Customer Reviews for

The Muppet Christmas Carol

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Cheerful family movie!

    this is one of those movies that makes you want to put a firein the fireplace, get a blanket, and snuggle-up... And DREAM ABOUT CHRISTMAS!

    Call me crazy, but i actually watched this movie, this Summer.

    This movie has been a great fmaily tradition for us every christmas....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Christmas Classic

    All of your favorite Sesame Street characters are featured in this classic Christmas tale. You'll be Scrooged in a delightful way with a story that's timeless. This DVD makes a wonderful holiday gift for both youn and old alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enchanting

    This is my family's favorite version of A Christmas Carol. We have watched it every year since my children were small, and even now at ages 20, 18 and 12, it is still my children's favorite Christmas DVD! The songs are enchanting, and you will find yourself humming them all season long. Michael Caine gives such a wonderful performance, you almost forget he's acting with puppets! I honestly don't know why more networks don't show this year after year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful Version

    What can I say that already hasn't been said already. The music is wonderful and the story moves along. It's well worth watching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Christmas Carol Ever!!!

    I've seen many adaptations of the Christmas Carol, but this is perhaps my favorite because of it's irreverant sense of humor yet wonderfully warm Christmas feeling. It's become a tradition with my family to watch it every Christmas. One thing not to miss- the fabulous songs: "Tis the Season" "Bless us All" And many, many, more that will have you humming them all season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Xmas Movies!!

    This is one of the best Christmas movies I've ever seen. This was the first Muppet movie release after Jim Henson died. It lives up admirably to his memory. His son Brian takes over the reins and does a great job. The songs was moving and they stick in your head. The interplay between Gonzo and Rizzo is great. The story is told very well even though it's by muppets. We've made everyone we know watch this with us and they have all loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A firm favourite!! Real christmas spirit.

    I absolutely adored this movie when i was younger, it had me laughing and crying. i can't get enough of it. I found it even better because it wasn't too soppy- i mean that Ghost of Christmas future at the end was one of the scariest ever!! I loved Gonzo as the narrator and his little sidekick, all the muppets were brilliant, as was Micheal Caine. Each got to steal the show at some various point. Everything blended and left you with areal happy feeling. All kids must see this, if only to watch those crazy, but adorable muppets!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING MOVIE!

    The Muppet Christmas Carol is the best Christmas movie there is!! the music is amazing and its a really good family movie!! i LOVE watching this movie all year long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Light the Lamp not the Rat, Light the Lamp not the Rat!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Fabulous version of this classic. Even at 30+ it is a holiday tradition must see. Rizzo the Rat was just perfect as the fall guy and fall he does. The music is great you will find yourself singing along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A heartwarming and sweet twist on the classic tale

    The Muppet's christmas Carol was such a cute and sweet loveable movie. With the unique incorporation of the different muppets and the humans was wonderfully mastered by the hands of Brian Henson. A wonderful masterpiece to be a must in all people's christmas favourites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heartwarming

    The Muppet Christmas Carol holds the all time record as my two-year-old's favorite movie. This timeless story is told through charming songs and humor that only the Muppets can convey. The only problem is that my son thinks Gonzo's name is ''Dickens''....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Family-Oriented Christmas Movie Ever!

    This version of Dickens' classic outshines almost all Christmas videos. The music is absolutely outstanding, The story is accurately but creatively interpreted, it has GREAT humor, charisma, and the BEST version of the love story between Scrooge and his sweetheart. It's a MUST for any collection of Christmas videos. Keep some tissues handy for unavoidable tears!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enchanting

    I love this version of Dickens' most famous Christmas tale. Michael Caine is an affecting Scrooge, reacting to the events he sees with quietness and sadness. This Scrooge is not an old and angry man, but a middle-aged man whose anger comes from sadness; a man who can still have what he gave up - marriage and family. (I'm convinced that it is Michael Caine the person, not the actor, who we see when the Cratchit family sings ''Bless Us All''.) There are some wonderfully typical Muppet goings on--the jelly bean incident between Rizzo and Gonzo is my favorite. The music too is great. We watched this last night, rewound it and watched it again. The Muppets, along with the George C. Scott version, are the two best adaptations of Dickens' story; they really are outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Most Inspirational!

    This is a most outstanding rendition of Charles Dickens classic Christmas Carol suited for young and old alike! The soundtrack has to be the best of all time! The lyrics are outstanding and so inspirational. I was so distraught last year to think this incredible production was not going to be put on DVD, and that I could no longer get the sound track. I would like to watch this all year through with my kids or anyone who believes that life is really about love, and that it is never to late to discover that and make good on that discovery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A holiday favorite for our family

    As parents of a 6 year old, we are subjected to the endless home theater repetition of our daughter's favorite movie-du-jour. ''The Muppet Christmas Carol,'' however, is one that we enjoy as much as she. It is amazing how engrossing Michael Caine, as Scrooge, is when interacting with the Muppet troupe. I can't admit to my friends that this has become my favorite retelling of the Christmas Carol, surpassing my previous favorite Alistair Sim version. This movie stays true to the original, and cleverly presents some of the classic narrative through the persona of Charles Dickens himself (The Great Gonzo). Obviously, as a Muppet story there is much humour, some of which is clearly directed to the adults in the audience (look for Beaker's reaction as he leaves after the famous ''are there no poor-houses'' speech by Scrooge). Please excuse me now - I have to go watch this movie again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best versions of Christmas Carol!!

    As a Carol Fan I find this to be one of the top 4 versions of the story done. It is the one that stays closest to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Christmas Carol

    I am so happy they are re-releasing this classic movie. For those young or old it will be a favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    For the making of great childhood memories.....

    My family absolutely adores this movie. The Muppets are at their best-true enjoyment for the entire family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Christmas Carol retelling EVER

    It's a great movie for children and adults. Kids will be introduced to the classic dicken's story, while both kids adults will enjoy the muppet telling of the classic. Its one of those movies that will become a Christmas time viewing MUST. It already is for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    A Charming Rib Tickler

    The Muppet Christmas Carol is a witty and fun version of the Charles Dickens tale. Scrooge employs the famed Kermit and the funniest bunch of mice of the big screen. The narrators aare spunky and ghost are perfect and popcorn flows freely. A must have for every video collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2