Customer Reviews for

The Outsider

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tim Daly Is Outstanding!!!!

    The Outsider earned its 5-star rating. I enjoyed this movie very much. It showed the hard and tenderness of Tim Daly of his role.The forbidden love in the Amish cultured beliefs.Tim Daly portrayed a man that had lived a hard life from an orphan to a man, that had no one in his life but himself until he meets Rebecca Yoder, Naomi Watts whom played a wonderful role . And then after she nurses him back to health, sparks of wanting someone really shows in his and her eyes when they look at each other. Not believing he deserves her. Whether its forbidden or not, he and Rebecca is willing to overcome their love for each other even being shunned by her family. This time Love ruled. I enjoyed this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Phenomenal

    This is an extraodinary movie! I, like others, was channel surfing and came upon this gem! Everything that is needed to turn a good movie into a great movie took place in The Outsider. The story line, the acting, the scenery, and the filming were outstanding. The interaction between all the actors was solid throughout the entire movie. Tom Selleck and Sam Elliot have been two of my most favorite western actors. I now add Tim Daly to the list to make it three!!! Tim's protrayal of 'Johnny' was stunning! His sincere love for 'Rebecca' was absolutely believable. There was tremendous chemistry between Tim and Naomi. I am definitely purchasing this movie. *The Outsider* is a treasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A really good western, and Tim Daly was incredible

    After seeing this movie by chance on cable, I ordered the DVD and the book the next day. The DVD is now one of my top 10 favorites! I hope Mr. Daly appears in more westerns, because he nailed this film. His drawl, appearance and acting were top notch. It would seem prudent for a production company to take note, and make more of this series or westerns starring Mr. Daly in the lines of some of Tom Selleck's westerns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GORGEOUS CINEMATOGRAPHY & GREAT CHEMISTRY

    At the risk of sounding like a copy cat I must say that I was channel surfing when I came across this movie and almost kept on going. Until some wonderful scenery came up and then very artful cinematography. I really was not that interested in the stars and am not a modern day western fan. But I was hooked. The film just got better and better. Tim Daly and Naomi Watts had the most incredible on screen chemistry! Tim Daly could've done the part without saying a word. His facial expressions and especially his eyes were wonderful and very expressive. I was totally surprised by this film. I just watched it for the second time and found more I love about it and ordered the DVD. I was trying to narrow down a scene to describe for its beauty. Won't even attempt to describe the chemistry. One scene had Naomi & Tim and Benjo(Naomi's son in the movie) in a horse driven wagon at twilight. All you could see was the black outline of them with the trees in the back ground and twilight sky. It was absolutely beautiful. Tim Daly was very sexy, tough, vulnerable, compasionate and tender. I imagine this film would appeal to many tastes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Western lover and a now Tim Daly fan

    As most everyone else has said I came across this movie by suprise. I almost turned it off at first,but when Tim Daly came in to the picture I got interested. I think if this movie had the publicity big movies have it would be well know. Tim Daly was amazing in this movie. He was very sexy and tough and touching all at once. I was very impressed with his preformance and over all the whole movie and cast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Remarkably Great, Sweet Western

    I too stumbled upon this Rough 'n Ready Saturday Western. I almost turned from it in the very beginning, but something made me keep looking. This was one of the best I have ever seen; believe me, I am a 1850's expert when it comes to westerns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A very sexy and sensitive story.

    I happened to view this film last night on the Hallmark Channel's Rough and Ready Saturday. As you can tell I am a western fan. Having read the novel "The Outsider" I wanted to see how this very sensual novel was interpreted in the movie. I was extremely pleased with the movie and in fact believe that it surpasses the novel in some ways. Tim Daley's performance was very sensitive and sexy. Daley and Naimi Watts were convincing as two very different people drawn together by love. In fact I plan to take a second look at some of his (Daley's) other work. The Caradine brothers were great as usual. I plan to purchase a DVD of this movie so I can share it with others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magnificent obsession

    Tim Daly touched my heart deeply in his role as The Outsider. Watching his reactions to Rebecca Yoder and her son Benjo's interactions, as mother and son, incited a longing in his soul to have had that kind of relationship with loving parents. He portrayed his character as a 'lost soul' so very hauntingly. I could feel his pain as he recites 'I don't belong anywhere, and I dont' trust no one'. He truly made his character come to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Naomi Watts and John Daly are a pair to remember.

    This is a movie I stumbled upon quite by accident. I had never heard of it before. I have watched it now twice and look forward to the third time. I have invited several friends to watch this with me and none of them have left dissapointed or unaffected by this superb piece of work. Photography, acting and directing blended together in a masterful combination which produced a stunningly beautiful and moving cinematic achievement. Bravo to John Daly and Naomi Watts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unexpected sleeper gem

    I came to see this movie by accident. It turned out to be something other than what I expected. I love this movie. There is a 'delicate' chemistry between Naomi Watts and Tim Daly that drives the film as they surmount the differences that threaten to keep them apart. The quiet relationshop that eventually develops between Watts' son and Daly is heart- warming to watch. I watch it every time it is aired. I also finally bought it. When the chance comes, see it. You will be pleasantly surprised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unexpected Find

    I came across this movie by chance, and it was an unexpected treasure. A well done romance, which worked mainly due to the two leads. If 'Angel and the Bad Man' (starring John Wayne) took the light-hearted approach to the story of a gunfighter being tamed by a Quaker woman, 'The Outsider' takes a more serious look at the inner struggles of the two characters who bridge the conflicting beliefs and upbringing and fall in love. Tim Daly was great as a gunfighter who slowly learns to trust another person, and Naomi Watts was wonderful as a Quaker widow who braves the scorn of her community for love. An excellent movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My All time Favorite Western!

    I am a true western movie fan. Out of all the movies I've had the pleasure to see, including all of the classics, I have to say that 'The Outsider' rates as one of my favorite all time movies! I was truly impressed with Tim Daly and have since become a big fan of his. His performance was outstanding! I would like to see him star in more western movies. He played the role superbly. I even went out and purchased the novel, but after seeing the movie, the book came in at a 'second'. Both David and Keith Carradine gave their usual good performances. I also enjoyed Naomi Watts portrayl of Rebecca Yoder (although in the book she was 'Rachel'). I highly recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys a good western. This movie was excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    Great Western,

    This was a great movie. It had everything , action , forbidden romance and drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1