BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Outsiders

Average Rating 5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I LUV THIS MOVIE!!!

THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE YOU WILL EVER WATCH. IT IS SAD, ROMANTIC, FUNNY, THE ACTING IS TERRFIC. YOU WILL FALL HEAD OVER HEALS FOR THIS MOVIE AS SOON AS YOU WATCH IT.

posted by iheartjohnny on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Potentially good story, but poor film editing

Although the DVD version has good performances and appealing stars, the storyline is so chopped up it's difficult to figure out what's going on. For example, it's only through a very brief flashback that we learn that the parents were killed. Are these kids raisin...
Although the DVD version has good performances and appealing stars, the storyline is so chopped up it's difficult to figure out what's going on. For example, it's only through a very brief flashback that we learn that the parents were killed. Are these kids raising themselves? Oh, just a minute, it appears the older brother has head-of-houseold responsibility, but this is not explained very well. A reference is made about the state social services department visiting the house to explain the custody situation, but that's it. Also, what's the source of the conflict with the soc crowd? Is it rich/poor? Social class snobbery? Seems these kids on both sides go to the same school, but there is not one single school scene in the movie to indicate how they know each other or why they seem to hate so much. And why all the violence? The film seems to degenerate into senseless fighting and brutality with no apparent cause to explain it. Adapting a book to film can be difficult, and in this movie much seems to be left out, leaving the viewer to assume or guess the reasons for these kids' behavior. I rate it 3 starts for a ''coming of age'' movie with lots of detail missing, choppy editing and woefully incomplete story telling.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LUV THIS MOVIE!!!

    THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE YOU WILL EVER WATCH. IT IS SAD, ROMANTIC, FUNNY, THE ACTING IS TERRFIC. YOU WILL FALL HEAD OVER HEALS FOR THIS MOVIE AS SOON AS YOU WATCH IT.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Unforgettable

    I have to admit the first time I saw it, I was confused (it being the original edition without the added scenes). When I saw this edition, I felt much better about the movie. <BR/><BR/>I actually really, really do love it - my favorite. I would definitely recommend reading the book FIRST. I don't know if you would be able to understand it completely without reading first, as I can't imagine it without reading the book first. <BR/><BR/>All in all, I urge you and recommend highly that you look into this piece.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    !!!!!!!THE BEST MOVIE YOU WILL EVER WACTH IN THE HISTORY OF HISTORY!!!!!!!

    This movie is great for everyone to relate to!!! Especially teenagers who feel they don't belong! With seven incredibly amazing actors including the strong and sexy Patrick Swayze(Dirty Dancing) and the most adorable Ralph Macchio(The Karate Kid) it changes your whole outlook on what real love, family and friendship is all about. It teaches you that everyone goes through rough times and it is the love of your family and friends that will help you through it. With plenty of laughs and tears this movie is ONE YOU WILL NEVER FORGET!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can watch over and over again!!!

    Awesome cast and story. A must see for any fan of the 80's "rat pack". Pony boy is soooooo dreamy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    &quot The Outsiders&quot Lover

    Loved this book and the Special Edition of The Outsiders is my favorate movie ever. The actors for the movie are a perfect fit and everything looks so real. I definetly recomend you read the book first, because the movie isn't exactly like the book &amp quot what movie ever is exactly like the book?&amp quot The Outsiders is, and probably, one of my favorate books/ movies for life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    I think The Outsiders is a fantastic teaching resource! JC

    I think The Outsiders is a fantastic teaching resource! JC

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I hate this movie! Anyone who thinks The Outsiders is good has OBVIOUSLY never read the book! The book is absolutely wonderful. I will remember every character all my life. I cried, I laughed, and I was always on the edge of my seat. It is a memorable story everyone should read. The movie on the other hand, is terrible! It's NOTHING like the book. There are no details, nothing that makes you get attatched to, or even like, the characters. The acting is terrible cheesy and so is the plot. I have never seen such an awful movie based on such a wonderful book. Do NOT watch The Outsiders. However, everyone should read The Outsiders. It is a book you will never forget.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this special edition doesn't deserve a star

    What was Coppola thinking? He extensively tinkered with the soundtrack to the point that this movie is no longer the thoughtful, deliberate movie it once was. There's hardly a moment's peace in this movie, the new music fills up all the quiet places to Coppola's shame. What a disaster. He ruined a perfect soundtrack and spoiled all the good memories of this film. On the other hand, the added scenes are great and really give this movie some depth. Too bad that depth has become utterly lost in the senseless soundtrack. Hey, Coppola, please don't decide to give The Godfather the same treatment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Potentially good story, but poor film editing

    Although the DVD version has good performances and appealing stars, the storyline is so chopped up it's difficult to figure out what's going on. For example, it's only through a very brief flashback that we learn that the parents were killed. Are these kids raising themselves? Oh, just a minute, it appears the older brother has head-of-houseold responsibility, but this is not explained very well. A reference is made about the state social services department visiting the house to explain the custody situation, but that's it. Also, what's the source of the conflict with the soc crowd? Is it rich/poor? Social class snobbery? Seems these kids on both sides go to the same school, but there is not one single school scene in the movie to indicate how they know each other or why they seem to hate so much. And why all the violence? The film seems to degenerate into senseless fighting and brutality with no apparent cause to explain it. Adapting a book to film can be difficult, and in this movie much seems to be left out, leaving the viewer to assume or guess the reasons for these kids' behavior. I rate it 3 starts for a ''coming of age'' movie with lots of detail missing, choppy editing and woefully incomplete story telling.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I believe this product is very well written. This is because it

    I believe this product is very well written. This is because it gives off excitement and the difficulties in life between two different organizations. This book always leaves you craving for something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    This book was a really good book on these peoples lives. The boo

    This book was a really good book on these peoples lives. The book Outsiders takes place in Talsa Oklahoma in a small poor neighborhood and a small vacant lot. The main characters are Ponyboy, Sodapop, Darry, Johnny, Dally, Two-bit, Cherry, and Bob. In this story there are two groups, there are the socs and greasers. these two groups are rivalries and thery dont like each other. they are forced to live in the same community and they dont get along at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I love this movie!!! Awesome storyline & it has comedy &

    I love this movie!!! Awesome storyline &amp; it has comedy &amp; drama all in one! I highly recommend this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Loved every minute, and hung onto every word

    Loved every minute, and hung onto every word

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    The book Outsiders takes place in Talsa Oklahoma in a small poor

    The book Outsiders takes place in Talsa Oklahoma in a small poor neighborhood and a small vacant lot. In this book there are many main characters. The main characters are Ponyboy, Sodapop, Darry, Johnny, Dally, Two-bit, Cherry, and Bob. In this story there are two groups. The names are greasers and socs. The gangs are big rivalries. Socs, who are a mean gang, like to jump greasers for fun. Until one night Johnny kills a soc who is drowns Ponyboy named Bob. Johnny and Ponyboy are forced to hide in a church until one day it burns. In that fire Johnny and Ponyboy save kids but, Johnny gets severely injured. To take revenge the socs and the greasers have a rumble. Soon Johnny dies. Dally gets so upset that he robs a grocery store. Cops go after Dally and soon they kill him. This is an excellent book.
    This story is very realistic. You will love reading this. S.E Hinton reached her audience with effects, suspense, and fun. I would recommend this book to many people. This is my best book. I hope it becomes yours too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    this is the best movie in the universe. the acting is amazing! t

    this is the best movie in the universe. the acting is amazing! this is a movie you will never forget, it is sad, funny, and romantic. you feel like you are in the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended.! Please Read This

    This book review is about a book by S.E. Hinton, called The Outsiders. It is a very good book for teenagers who need to do a book report where you can choose your book. It is very easy to read and understand the book, and what it means.

    The outsiders is a book about these two gangs, the greasers and the Socs. The main character of the book is from the greasers, you don’t really get a Socs. point of view. These two gangs are major rivals, and have more in common then they think.

    I really liked the book a lot, but my favorite thing is that I can really connect with the characters in the book even though I don’t have that kind of life style. I don’t like the fact that you don’t hear the Socs. point of view about the situations that happen in the story.

    I highly recommended this book, and all the other books by S.E. Hinton. I’ve read a few of her other books, and it’s really good for high school students to read. Most high school students can connect to the people in the story.

    The books by S.E. Hinton that I have read like The Outsiders, Tex, and That Was Then This Is Now, are really great books. S.E. Hinton is a very, very great author, and is very good with making it easy to understand the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Want to know?

    I want to know before i buy this if it's like the complete novel like ponyboy is narating through the whole story someone plz answer if they can asap i rlly wnt to be this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    JUST GREAT

    You see I loved the classic novel and the movie I'll be honest is a tad worse that the book but that's just me I tend to favor the books over the movies or TV shows. I liked how the movie is really simular to the book except for a few parts, of course. Though the book is a timeless classic that is loved by many childrens, adults and overall people that movie didn't quite to the books outstanding expectations, but then again who could????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    The outsiders

    I'd give this book a 5 out of 5. Just because how they are growing up. And im saying im kinda growing up like that to because all the places I've been in my life.
    Description and summary of main points
    Ponyboy's parents died in acar accident. So his So this book is about 8 people. Ponyboy, Sodapop, Johnny, Dallas, Two bit, Steve, Curtis, and Darry. There is two gangs that hate each other guts, so they like to brawl for no reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best!

    This movie and book was the best i have ever seen/read! Great actors and plot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8