Customer Reviews for

The Music Man

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Good musical, but not my favorite

    Robert Preston is good in the part of the Music Man, but does as much talking as singing in his "songs". Shirley Jones is wonderful, being the same actress from Oklahoma, Carousel, and others. Ron Howard sings his one and only song "Gary Indiana" like no one else his age could--priceless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Movies

    I love movies that you can watch with the whole family. It is nice not to have to censor. We need more musical movies like this one. It is a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic Americana

    This is a movie that holds a special place in many people's hearts, and is a favorite of people who don't normally enjoy musicals...this must be because the story is so funny and the performances are still so fresh. The film is an accidental time capsule of sorts, as it depicts so beautifully the early part of twentieth century small-town life. Beautiful to see, hear and share.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic Musical

    This is a great musical! I first saw it in my early 20's and I am pleased it is still available. My wife never saw the movie so we are looking forward to receiving our copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best musicals of all time!

    Definately one of my all time favorites - it can't be beat for excellance of performance, production values, and plain enjoyment. If you don't have a smile of your face at the end of this movie, you're probably dead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Professor Harold Hill stays to face the music of 76 trombones.

    Yes, my friends, we got trouble. Right here in River City. Professor Harold Hill (the sensational Robert Preston) has come to sell musical instruments and uniforms and lessons, only he doesn't know one note from another. So what does he do? He makes trouble. Right here in River City. He makes trouble for the mayor (Paul Ford) by urging the townspeople to boycott his pool hall. He makes trouble for the mayor's wife (Hermione Gingold) and her school board ladies by urging them to sing with the barbershop quartet. He makes trouble for Winthrop (yes, it's Ron(ny) Howard) by urging him to sing songs with S's in them (he's got a TERRIBLE lithp!) He makes trouble for the boy's sister, Marian the librarian (Shirley Jones) by urging her to--well, as she tells her mother (Pert Kelton)--"you'll find it in Balzak." Now the professor's got trouble . . . but to look at the lovely Miss Jones, it's really no trouble at all. [filmfactsman]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sweet and Comedic

    This is definitely one of my favorites. The music really sticks with you. I've gotten teased about it because I coincidentally share a name with the composer! Anyway, this is a very funny musical, and it keeps you entertained. :) Robert Preston and Shirley Jones did an excellent job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Music Mania!

    The Music Man is the best musical movie I think any one has heard! Not only that but I think its the greatest movie ever! I watch it every week! You can never get to old to watch The Music man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Never Gets Old

    This is truly a terrific masterpiece. This film (based on the musical by Meredith Willson) is about a con man named Harold Hill who always tries to lead a boy's band. He comes to River City, Iowa and falls in love with the librarian. Don't even bother renting this movie, because once you see it you'll want to watch it again and again. Forget the Disney version, this film is way better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MUSIC MAN ROCKS!!!!

    Hello! Ok. I am 13 years old and The Music Man is my favorite musical of all time. I did it as a school play in May 2003. Since, then I've been in love with it. I really recomend it to anyone who likes musicals. If you saw the Disney version on ABC this one is A LOT better. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Different and Cute.

    When watching the Music Man for the first time, you will see the difference in it from the other musicals. The difference is, it takes place in a town, which is small, and has not had anything exciting come there. This salesman comes, and charms the town, and even the librarian. The songs, are catchy, and very well known if you hear them. Like the famous one, ''Till There Was You.'' Which was made later by the Beatles. The reason why I took a star off, is because, I cannot stand the song ''Shapoopi''. I find it utterly anoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Get the real thing

    If all you know about Wilson's ''The Music Man'' is based on the TV version, buy this disc. From set design, choreography and costuming to the brilliant soprano of Shirley Jones, you can't beat this for entertainment. Why ABC didn't air this masterpiece, instead of demean it with a cheap copy, is beyond belief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BARBER SHOP HARMONIES

    Reading the other reviews, no one seems to be focusing on the great barber shop quartet in the film and their contribution to its success. Playing the role of the city's councilmen attempting to get Prof. Hill's credentials, the group adds a constant musical background to the film that will have you bouncing in your seat during the movie. Their version of ''Lida Rose'' will have you humming it the next day, guaranteed. Robert Preston has never been better as con man/Professor Harold Hill, especially with his showstopping song, ''Trouble.'' Forget the TV version and see the original!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not too Shabby for Shirley

    This musical is a classic. I have never seen it performed as well as it was on the video. It was korny at some parts but it held it weight to earn 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Way beyond a musicial.

    This movie is flawless on about five levels,you just cant get sick of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You Ought To Give The Music Man A Try

    I have seen The Music Man many times over and every time I watch I'm amazed at the talent and hard work that went into creating this remarkable movie. Every generation can watch this musical and appreciate the humor, wit and charm of America's best-loved con artist, Professor Harold Hill, as he steals the hearts and pocketbooks of River City, Iowa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2