Customer Reviews for

The Mary Tyler Moore Show - Season 1

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where is Season 2?

    Fox was scheduled to release Season 2 in March 2003, but it has not, and now there are rumors that the remaining six seasons won't be released. Season 1 was an outstanding set, and The Mary Tyler Moore Show only gets better after that. Write Fox and ask that Season 2 be released: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment PO Box 900 Beverly Hills, CA 90213-0900

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where is Season 2?????

    How stupid are these Fox people who aren't putting out Season 2. I heard one of them say that sales were not as big as they hoped. Hello? We're out here! We are willing to pay $50 for something that would cost you less than $10 to package and ship, and pay residuals. Don't bother with commentaries, if they're so expensive. Just slap the uncut versions onto a disc, and reap a tidy profit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mary Tyler Moore still rocks!

    For those not familiar with the 70s era TV series, Mary Tyler Moore plays a young, single associate TV producer who has just moved to Minneapolis, MN, to work with Lou Grant. She has kooky co-workers, crazy neighbors (Rhoda and Phyllis), and an assortment of hilarious situations into which she falls. Most shows of the time did not feature single women who were not actively "husband hunting" and were thrilled with their careers. The sets and the "hip" costumes recall the sixties and seventies accurately. I loved it the first time; my college-age daughters were fascinated by the series, and watched volumes 1 thru 4. Even Oprah said that she was seriously influenced by this show which emphasized how single women could have fun while climbing the corporate ladder. Fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where are the rest?

    I love the first season, but where are the rest of the seasons???? Bring them on!!!! PLEASE!!! Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hi, Bob! Where's season two of MTM?

    The moment I saw that the first season of Ms. Moore's first starring sitcom (and I was enjoying Newhart and WKRP immensely), I knew had to see what all the hubbub what MTM was about (and especially the owner of its production company). I bawked at the price unfortunately because it was so high. But when I saw it in a discount bin (because of its poor sales) I immediately snapped it up and I'm glad I did. Since I had never seen reruns of Mary Tyler Moore where I lived, I got to see some great eye candy. A well-produced, hilarious show about a lady who moved from the east coast to the northwest and meets some loonies in her residence and her workplace can't be anything other than hilarious. I mean, we've got Rhoda (Get out of my apartment) Morganstern [Valerie Harper], Lou (I hate spunk) Grant [the world famous Ed Asner] and Ted (Milhorse Nixon) Baxter [Ted Knight], and a cast like that can't be something other than first class. Unfortunately, with tanked sales, season two has been overdue for two years. But the hyprocrites at FOX are releasing first season of Bob Newhart Show (not that it's a bad show by any stretch of the imagination - in fact, one of my all-time favorites) and we're still waiting for a complete second season of Mary Tyler Moore. And I'd sure like to see what becomes of her and Rhoda in their second year together. [Now, FOX, PLEASE release WKRP In Cincinnati - in COMPLETE episodes with all the ORIGINAL music, NOT the awful stock music!]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely refreshing television!

    This is must for great comedy! It's wonderful family watching fun! I can only hope that the remaining seasons will soon be available for purchase! We have given up on most of the sitcoms out today, and reliving the 70's with Mary Tyler Moore and crew is a blast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MTM season 1 rocks! Need remaining seasons released

    <p>This collection of MTM's first season brought back warm memories of watching it on Saturday nights with the whole family. It truly was must-see TV.</p> <p>The quality of video and audio is better than I remember. My father especially loves this show and can't wait for additional seasons to be released.</p> <p>I voted for additional seasons in the petition at <a href=http://www.PetitionOnline.com/mtmdvd/>http://www.PetitionOnline.c om/mtmdvd/</a> in the hopes that Fox will smell money and do the right thing by us MTM fans. I hope others add their voices so that we can continue this love affair.</p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mary Tyler Moore Show - Season 1

    Pop it in, watch the pilot episode, and remember why this girl who can turn the world on with her smile brought spunk into a Minneapolis News Station. Easily navegable and featuring an engrossing full-length documentary on the show, the only way I could imagine this being better is if it were a full set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love the show

    I'm Italian and i realy love the show. I'm looking forward to buy the second season box set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful as ever

    A fantastic collection of a timeless gem of a series. I must echo the question WHERE IS SEASON 2? Inside the season 1 box, it says March 2003 release for season 2...the studio appears to have changed their minds. I hope they come to their senses and release future sets of this classic-TV brilliance at some point!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    I discovered the MTM show when I was a teenager in the 1990s, and I was thrilled when season one was released on DVD. The quality of the DVDs is much better than the reruns on TV, and I have watched the episodes, commentaries, and great documentary over and over. This show is a classic and a groundbreaker for the modern sitcom. My only question is: when will season two be released?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mary Tyler Moore Show - Season 1

    As someone too young to have viewed MTM in it's first television broadcast run, I caught a number of episodes on Nick at Night-- but NEVER appreciated the series on the level I do now. Not only does this DVD have fantastic commentary on many of the episodes, but one of the best TV show documentaries I have seen. In-depth with fantastic new interviews and commentary. This show was truly well done and amazing. And like I've found with any TV show on DVD, it's not only more enjoyable, but educational to watch the progression watching the episodes sequentially. I fully reccomend this DVD. She turns the world on with her smile, again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1