Customer Reviews for

The Other Boleyn Girl

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!

I loved it. Great cast, great story and great costumes. IT was great to see this true story presented so vividly and so well. I highly recomend watching it. It never got dull for me to watch. When it was over I wanted to watch it again.

posted by jenn89 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The movie is not as good as the book...

The Other Boleyn Girl, by Philippa Gregory, was an amazing book. However, this movie based on the novel was disappointing.
Maybe it's because I know so much about the history of the Boleyn girls with Henry VIII that I am not too fond of this movie. Half of the facts ...
The Other Boleyn Girl, by Philippa Gregory, was an amazing book. However, this movie based on the novel was disappointing.
Maybe it's because I know so much about the history of the Boleyn girls with Henry VIII that I am not too fond of this movie. Half of the facts in the movie are incorrect, or at least incorrectly portrayed.
I know that most people don't purchase a movie because of it's historical correctness. But if you have read, and enjoyed, the book, then do not buy this movie. The discrepancies between the movie and the book are enormous, bigger than most. The movie follows Anne's pursuit of the king more than it does Mary's life and Mary's side of the story, which is what the book is all about. There is no portrayal whatsoever of the love between Mary and William Stafford, and the movie completely ignores the fact that Mary had a daughter as well as a son. Most of the information about Mary, and Mary's pursuit of, then avoidance of, the king are altogether ignored. The movie is so very different from the book that had I not already owned and read the book, I would have thought it a mere coincidence that both the movie and the book shared the same name.
The actors did a very good job. They all played their parts wonderfully and each seemed to meld with their characters. Natalie Portman played a beautiful and manipulative Anne Boleyn, and Scarlett Johansson was interesting to watch in her portrayal of Mary. The costumes were also very well adapted to the period and accurate. Had the cast been different, I think this movie would have tanked and been forgotten quickly, something an actor would leave off their resumes. But all these actors pulled this movie together wonderfully, to the point where I am almost willing to overlook aforementioned enormous discrepancies.
I applaud the cast, but not the script writers.

posted by L2TA on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!!

    I loved it. Great cast, great story and great costumes. IT was great to see this true story presented so vividly and so well. I highly recomend watching it. It never got dull for me to watch. When it was over I wanted to watch it again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Henry the VIII

    As a history buff and fan of romance novels I enjoy Philippa Gregory's books because they are so very entertaining. When the film was in theaters my daughter and I went to see it and really enjoyed it. Reading Gregory's novel as well as Weir's book and watching the movie makes for some interesting discussions about the film and the actual events.

    Eric Bana makes a very sexy Henry the VIII.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very interesting

    Even if it isn't historically accurate

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Idea!

    This movie was great! I enjoyed every bit of it. I loved how the story was told. It kept me interested. =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Other Boleyn Girl

    I love this movie!!!! It is so good in soo many different ways!!!! THIS IS A MUST SEE!!!! After i saw ths movie I did all of this reseach on the Boleyn's and stuff in this movie and it is soo interesting!!!! I LOVE THE OTHER BOLEYN GIRL!!!!!!!!!! watch this Movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    I absolutely love this movie...I can't get enough of it and woul

    I absolutely love this movie...I can't get enough of it and would love to now purchase the book and the dvd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Boleyn Sisters

    I liked this movie a lot because the actors played their parts so well. The storyline was captivating and let's face it, Eric Bana is HOT to look at. I will CAUTION that this movie is for older teens and adults due to it's sexual content and other elements. Other then that this is an enjoyable movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    PRETTY GOOD NOT BAD

    WELL ITS QUITE A GOOD MOVIE NOT THE BEST BUT STILL ONE OF THOSE MEDIVAL TIME MOVIES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Enjoyable...

    Although there are a lot of mixed reviews about the story, this is a very enjoyable movie. I have never been impressed by Scarlett Johansson until this movie, and Natalie Portman is good as always. So, two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    4 1/2 stars for this different take on a historical movie

    Some critics derided the focus this took on relationships and emotion as "soap opera," or others got stuck on the costume drama aspect and made very lame jokes about ripping bodices, but I was game to see a retelling of this piece of history that focused on some of the more minor players, and what the events portrayed _may have_ meant in their lives beyond the cool politics. I was really glad I listened to the positive reviews, because I think some critics really missed the point. This is not a documentary, A Man for All Seasons, or the Henry VIII productions for the BBC, nor does it try to be. It does try to imagine what _might_ have been behind a real life story of a family that managed to have two daughters in the bed of a King, with very different results. What was the motivation, and the human cost? Although the affairs between Henry Tudor and the Boleyn sisters are at the center of it, it is _not_ an overly romantic or sexual film, despite a couple of expected scene which are actually very tame. (So much for the ripping bodices!) The biggest romance is largely off-camera, and the most explored relationships are between family members. <BR/><BR/>I liked the dark and somewhat claustrophobic feel of some the picture, using unusual camera angles, shooting through screens, etc., but some may not! I also loved the muted palette, and the costume department's efforts to express ideas artistically, yet staying true to basics--even the not-so-appreciated gable hood! Visually, it is stunning and appropriate.<BR/><BR/>Kristin Scott Thomas and David Morrissey, as the mother and uncle of the girls, are my favorite supporting performances. Mark Rylance plays a suitably weaselly and grasping social-climber. Charming brother George (Jim Sturgess) was almost another lead, and I loved his performance here. Natalie Portman pulls off an enjoyable blend of villain and victim here. Scarlett Johansson does well as the placid and truthful Mary, and while sometimes it would have been nice to see more emotion, she shows her character's transitions very well. <BR/><BR/>The worst part of the film overall is that the sense of time is often lost, as events over years feel like mere months, or weeks, and it can feel rushed. I feel that over-editing is probably to blame more than the original script, as one fairly crucial scene was cut but can be seen on the DVD! Still, I felt that it did a decent job of condensing a tale this epic to under two hours, although it probably would have been better if the makers had been open to a longer film.<BR/><BR/> One casualty of this "short movie" approach is depth and range of the performances, especially the character of Henry VIII himself. The focus is on the lives of the two women, and it is understandable that he is not center stage, but we are given only a glimpse into the change from an amiable and intelligent, if overly proud, monarch into a suspicious and vengeful man. It was too bad, because I really liked Bana's realistic, understated portrayal of Henry, one of the few that doesn't caricature him as a fat chicken-chomping joker with a bad temper, or a hammy "I am a master THESPIAN!" performance. Given more time on screen, I think Bana could have done more with the part. Fuller treatment of Henry's transformation also would have made for a more interesting and possibly darker, more realistic, and less melodramatic film, really showing why some things happen (I won't add any spoilers).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    loook ive never seen the movie but honestly i do want to see it soo bad!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2