Customer Reviews for

The Manchurian Candidate

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    goo remake of movie

    Denzel Washington is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrifingly Relevant

    With the present administration, anything is possible and in this classic, possibly better than the original we must awaken from our slumber to see the "sleeper" in the White House. This, I imagine, was Johnathan Demme's concern.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS CANDIDATE IS A WINNER

    IT DIDNT SURPRISE ME A BIT THAT THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT FILM.DENZEL WASHINGTON, MERYL STREEP, AND THE ALWAYS UNDERRATED LIEV SCHREIBER WERE ALL AMAZING. THIS WAS ONE OF THE STRANGEST AND CREEPIEST FILMS IVE EVER SEEN AND I JUST LOVED IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabulous Movie

    This 2004 remake of the 1962 film did a fabulous job telling the story of Ben Marco and the Shaw family. The audience is surprised around every corner as you get to know the characters and discover what you think is real, just may not be. The film centers on the story of both Ben Marco, played by Denzel Washington, and Raymond Shaw, played by Liev Schreibe, who served in the military and experienced a horrible ambush during the Gulf War. Shaw became a decorated war hero for saving the men in their unit and soon became pushed into the public government arena. Marco, on the other hand, kept to himself until he started having dreams and flashbacks that indicated what he remembered may not be exactly what really happened. After watching Marco go through much turmoil and plot twists, we learn that it is a corporation named, Manchurian Global, who is behind all of the deceit. The memories are indeed fiction, made up to create the perfect vice president candidate, Raymond Shaw. None of this would have been possible without the help of Shaw¿s mother, Eleanor. Meryl Streep did a superb job in this role of puppet master. Not only does she have complete control over her son, she also manages to present herself as a well liked Senator and devoted mother. However, she will go to whatever means is necessary to assure her son¿s position in the White House. With just one pull of Raymond¿s strings, she is able to create new memories as well as have him kill both the love of his life and her father, one of the few people who were beginning to believe in Marco. I found all of the characters to be very talented. Being a huge Denzel fan, I was not surprised by his excellent performance. However, I was shocked to find myself unsure of his story. I, like the many people in the film, doubted Marco in the beginning and thought perhaps he was losing his mind. I shamefully found myself occasionally cheering for the wrong side. With the plot changes and the many flashbacks of the various memory sequences, it was rather difficult to know who was being truthful. After awhile, you also could not help but to wonder which side would prevail. Not only did you have to choose sides between the Shaw¿s and Marco, you also have to wonder about Marco¿ character as well. Will he be able to do the right thing or will the power of Eleanor be just too much for him? The end of the movie is not only excellent but also quite shocking. The film takes you to the edge of your seat and back again with what Marco is actually going to do. The final scene with Raymond and Eleanor was well worth the wait. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who is looking for couple hours of action packed drama, as well as anyone who is either a Denzel Washington or Meryl Streep fan. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE EVER

    if you want to watch a great movie get this. i saw it in theaters with my roommate and i loved it. It is suspenseful and has a great twist at the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't waste your time or money on this one

    I'm a big Denzel fan, but this was easily his worst movie in years. Not that he delievered a bad performance, he never does. But I just couldn't get into this movie at all. It was too confusing, or maybe I just had too much to drink at the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1