and she's considered a 'dark beauty'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    can't go WRONG!!!

    Awesome!!!!! Forget five stars...i give it six. Absolutely Amazing...hehehe...heheheehehe... - pippin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Full of action and excitement!

    I love this movie so much. I watch it all the time. Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    kicks @s*

    it is cool.. it has a little more of the book in it...and some from the fellowship(book)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lord of the Rings books Fanatic

    I love the lord of the rings books, I think J.R.R. Tolkien was a genious. I think the Movies are works of art. I believe they are not perfect, but can you really expect movies now a days, taken classic literature to be perfect? When in modern society bravery, goodness, warfare and the wish to destroy evil is looked down upon. Tolkien lovers should not complain now when it is too late to turn back the clock they should at least be happy that Jackson did such a good job and did not completley destroy them. Is it not better that he made it a trilogy instead of only one movie? Consider what he could have done and rejoice that he did not!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    bomb

    This is the bomb-digity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    this is a awsome movie. better than the fellowship. it could have more book related things in it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Almost Discraceful

    Anyone who has ever read the books know that the Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit, or There and Back again are much more than what are portrayed in the movies. I understand how Peter Jackson couldn't fit the vast world of Middle Earth into a trilogy of movies, but my problem is that there arn't that many glimpses into Tolkien's world that would encourage people to read the books. If you havn't I highly suggest it, these movies are splendid, but they don't even measure up to the enormous universe Tolkien created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lord of the Rings - The Two Towers [Special Extended Edition]

    When J.R.R. Tolkien wrote 'The Lord of the Rings', it became an instant success. The novel allowed readers to escape from the boring world of real life and explore a land beyond our wildest dreams. Tolkien cleverly made up the peoples that lived there, especially their diverse cultures, which we can find out about. Setting in Tolkien's imaginary world of Middle Earth, there is peace between its inhabitants until the Dark Lord Sauron forged the Evil Ring of Power. Though Sauron is defeated, the Ring stills survives and has been lost for thousands of years until it is unknowingly found. Semeagol (Andy Serkis), a Hobbit (little man) finds the Ring and is obsessed by its evil. He eventually loses it, and it is found by another Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins (Ian Holm), and for many years, it was in his pocession. He eventually passes the Ring to Frodo (Elijah Wood), his younger relative. But when the evil of the Ring grows, it is up to Frodo and his group of friends, the Fellowship of the Ring, to take it to Mt. Doom, where it was made, and it the ONLY place it can be destroyed. THE TWO TOWERS continues THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING, the first part of the trilogy. In it, the Fellowship has split and are engaging in different situations. Frodo and Sam (Sean Austin) are continuing their journey to Mt. Doom and find unexpeted help in Gollum. Their Hobbit friends, Merry and Pippin, captured by Orcs, escape and meet Treebeard (John Rys-Davis), an ent (talking tree). With Treebeard, the two Hobbits prepare for war against the wicked land of Isengard, whose inhabitants are destroying the forest. The other members of the Fellowship, Aragon (Viggo Mortesen), Legolas (Orlando Bloom), an elf, and Gimli (also John Rys-Davis), and dward, reunited with the wizard Gandalf (Ian McKellen), help the Kingdom of Rohan fight the forces of Isengard and the evil wizard Saruman (Christopher Lee). THE TWO TOWERS is definately one of the year's best films. Its cinematography is spectacular. The film was filmed in New Zealand, which amazingly looks like Middle Earth! Director Peter Jackson's choice to film it there was beyond awesome. You'll feel as if you're actually in Middle Earth, and that it is actually a real place. Actors and actresses are superb, notably Ian McKellen as Gandalf and Christopher Lee as Saruman. They are so perfect and their characters look as if they just popped out from the book! No other actors could play them better! Music was awesome. Howard Shore's score captured the moods of the story, and without it, the film wouldn't be as inspiring as it is right now. Also, the fight scenes were action-packed, filled with confusion and disorder, just as real fights are supposed to be, although I did think that there should have been more gore. Originally planned to be 3 hrs. and 40 minutes, it was abridged to about 3 hours in theaters. But, with the release of the Special Extended Edition, the scenes the should've been in theaters can be seen. You cannot miss these scene!! However, if you're easily bored, don't watch! Get the theatrical version instead. Some people say that the film isn't faithful to be book, but hey, let's not forget that not all scenes from a book can be translated into a movie! Thought not 100% faithful to the book, it's successful in bringing Tolkien's beloved world to life!! Got see this film; you won't be disappointed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just Beautiful

    I have read all the reviews before I decided to write my own. And what I took away from these reviews is that our generation is concerned mainly with pretty pictures. Please, don't misunderstand me, the cinematic beauty of this movie is unparelleled by any other so far. The costumes are imaginative, the battle of Helm's Deep is cinematically breathtaking, even though it continued for probably full ten minutes or more, I was completely awestruck with it and I am a female. However, what everyone seem to forget about is the acting. What about that? There are so many beautiful conversations in the movie, so many moving dialogues, most of all the one at the end, well it's really a monologue by Sam. The words are so simple, yet so heartbreaking and eye opening that it is hard to hold back tears. If you have watched this movie for pretty scenery and excellent combat, please, do yourself a favor and watch it again for the messages it conveys and the hope for better times that it so generously bestows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4