Customer Reviews for

The Monster Squad

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I never heard of this movie before. Glad I finally saw it. New favorite movie. Awesome cover.

    This is the story of a group of kids called the Monster Squad that talk about monster stuff. That is until the real thing happens and its up to the kids to save the world. You have such recognizable monsters like the wolf man, Frankensten, Creature from the Black Lagoon and the Mummy, all lead by Dracula himself. That has got to be the coolest plot I ever heard of, well...one of the coolest plots I ever heard of I guess. Some of the scenes were pretty good while others seemed a little dark for a family movie. If you like horror, comedy and adventure, then you'll love the Monster Squad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not for younger kidos

    I used to love this moive when I was a kid. I bought it becuase I thought my little one would enjoy it. The subject matter was not for the younger crowed. I would not recomend this moive for anyone under 15. other then that it was ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kick him in the Nards!

    1987 was my latest stop in my Movies of the 1980s journey. Now I just made the journey part up, but hey it sounds good and since I'm in a 80s type of mood lately, I figure it will work.


    I was about 11 years old when this movie came out and I loved every moment of it then and I still love it now. From the opening screen roll (think Star Wars) we know that this movie is going to be both horror as well as comedy.


    One Hundred Years Before this Story Begins...It Was A Time Of Darkness In Transylvania...A Time When Dr. Abraham Van Helsing...And A Small Band Of Freedom Fighters...Conspired To Rid The World Of Vampires and Monsters...And To Save Mankind From The Forces of Evil...They Blew It


    Of course I don't know what else you would expect from writer/director Fred Dekker. For those of you who have never heard of him, he is also the mastermind behind House, the cult horror movie from the 80s not the obnoxious TV show that's on now.


    The basic plot of the movie (I will give the DVD synopsis at the end of this post) is this. Take 4 twelve year old boys, one cigarette smoking junior high kid, and one younger sister and pit them against the monsters of Universal Studios. Make the cigarette smoking, leather jacket wearing junior high kid Ryan Lambert (Kids Incorporated) and you got a hit movie on your hands. Well at least Fred Dekker was hoping for that. The movie didn't do very well at the time but has now become a cult hit world wide with an ever growing audience.


    I never knew what there wasn't to like. You have all the classic monsters headed up by Dracula himself. His henchman are non other than The Mummy, The Wolfman, Frankenstein's Monster, The Creature From The Black Lagoon, and of course his Three Brides. Of course, it may not have helped that Universal didn't want anything to do with this movie and did not allow the creators to specifically say that these in fact were those legends of scariness.


    Now you may ask how the kids happen to get involved. Well this is what happens. Dracula is looking for an amulet that is a repository for pure good. If he is able to destroy that amulet then the powers of evil will be able to take over the world. One of our young heroes, namely Sean, comes into possession of a diary written by Dr. Van Helsing himself that gives an account of how to turn the amulet into a gate opening up into Limbo. If that gate can be opened by a virgin (of course) then the creature of the night will be sucked in and the day will be saved. You may be thinking to yourself why would a 12 year old even be interested in such a book, especially since it's written in German. Well the simple answer to that is because him and his friends belong to a monster club and have a rather healthy fascination with all things monster. So Sean's mother brings it home to him and the fun wackiness ensues.


    Now obviously Dracula can not allow such a thing to happen so he sends Frankenstein to get the book away from the kids. On the way to carry out his mission Frankenstein meets Phoebe (Sean's younger sister) in the exact same manner that he does in the classic Universal movie. Only this time the little girl is spared the dunking in the pond and the two become buddies. If you haven't already guessed Frankenstein helps the kids save the day.


    The ensuing battle produces one of the best scenes in the history of movies. This may be a testament to the fact I'm a guy and that I was a kid when I first saw the movie, but t

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    doesn't disappoint

    for a kids movie i must say wow can't believe they got away with swearing. this is the fan favorite about a club that has to do anything with monsters and the real thing arrives and the kids with help from the scary german guy and the newest member rudy. the monsters that arrive are the wolf man, the lagoon creature, the mummy and are led by dracula including frankestein. the little girl was adorable and the frankestein scene was sweet and sad. i recommend it to any new or old fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    IM SO EXCITED I COULD JUST SPIT!!!!!!!

    Im so stoked that my fav movie in the whole wide world is finally out on dvd!!!! honestly, i thought i was the only one who knew about this timeless classic bcuz everywhere else i went to was sold out!! glad i got it months in advanced or else it would have been a tragedy. Any whoo, for those who don't know about monstser squad need to pick up on game soon. Enjoy cuz have since i was 3 and beyond

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZINGG

    I got the VHS when i was 3 years old and i watched it every saturday untill i was 18 years old, its one of my favorite movies, i cant wait for the dvd to come out since i lost my VHS, im 20 years old now so its been 2 years that ive gone without seeing the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's About Time!!

    I've seen this movie so many times as a kid and loved it. Looking forward for it's release on DVD. Thank you Lionsgate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    About Time!

    I've been wanting for this title since I started buying DVD's in 2000! It's a very enjoyable monster romp, but it definitely has its dark moments. All the kids in this were outstanding and the reinterpretation of the classic Universal icons is excellent. Go Phoebe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1