Customer Reviews for

The Notebook

Average Rating 4.5
( 255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Movie

I loved this movie. it was so cute in the begging and throughout it was very well made!!!!

posted by 3426789 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

pathetic glorification of adultery

This movie is a pure hollywood acceptance of cheating and adultery. Just because something is cute does not make it good. If I acted upon every romantic possibility then i would have cheated much in my life. The way that rachel McAdams lies to her fiance the night befor...
This movie is a pure hollywood acceptance of cheating and adultery. Just because something is cute does not make it good. If I acted upon every romantic possibility then i would have cheated much in my life. The way that rachel McAdams lies to her fiance the night before she cheats on him just made my skin cringe. Looking past the awful plot it was done reasonably well. That is hollywood for you. The budget was there for a worthless movie. This movie will go down as the ultimate glorification of adultery. the fact that so many people enjoy teh film makes me wonder about american society. It would be okay for me to return to my high school sweetheart because we never had closure. hmmmmm.... interesting. Cheating is cheating and lying is even worse.

posted by johnnyme on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    pathetic glorification of adultery

    This movie is a pure hollywood acceptance of cheating and adultery. Just because something is cute does not make it good. If I acted upon every romantic possibility then i would have cheated much in my life. The way that rachel McAdams lies to her fiance the night before she cheats on him just made my skin cringe. Looking past the awful plot it was done reasonably well. That is hollywood for you. The budget was there for a worthless movie. This movie will go down as the ultimate glorification of adultery. the fact that so many people enjoy teh film makes me wonder about american society. It would be okay for me to return to my high school sweetheart because we never had closure. hmmmmm.... interesting. Cheating is cheating and lying is even worse.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one very lame movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one very seriously lame boring movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one long boring movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    boring from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one very lame boring movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one very lame boring movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Wow, I did not see that twist ending coming at me ten thousand miles away. That just totally crept on me. This movie is like suffocating on a giant teddy-bear-shaped marshmallow of cuteness and sap. You will need to watch five Jodorowsky films in order to be able to resume breathing properly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Notebook

    This movie was way to girly, I think it is and I am a girl! Its so sappy and mushy-gushy. Ryan Gossling is cute, but that's the only good part of this movie! Well, I didn't like it and its so slow and boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this show was a bad idea

    this movie was not good. every one told me how good it was and i finaly watched it with my girlfriend. i went into it trying to give it a chance and it was terrible! who cares if the guy didnt might not have gotten the girl. he was un interesting and dumb. he was not the good guy, he was just dumb. the girl was not great and she was a hooker. she slept with the star when she was engaged to the only good person in this movie, the new guy. this movie was unbeleivable, un interesting and idiotic. i hope the stars are reading this cause your not good at acting. get a job at pizza hut and hopefully you make pizza better than you act. please, stop making movies, all of you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a big disappointment

    I was so excited when I first sat down to watch it. but honestly, about 20 minutes into the movie, and I wanted it to stop there. It was boring and I didn't exactly feel the love that everybody seemed to be talking about. It was supposed to be a whole 2-hour movie that was supposed to make me cry, but honestly I felt more love between connie nielson and russell crowe in gladiator, which is not even a love story. Their 5-minute passionate kiss made me feel there was more love there than there was in the two hour movie of the notebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    :( Samantha who does not like this movie

    I expected more from this movie. The book is much better and is more romantic, original, and is more realistic. I loved the book and then I saw the movie and I was like what?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lame

    This movie was really lame. C'mon the acting was terrible!! Especially that guy who played Noah. And when Allie was with Lon she was just as happy, if not happier than when she was with Noah. Read the book instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow, what a horrible movie

    Wow, this movie was absolutley terrible. The plot was nauseating, the lead characters were flighty and stupid, and the screenplay was so formulaic that I knew what was going to happen in the first five minutes. The only redeeming quality was the end, for all those determined watcgh the movie and see what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1