Customer Reviews for

The Mission

Average Rating 5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding, Inspirational, Spiritual

    Not only was The Mission an incredibly inspirational movie, but also spiritual. It reveals the unwrapping of a man's soul and how he transforms into this spiritual being. The Mission is a must see movie and will leave you thinking hours after viewing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Took My Breath Away

    I watched this movie in my modern history class, and I loved EVERYTHING about it! The score, as a whole, and individual pieces was amazing, great acting, amazing cast. This really took my breath away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Reviewing The Mission once again after 20 years

    The Mission is not my favorite all-time movie, but it does make my top ten. One of the most compelling stories ever told about the struggle between rich Portugese landowners trying to enslave the indians and the Church of Rome who is trying to convert the indians. It is a struggle of epic proportions and it is beautifully brought to life by Director Roland Joffe. Robert DeNiro and Jeremy Irons are spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love of all Peoples

    When the Jesuits were powerful they did some rotten things and here they could have done more for the Indians. It was a beautiful film of human power without purpose or dignity, a true masterpiece with DeNiro leading the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Mission

    This movie movie achieves a spiritual meaning that only a few movies ever made have achieved. Through its truth and beauty, this film touches the soul as good men fight for mercy only to be crushed by the Godless. This film shows the capabilities of a government which opposses the grace of God and a society that turns away from emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic filmwork

    I had to watch this movie in a history class and unfortunalely didn't get the chance to see the ending. I do plan on buying the movie as I haven't been so caught up in a movie for a long time. It was the greatest thing I have seen in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    A wonderful account of the unfair political decisions taken by catholic church in favor of power and convenience. One of the best movies I have ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An awesome movie...

    This movie is a true work of art. It's a moving, emotional look into history and a mirror towards today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ONE OF A KIND MASTERPIECE

    One of the best movies ever made. Deep on several levels: Politics, Religion, Personal Redemption. Overal shows the dignity of the human soul and the struggle that one must endure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awe-inspiring; heartbreaking

    Robert DeNiro was so credible and you could almost SEE his soul when he finally was able to come to grips with himself! Despite the horrors of the politics, there is still so much love and trust in this movie. The score ''Gabriel's Oboe'' will always bring me back to this movie. I plan on purchasing it on DVD-Wide Screen so I can share it in the future with our Grandchildren. It's a perfect example of good vs evil and hopefully they will never be afraid to stand up for what is right and good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply the best

    This movie is perfect. Stunning in every way, it is the first to make me cry for many years...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    the mission

    The most moving and humbling film I have ever seen! The score by Mr Morricone is a masterpiece in and of itself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Movie! Can't Wait to Get DVD Version

    I looked in the video stores for 6 months to find a VHS copy to rent so my girlfriend could see it. This movie is a powerful and emotionally wrenching spiritual experience. It asks and answers the question: Which is more important - the Message or the messenger?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    worth the investment!

    the cinematography is gorgeous. this movie is a great discussion-starter. One of the best representations of forgiveness ever dipicted on video.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superb acting and visuals!

    A wonderfully made movie, with splendid performances by Irons and De Niro. A DVD worth having in your collection, though I wish it had more extra features. Still a great buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    is this DVD or not???

    trying to get some info on whether or not the DVD format is in stock. very hard to navigate through the website. this was the only way to find any info...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Please!!!

    I want it in Spanish Subtitled!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2