Customer Reviews for

The Nightmare Before Christmas

Average Rating 5
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jack Rocks!

    Okay, I'm talking about a cartoon character that bears a slight resemblance to Ichabod Crane. Well, I doubt sincerely that old Ichabod, or the Headless Horseman, for that matter, can belt out a tune like good old Jack can. Danny Elfman is so extraordinary as Jack Skelington, a resident of Halloween town. It seems every one relies on Jack to hold them all together- even the dopey Mayor. Now, I am not usually a huge fan of Halloween in the first place(imagine that!),but, this movie is an exception to all rules. Who would of thought Santa and the Bogey Man would have a run-in? No matter how many times you watch this movie, I guarantee, you will find something new to see each time. My third son had to watch this every single day, as it was one of his favorite movies, along with the original "Jurassic Park". Strange thing was, he was only 1 year-old at the time! They say kids know.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Remember - This is Amazing Stop-Action Animation!

    Frankly, I didn't pay much attention to this movie when it first came out. I wasn't (then) a Tim Burton fan, and the whole premise didn't excite me. Then, several years ago I saw the transformation of the the Haunted Mansion in Disneyland (an almost complete &quot ride-through&quot of which is included as a bonus feature) and I was hooked. Finally, with the release of the BlueRay disc I have been able to see the movie. What a TREAT I have been missing for all these years! The one thing that stands out in particular (this being from somewhat of an &quot animation geek&quot ) is remembering that this is NOT CGI work (such as the Pixar films) this is all stop-animation. These are all actual 3-dimentional sets, with 3 dimentional puppets figures. For people not familiar with this technique, every character on camera is posed and a single frame of film is shot. Each character is then moved a fraction of an inch and another frame is shot. Repeat this about 110,000 times and you have this film. AMAZING! The technical virtuosity notwithstanding, the imagry, music, and story are all a perfect blend. Technically, the digital transfer video and audio are top of the line. I can find NOTHING wrong with this disc. Buy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Ever feel like its Halloween every day? Ever feel like you could

    Ever feel like its Halloween every day? Ever feel like you could bring your dog back to life? For Christmas to appear? In the movie the nightmare before Christmas jack skellington the pumpkin king, is the master of Halloween , till he falls into Christmas land and find what Christmas is all about. Now to turn Halloween into Christmas he must get Santa clause to agree to help. Will he make it work or will everything burn to the ground?

    Follow jack, sally, and zero on the trip to turn Halloween into Christmas. Tim Burton is the craziest directors and film makers. All of his movies his movies are dark and you could watch one clip of his movies and know it was movies. His characters are the biggest part of his movies. All of his characters are dark. His animated characters are a big part of this movie and a couple of his other movies as well. His animated characters are the coolest characters. Burton can turn them into real characters. The voice of jack skellington is played by Chris Sarandon and the voice of sally is played by Catherine O’Hara they both did an amazing job at playing those parts.

    The music in this movie all has to do with the scenes. When jack falls into Christmas land he doesn’t know what anything is. All of a sudden he starts singing about everything he sees. It’s different from Halloween town. “There are children throwing snowballs/instead of throwing heads. They’re building toys and absolutely no one’s dead” this is a line in the song he sees them throwing snowballs instead of throwing head. Once again different from Halloween town. Now he knows what goes on.

    The rating of this movie is PG. I can kind of see why you would have it as PG because of graphics in this movie. This movie is not good for kids under 8 years old. I mean they kidnap Santa clause. It’s the perfect movie for either Christmas or Halloween.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spooks, Skeletons, and Screams.

    A favorable review: great for people that enjoy Halloween and "scary" fun. *A "fright fest" of Halloween happenings. *Screaming good fun. Ghouls and ghosts go "wild" once Jack, the protagonist, falls into the Christmas door. Surprise! Halloween meets Christmas. Trick-or-treaters have a "spirited" time when they "meet" Santa Claus. Ride in a coffin and see the Oogie Boogie Man while on this adventure. You'll have a hallowing good time - LOL! The Nightmare Before Christmas is good for ages eight or nine and above.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Simply Cannot Get Enough

    This has been my favorite film for quite some time. It tells the story of Jack Skellington, a creature no longer satisfied by Halloween. He goes off looking for something new, and finds Christmas. In the process of making Christmas his own, he nearly ruins everything and learns his lesson, a lesson that I'll let you interpret.

    Woven throughout the story is a tale of romance, longing, acceptance, and mischief, all strung beautifully together by the voice and music of Danny Elfman. Although it was wonderfully directed by Henry Selick, the credit for the story goes to Tim Burton, and this one ranks up there with Edward Scissorhands and Beetlejuice in its originality.

    It's a catchy film, and keeps your interest held tight all the way though. Though it may not be the most thought-provoking of tales, it certainly is a joy to watch if you're in the mood for something dark, but beautiful and magical at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nightmare Before Christmas

    I finally bought this on DVD and got the free iTunes download. I carry this on my iPod and watch it whenever the traffic on Madison Ave slows down. (It makes the bus ride bearable.) This will become one of my yearly holiday standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Music is catchy

    One of my all time favorite Tim Burton movies..... Love this movie and all the songs !! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jack and Sally

    Man...this happens to be my favorite movie from Tim Burton...jack is just the coolest character...I love sally, zero, lock shock and barrel. The whole movie is just awesome...Tim Burton is a master at creating things like this....and for those of you who Nightmare Before Christmas....have to see it in 3D!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely adore this film

    Being a big Tim Burton fan myself, this is truly my favorite. Danny Elfman and Tim Burton are a genius pair and enjoy everything they put out. I am so pleased to be able offer our collection those who appreciate the haunting yet captivating story and musical score. <BR/><BR/>http://www.clocktowntoys.ecrater.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i love this movie

    i love this movie i have the complete villige of halloween town most rare to find i have lots of collections of this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Insanely addicted

    I've been addicted to this movie since it was first released. My addiction has turned into a passion. Once I got my husband hooked on it...it was all over. The Disneyland event is amazing and we go every year. <BR/>We started collecting Limited Edition Numbered NBC items in about 1994. Some of our items you can not find anywhere, unless you're an Ebayer and willing to shell out $$$$. We have friends,family and strangers come to our house on Halloween, as whe have the giant inflatables in the yard. Our has has been taken over by NBC. We figure it's now our retirement fund. <BR/><BR/>This movie is a cult classic and rightly so. Everyone should watch NBC at least ONCE in their lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Love This movie!

    I have to say that I have seen this movie a lot! I really love it! It just just on of those movies that you can't hate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    jack skellington is here to stay.

    one of tim burtons best. my son and I watch it over and over, it never gets boring. my son is the biggest nightmare fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Missing Verse In &quot This is Halloween&quot

    I love this movie to death i can recite the whole thing.. but one thing i noticed about the digitally remastered collectors edition is that during the first opening song &amp quot This is Halloween at the part when sallys brushing her hair it misses a verse?! i still cant find out why!! if you find out why contact me at my email adress posted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You Rock Jack Skellington!

    The Nightmare Before Christmas is fantastic! and guess what?, This is Halloween! and by the way, You rock Jack Skellingotn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWSOME!!!

    I was rivited by this movie,even though it is older than me.This really is my favorite movie and I even prefer this movie over any Jack Spearow movies!!!The Nightmare Before Chrismas is the best movie ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic

    I haven't seent the whole movie, But from what I have seen, I loved! I love the music and it inspires me. I also saw Corpse bride, another Tim Burton Film, it was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best love story ever told!

    I personally love this movie, as much as a person can love a movie without going insane. It's perfect, it's good for kids, has the most delightful of songs, and is the most romantic story ever told. most people say that romeo and juliet is the best love story ever told, but i have to disagree. to me this will warm you're heart so much you could die. it really is tooo good to be true. which is why it's a kids film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Definitely a good one!

    Tim Burton really brought this movie out like no one else could have if you ask me. This is one movie that I will always love. I can't wait to see Corpse Bride (also by Tim Burton)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a little weird but...... AWSOME!

    cool! Yes, it is a little odd, but it's Tim Burton, what do you excpect? It is not a very POSITIVE movie but I still reccamend it to any one who likes Tim Burton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8