Customer Reviews for

The Nanny - Season 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Haven't seen this show in years.

    This is a pretty funny show with one hilarious moment after another. Niles is awesome. Haven't seen all the episodes but finally decided to see the show from the beginning. Still funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Show!

    I remember watching this show as a little kid and recently started watching it again on Nick at Nite. It's chalked full of great humor and wonderful actors/actresses. If you want a good laugh, check out The Nanny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Nanny

    This is truly a comedy gem for all. Fran Drescher heads a cast of wonderful characters that blend together perfectly. This makes each program enjoyable because of the excellent chemistry between them. And the absence of commercials is an added bonus. So,for a fun filled evening,sit back and enjoy a few episodes. It may just tickle your funny bone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Poor Quality Discs Affect Viewing Pleasure

    Great series, but the discs froze during a couple of episodes during the first playing. It would freeze at the same place upon subsequent playings. Other than that an entertaining Fran Drescher is fabulous with a wonderful supporting cast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nanny Season 1 is very enjoyable.

    Nanny Season 1 was a delight to see again. After so many years we tend to forget the first episode. These episodes can be watched over and over and we still laugh out right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fran Drescher is hysterical.

    This is great to watch if you're a little down in the dumps. Laughter is the best medicine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Show

    Classic - I didn't watch it when it was on but when it was on re-runs, and wish I didn't miss out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    CAN'T BELIEVE IT IS FINALLY ON DVD!!!!!

    I am so glad that "The Nanny" is on DVD. My mom and I watch this show together and just laugh at all of the humorous things that Fran does. The Nanny is just a fun and clean show that people can enjoy and you can always guarantee that you will laugh your head off every time you turn it on. Now we can watch it anytime that we want, since Lifetime isn't airing it as much each day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Nanny is the BEST

    Fran Drescher is the best actress. I agree with another reviewer, she is a little Lucy, a little Laura Petrie, and all Fran!!! Everything that Fran has done has been wonderful!! She is beautful and very talented. Her boss/the husband, Maxwell Shefffield is so handsome -- even in Days of Our Lives --. Niles and C.C. are perfect for each other, and in the earlier episodes, you could see the sexual and attraction to one another. The childred, Maggie, Brighton, and Grace and great. I loved watching them grow up and become their own person. Fran -- the character -- did a wonderful job raising them. Sylvia reminds me so much of my mother -- not all the eating, but the way she constanly wants me to get married -- and I love her!! Fran could not have had a better mother!! Yetta was great. She was fantastic as Milly on the Dike Van Dyke Show and shw was great and Fran's grandmother especially when she was engaged to Sammy. They were great together. Val -- the airheaded best friend....what can I say about her? There was/is none like her. She was a wonderful best friend for Fran. I hated to see this show end. But I am glad of the DVD coming out!! Thanks for great TV!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gotta Love Fran!

    I was not a "The Nanny" fan when the show was actually airing but loving the movie "Beautician and the Beast" made me rethink the show. I had been catching the reruns of late and find the show exceptionally funny!! I especially love the love/hate relationship between Niles and CC. I ordered this DVD not sure I would enjoy it all that much I was dead wrong! I have been through disc 1 (season 1) and love it! Because I didn't see any of these shows when they originally aired they are hilarious!! I am taking my time viewing disc 2 in anticipation of more seasons becoming availiable. Since I am a native New Yorker, spent 20 years in Flushing it is especially funny to me. Fran reminds me so much of my Aunt Jeanie!! (except for the wardrobe!) Very funny stuff!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Nanny

    The Nanny Is the greatest show that been on in a long time. Fran Drescher is outstanding with the rest of the cast

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally! The Nanny on DVD!

    I have loved this show since the pilot aired years ago. Fran Drescher is outstanding in this role. She is a little Lucy, a little Laura Petrie, and uniquely Fran. The cast plays well to her blue collar essence in an Upstairs Downstairs environment. In later seasons, the characters of Niles, CC, Sylvia, Yetta, and Val are used even more effectivelyThe final season is my favorite. I am thrilled to finally see the first season in its entirety and sequentially. That is something I miss on Lifetime. I do wish that those in charge of airing syndicated series TV would air the episodes in order, just a pet peeve of mine. Also, there are at least two additional scenes or more accurately, comments in each episode that have never been seen before. This is a funny, heart warming show. If you enjoy comedy and romance, you will love this DVD set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's Finally Coming on DVD!

    Oh my gosh, The Nanny is my absolute favorite show. I watch it everyday day on lifetime. I am so excited I can't until July 12!Fran Drescher is so awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Nanny Is The Best

    I am so glad they are finally putting The Nanny on DVD. If it weren't for Lifetime showing it, I don't know what I'd do. I recommend this to anyone who wants to have a good laugh and enjoy a relaxing evening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally

    I have been waiting for seven years for this to come on to dvd. I love The Nanny and I know everyone who buys the dvd will love her too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2