Customer Reviews for

The New World

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabulous Historical Feature!

    As a frequent visitor to Jamestown, Virginia and the surrounding area, I was drawn to this film . I was hardly disappointed as it seems many were. The direction of the film spared no expense to detail and excitement. The actors are top notch. One may say this is not an historically accurate movie. It certainly can provoke one to find more to study on the subject of Jamestown and the historical characters. This feature was exciting , romantic and beautifully directed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I have not seen any others of Terrence Malick's films, but this movie has encouraged me to rent them.It seems as if he pays attention to every little detail,and he has done a wonderful job.The New World has some of the best cinematography I have ever seen.It shows the present and everlasting(hopefully)beauty of the American landscape, at the same time showing the primitive and non-destructive ways of the Native Americans.It is not an action-packed film for those who are looking for a thriller.It's a beautiful classic film that can be appreciated for its intricacies and sensuality.The music composed by James Horner gave me chills and only added to the effect of this beautiful movie.Even though it is dramatized,it was not filmed for historical accuracy-who cares how it really went?!Appreciate it for what it is.Bravo Terrence Malick.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not mallick's best, but still great

    If you went into the theater expecting a historical drama it is understandable that you might be dissapointed. Because, although the setting has historical importance and the main characters are writ large in the pages of history the subject of the movie is not the sweep of these figures' place in history or their effect upon it. Instead it focuses on their very intimate and intense relationship, from the fresh excitment of new love, which is portrayed excellently both by Ms. Kilcher and Mr. Farrel, to the despair of loss and the resignment and quiet renewal that comes with having to continue life after love. In my opinion the third most prominant actor in this movie is the location (no offense to Mr. Bale), and Mallick uses it brilliantly both in its symbolism as well as in its very real presence in the lives of the characters, a theme which has always been in his movies, but has reached its apex in The New World. This isn't a movie about the mystique or myth of two important figures in history, it is a movie about the arc of a relationship and how it is simultaneously nurtured and assaulted by the world in which these two people live. And in that way this is a great film.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Of American sensuality

    If there is a film of American sensuality, this is the film. Terrence Malick documents the beautiful Pocahantas in her lush, virgin territory much like her. Is the North Ammerican wilderness a symbol for Pocahantas?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not as great as the Trailer makes it seem

    This movie ran very slow, slow enough to make me fall asleep in the theater. To me it was a boring and a huge dissapointment. Pochahontas's name wasn't even mentioned once in English or Her native tounge, if I recall correctly which really had me assuming who that character was "I figured it out with her relationship with John Smith, which did not completely keep me in the dark on this particular subject". Additionally, there was only about 2 scenes that kept me entertained. Overall, wasn't worth my money or time to sit and watch this film. Take my word on it, Disney's Pochahontas was a heck of a lot better than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Artistic, but not much else...

    Though this movie looked wonderfully, and there were many creative elements to it, like the narratives. Everything else was basically lacking. The dialouge was weak, the story was boring and left much to be desired. Could have been done much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding

    Wow...an absolutely fantastic movie!I loved every second of it and the music is spectacular.Definitely worth the three or so hours in length. Colin Farrell managed to make himself seem genuinely in love while Q'Orianka Kilcher gave a stellar Oscar-worthy performance,and Christian Bale was...well, he was Christian Bale(hot and awesome!).The plot and characters managed to bring many tears to my eyes,however, it's not a tear-jerker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spectacular!

    I loved this movie! Ever since I was little I have always been intersted in the life of Pocahontas. I was overly ecstatic when I heard a LIVE ACTION adaption on the subject of Jamestown and the settlers and natives. So I rented it (because it wasn't playing in theaters) and loved it! The only problem I have with it is that the whole John Smith/Pocahontas thing was a little too much considering their age differences but oh it was great! My brother thought it was very boring and I admit it is rather slow, but still! Q'Orianka Kilcher did a WONDERFUL preformance as Pocahontas and surprisingly Collin Farell actually did pretty well, too. The music was beautiful (Thanks James Horner!) and the cinematography and scenery was lovely. Please, see this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cinematic Beauty

    As he has done before in "The Thin Red Line," Terence Malick creates a motion picture that encaptivates you. From the beginning sequence of the arrival of the ships, played to the tune of James Horner's beautiful score to the end scenes in England, Malick directs a stellar cast. The cinematography speaks for itself, often times over the narration. Colin Farrell is great. This film defines poetic cinema.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great film!

    Wonderful movie! Saw it in the theater and then immediately bought it on DVD. Any fan of Terence Malick will love it. Even Colin Farrell was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Captivating

    A good movie, that its historically accurate romantic. Loved it so much I Watched it 4 times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Warhol's "Sleep" was more entertaining

    A review in a word? Yawn! This is the film you buy for people when you want to impress them about how arty and turned on you are - but secretly, you hate them and want them to die. 'The New World' would have to be the most excruciatingly boring film in the English speaking language. Its only plus is the pretty scenery, but if you want pretty trees and water, go camping! The acting is abysmal, the dialogue, what little there is, is inane sophomoric poetry reading tripe. The music is pretentious or non-existant. What about the plot? There's a plot? Something about some rather plain looking 15 year old 'earth-child' falling for some grubby, self-loathing 30 year old English fop. And the climax? Artistic treasures like this don't need low-brow climaxes. And you get all this and more. And more. And more. Malick just doesn't know when to say "Cut!" Dull, boring, tedious, indulgent, irritating, self-serving, politically-correct drivel. Just the sort of rubbish your teacher will force upon you to study in Literature or History class.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eh.. I don't recommend it

    It is a beautiful movie but is hardly historically accurate at all and it is a bit hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The New World

    This is the story of the history behind the New World and of John Smith and Pocahontas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    terrible movie w/no direction

    was there no director for this movie. i feel like they mixed up the reels. this is a movie i really looked forward to and in my humble opinion, it was garbage. all i could see was people running around in circles. all in all, a very bad movie with little or no direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Only 1 star for this one

    This movie had the potential to be another Last of the Mohicans, or so I was hoping anyway. But this movie squandered any potential it might have had. It's so boring I couldn't watch the 2nd half. Snoozefest, stay away from this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wondeful and captivating film

    Incredible movie! Anyone who is familiar and enjoys any of Terence Malick's other films will not be disappointed. Easily one of this years best pictures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2