Customer Reviews for

The Lost Boys - Special Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Lost Boys Haven't Lost Their Bite

    My roommate has a theory about what makes a good movie. He thinks that if a movie's opening sequence involves water the movie will be good. In this instant he is dead on in his thinking.


    This is one of the best movies of the 1980s (1987) and one of the best vampire movies of all time. It has everything a perfect 80s movie needs.


    The soundtrack is dead on and used effectively. The theme song of the movie seems to be "Cry Little Sister" (youtube video) and is used throughout the movie. Different snippets of the song are used to frame certain frames and seems to capture the essence of those particular scenes.


    The cast is spectacular. Jason Patric, Diane Wiest, Edward Herrmann, Kiefer Sutherland, Corey Feldman, and Corey Haim all star in the movie. You can't get better than having both Coreys in a movie, well maybe if you added Rob Lowe in at the time. Speaking of Rob Lowe I always wondered why Sam (Corey Haim) has a poster of Rob Lowe pulling his shirt up on his closet door. I wonder what was being implied back then.


    Jason Patric and Corey Haim play the sons of Diane Wiest who moves back in with her father after a divorce she didn't feel like fighting. Once their the boys meet new friends and start to have fun. In Michael's case (Jason Patric) he meets a beautiful girl who is otherwise engaged and is brought into the gang by it's leader David (Kiefer Sutherland). Sam meets the Frog brothers (one of who is Corey Feldman) at a comic book store and the quickly bond (which may be to strong of a word) over vampire comics.


    Little does Michael know that his new friends are trying to initiate him into a gang of vampires controlled by some unknown individual. Once Sam discovers what is happening he calls in the Frog brothers for help and chaos reigns for the rest of the movie.


    For anyone who enjoys a wonderfully written, strong vampire movie I strongly encourage you to watch it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    party all night sleep all day its great to be a vampire!!!

    okay i don't belive in vampires but Lost Boys is a cool movie even if your a fan of horror movies or the 2 Corey's pretty good movie special edition is in widescreen and has a 2 disc set

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A vampire movie you probably heard of

    Nope not the ones from peter pan but the vampire gang. I remembered this film when i was a kid and man was i a little scared and couldn't help but see what'll happen in the end. I must say that Kiefer does make an awesome vampire, was disappointed with what happened to him in the end. not surprised that there's a sequel and that it seriously looks horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Lost Boys is a movie about Too Brothers moving to San Carla where vampires live Sam's brother Micheal becomes a vampire but Sam has to stop all the badness This movie is so cool It has both Cory's in it Corey Haim and Corey Feldman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Was really cool!

    It was a cool movie and it had awsome affects! Really cool and super directing and story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this movie

    The Lost Boys isn't my favorite movie, but I still love it. It was really good and interesting. I think it's better than most of the other vampire movies out there. I recommend this movie to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Let your vampire spirit soar!

    If there were ever a movie that made you want to file your teeth into fangs, sink them into a small, woodland creature or human, and then celebrate by driving around town on a dirtbike like Hulk Hogan...it's Lost Boys! This coming of age film made me realize that I don't believe in God or religion and probably speed limits for that matter. This best part of this movie is when they are all shooting up wiggly-wire and burning each other with tiki-torches. I had no idea that a handle-bar mustache was a vampire repelent until I watched this film. My nose was really itchy during this movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    This movies is still awsome to watch 10- 15 years later. I got it as a christmas gift and I watched every day for a week! Needless to say the VHS is worn out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A classic

    This movie is definentaly a classic. With an amzing cast and a nice touch of comedy, this is a must see movie. I grew up watching this movie, and love it just as much today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2003

    one word - AWSOME

    this is the most awsome movie of vampires ever. its a must see for everyone. its not just horror its comedy and thats what makes it great!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome!

    This is an awsome movie! It's funny, suspensful,classic, and cool! I'd definetly reccomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Whatever Happened to Haim and Feldman

    IF you're like me and love any movie with vampires in it, even if it's bad, you've probably already seen this. The Lost Boys is a standout in the genre and towers above cheesy modern day efforts such as Forsaken and Dracula 2000. It was tagged a horror/comedy but make no mistakes, this is a classic horror movie. Granted their are some comical one liners and the Frog brothers are outrageous. However the movie is very dark and suspenseful. There is also alot of realistic gore but the movie never exceeds itself in this area. In other words its not just a blood bath. The violence and gore are necessities in the plot and Schumacher has picked his violent scenes well. The movie runs well due to a great story, a knockout cast, great effects and basically an eery feel. Sutherland is a stand out as the leader of the Vampire gang, and like all his movies gives a rock solid performance. He's one of these actors like Jon Voight that plays a fantastic bad guy. Patric cruises through the movie with his smooth quite approach and really does suit the part. Corey Haim and Feldman are a riot like much of their childhood parts and it's really a shame they didn't go on to better things like so many of the cast. A great support cast as well. The musical score is excellent. ''Cry little sister'' is proof of music intensifying a movie. The Lost Boys achieves what so many movies like Blade have failed to do, terrify without resorting to an extreme gorefest or cheesy, unrealistic, unresearched performances. The Lost Boys is must for any Vampire fan and will continue to set the benchmark for future Vampire movie efforts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    This Movie Is Great!!!

    I love this movie. The first time I saw it I just had to have it. I am really into vampires and stuff so this movie was really a blast. If you have not seen it yet rent it or buy it now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome Flick

    I first saw this movie when I was younger. Now I'm 21, and enjoy watching it just as much. The cast is great, and the make-up in this movie is great as well. The scene where the vampire gang breaks up an unsuspecting party, then feeds off of them, is a total bloodbath! A great scene for gore fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2