BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Notebook

Average Rating 4.5
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

As usual, Sparks doesn't disappoint with "The Notebook"

As usual, Sparks doesn't disappoint with "The Notebook" as he weaves the tale of two teenagers, Noah and Allie, who meet one fateful summer and fall in love. Since the course of true love is never smooth, it should come as no surprise that Allie's parents do n...
As usual, Sparks doesn't disappoint with "The Notebook" as he weaves the tale of two teenagers, Noah and Allie, who meet one fateful summer and fall in love. Since the course of true love is never smooth, it should come as no surprise that Allie's parents do not approve of her relationship with Noah. He does not have the education, money, or social prominence they wish for their daughter. Allie and her parents move away and Noah writes to her for years, but after never receiving an answer gives up. WWII comes, lives change, but one thing remains constant---neither Allie nor Noah can forget the other. As Noah's friend Gus tells him, first love changes your life forever and no matter what else happens in your life, the memory of it stays with you. And so it is that fourteen years later and three weeks before her wedding, Allie finds herself driving to New Bern to find Noah for reasons she herself does not fully understand. Their reunion proves once again that they are true soul-mates, but it that enough? Can Allie forsake the "perfect mate" who has not only her love but also the approval of her parents? Can she walk out on Noah for a second time? Will Noah let her go? The story then skips to the nursing home where an 80-year old Noah resides and spends his time reading poetry to his fellow residents. But down the hall is a very special woman. The reader will be overcome with emotion as this relationship unfolds and the missing pieces of Noah and Allie's story are revealed in the notebook he carries with him. Intensely romantic and a tribute to the power of true love. A True tear jerker.

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on August 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

pathetic glorification of adultery

This movie is a pure hollywood acceptance of cheating and adultery. Just because something is cute does not make it good. If I acted upon every romantic possibility then i would have cheated much in my life. The way that rachel McAdams lies to her fiance the night befor...
This movie is a pure hollywood acceptance of cheating and adultery. Just because something is cute does not make it good. If I acted upon every romantic possibility then i would have cheated much in my life. The way that rachel McAdams lies to her fiance the night before she cheats on him just made my skin cringe. Looking past the awful plot it was done reasonably well. That is hollywood for you. The budget was there for a worthless movie. This movie will go down as the ultimate glorification of adultery. the fact that so many people enjoy teh film makes me wonder about american society. It would be okay for me to return to my high school sweetheart because we never had closure. hmmmmm.... interesting. Cheating is cheating and lying is even worse.

posted by johnnyme on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    As usual, Sparks doesn't disappoint with "The Notebook"

    As usual, Sparks doesn't disappoint with "The Notebook" as he weaves the tale of two teenagers, Noah and Allie, who meet one fateful summer and fall in love. Since the course of true love is never smooth, it should come as no surprise that Allie's parents do not approve of her relationship with Noah. He does not have the education, money, or social prominence they wish for their daughter. Allie and her parents move away and Noah writes to her for years, but after never receiving an answer gives up. WWII comes, lives change, but one thing remains constant---neither Allie nor Noah can forget the other. As Noah's friend Gus tells him, first love changes your life forever and no matter what else happens in your life, the memory of it stays with you. And so it is that fourteen years later and three weeks before her wedding, Allie finds herself driving to New Bern to find Noah for reasons she herself does not fully understand. Their reunion proves once again that they are true soul-mates, but it that enough? Can Allie forsake the "perfect mate" who has not only her love but also the approval of her parents? Can she walk out on Noah for a second time? Will Noah let her go? The story then skips to the nursing home where an 80-year old Noah resides and spends his time reading poetry to his fellow residents. But down the hall is a very special woman. The reader will be overcome with emotion as this relationship unfolds and the missing pieces of Noah and Allie's story are revealed in the notebook he carries with him. Intensely romantic and a tribute to the power of true love. A True tear jerker.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Movie

    I loved this movie. it was so cute in the begging and throughout it was very well made!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Notebook: Tantalizing

    This movie taken from a novel by Nicholas Sparks is everything you would want it to be. It's romance at it's best. It's a look into a lifetime of love through the eyes of an aging couple and done with supurb acting on the parts of everyone involved. One of my very favorites!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!!!

    The movie The Notebook is by far one of my favorite movies that I own. It is a very romantic movie that plays on all your emotions. You can feel the love build between Noah and Ally as they start spending more time together throughout the summer, you can feel the hatred for Ally's parents as you watch them try to come between Ally and Noah, and you cannot help but cry at the ending because it is so sweet! The Notebook is definitely a chick flick, but it is not too over the top, so it is a movie that guys can also enjoy. I know many guys that have watched and really liked this movie. Girls, this is a movie that will leave you wanting and wishing for a prince charming to come and sweep you up off your feet, just like Noah did to Ally.
    The Notebook is about Ally, a rich girl from the city, who spends her summer in the south and meets Noah, a poor southern boy. During the first half of the movie you watch as Ally and Noah fall more and more in love and as the summer goes on they start spending every waking hour together. Ally's parents see the budding romance between Ally and Noah and try to come between them because they do not like Noah. You watch in horror as her parents manage to split them up at the end of the summer and you end up hating them for what they did to Ally and Noah. However, years later Ally and Noah find each other again and their love is ignited once again.
    The acting by Rachel McAdams, Ryan Gosling, James Garner, and Gena Rowland is phenomenal. They were able to get into their roles so well and really draw you into the movie. The portrayal of their different emotions really helps you to feel what they are feeling.
    The movie is rated PG 13 and I feel that it is a fair rating. There are a few intense love scenes and I do not think that these scenes would be appropriate for someone under 13. A little later in the film there is also a scene about the war that I would not recommend for someone under 13, as it is a little graphic.
    The Notebook is based off the novel written by Nicholas Sparks. Not having read the novel myself, I am not sure how well they go together. A sound track was released with the movie and it seems to be put together fairly well. The DVD comes with two disks, one that is the full screen version and a second that is the wide screen version and has all the special features. The special features include twelve deleted scenes with the optional director commentary and the option to watch the movie with commentary from the director and the author, Nicholas Sparks.
    All in all this is a great movie for a day that you want a romantic movie. I would recommend it to anyone!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Sweet Story

    What a touching movie...I watched with my teenage granddaughter and she liked it as well as I did. Good clean entertainment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    truly extravagant,its really worth watching over and over again.

    truly extravagant,its really worth watching over and over again...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Notebook

    Ah,the classic movie that everyone has watched or has heard about,So utterly romantic and touching and also so heartbreaking.A beautiful story of two unlikely loves and how they overcame everything,The last part where Noah as an old man reads their story to a dementia stricken Allie and having her finally remember was so sweet but the moment she forgot,it was so heart shattering for Noah and the watchers.I can now see why the notebook was so significant.Nicholas Sparks never disappoints when it comes to real romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OMG THE BEST EVER

    THIS IS THE BEST LOVE STORY EVER. THIS IS MY FAVORITE MOVIE. THE WAY NOAH LOVED ALLY WAS UNCONDITIONAL. MY BOYFRIEND DOESNT LIKE ROMANCE MOVIES BUT THIS IS ONE ROMANCE MOVIE THAT HE WILL WATCH WITH ME. BE SURE TO HAVE THE BOX OF TISSUES WHEN YOU WATCH THIS MOVIE. I CAN WATCH THIS MOVIE OVER AND OVER AND STILL SHED TEARS EVERY TIME I SEE IT. YOU WILL LOVE IT. THE CHARACTERS, THE PLOT, IT ALL WORKED TOGETHER.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST SEE!!!

    This is by far one of my favorite romance movies. This movie is incredibly romantic, from the beginning till end. I cried my eyes out with the end though. This movie is a must have in your movie collection. The movie is basically a Romeo and Juliette in the 1940s. Ally a rich girl from the city falls in love with a poor, southern boy, named Noah. After their intense romance in the summer Ally's parents forbid her to see him. But their love is too strong to be shattered. It's not until seven years do they rekindle their love.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "The Notebook"

    This is the BEST love story ever! Very emotional with the use of all feelings of happiness, anger, sadness, etc. The film was so well portrayed and acted out that one would think it was based on a true story. Brilliant acting by everyone!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    I gave this to 2 of my daughters. It is my favorite movie. My 1 daughter could never catch it on tv when her husband was not home. Now she can watch it anytime. My other daughter love it also

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a real tear-jerker and a MUST SEE if you believe in true love

    If you have a dry eye at the end of this movie, you would have to be stone cold. I've seen grown (and young) men cry at this movie (I love a guy who isn't afraid to express his true emotions - a real man). Although the story focuses mostly on the main couple in their youthful years, it is the portion of the movie about the couple in their sunset years that will make your lips quiver and your eyes shed a tear (or more). I think most anyone would like to experience a love like this in their lifetime, a truly passionate and un-dying love. And that KISS...hell yeah, that kiss... watch the movie and you'll know EXACTLY what I'm talking about!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I am a romantic at heart

    My wife has left me for reasons she knows best, but little does she know this is how I would take care of her till my dying breath. Some day she may realize this again before it's to late. This will be her last Christmas present from me, but hopefully she can shake the memories of her past to come home once more.<BR/>Love RJB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    -sighs-

    If only love like this was easy to find. This movie was AMAZING! I can watch it over & over again until I can't anymore. I have to say I wish I read the book before watching it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lovely!

    This is one of those rare times that I enjoyed the movie better than the book. A beautiful story with warm characters. Keep the tissues near by, you might need them. The best love story out there right now! Snuggle up with a loved one, or alone, and enjoy.<BR/>Check out The Wedding by Nicolas Sparks. It's a spin off of this story focusing on Noah and Ally's daughter and son-in-law.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Epic Love story.

    Talk about a mix of emotion in just one movie. I was laughing then crying then i actually got turned on the i was mad, and crying again. Great Movie, i really felt their love over the screen. Good buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Love Story Ever

    This is my favorite movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heart Warming

    This is the most heart warming movie I've seen in years. The cast was fantastic, what a combination of talented people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    the movie was outstanding. i loved it. if u haven't seen it you really need to. i rented it and now will be buying it and i can't stop watching it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Love It

    I love this movie and any time it's on tv I have to watch it. It's a sappy story perhaps, but its one of my favorites. Everyone enjoys a good romantic movie now and then! Yes, it may be predictable but it's a wonderful story that can make you cry for sure! There's not many people who haven't seen it, but if you haven't I definitely recommend it - you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10