BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Phantom of the Opera

Average Rating 4.5
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best musical ever and NOW best musical movie ever!

Phantom of the Opera is very deep and emotional. I give props to anyone who can watch that movie and not cry. The story obviously intrigues people since it's been the best selling musical ever and the question was could this movie hold up to that masterpiece? The answer...
Phantom of the Opera is very deep and emotional. I give props to anyone who can watch that movie and not cry. The story obviously intrigues people since it's been the best selling musical ever and the question was could this movie hold up to that masterpiece? The answer is yes! The actors voices are amazing! At the time, the lead characters weren't big names. In fact most of the cast wasn't which really added to the feeling of reality to the movie. The acting was so well done. This movie brought the scenes from the play to life! It is truly one of the best movies I have ever seen. All the elements that make this movie fantastic go hand in hand, from love to singing to revenge. It all just goes so well together. I recommend this movie to everyone!!

posted by ClassicRock_Chick on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Complete Trash

I'm really suprised to see so many good reviews of this movie. I was so anxious to see this movie at the beginning, but by the end I was actually angry about the movie. This is such a beautiful story and they wrecked it. It just seemed so cheap, like the lantern on the...
I'm really suprised to see so many good reviews of this movie. I was so anxious to see this movie at the beginning, but by the end I was actually angry about the movie. This is such a beautiful story and they wrecked it. It just seemed so cheap, like the lantern on the back of the boat was being bumped around as if it were plastic and the candelabras practically rattling as they rose out of the water. The development of the characters was severaly lacking. I saw a made for TV version several years ago and it was so much better than this one even though I'm sure the budget for this movie was several times as high. Overall, I wouldn't waste a dime on this movie.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best musical ever and NOW best musical movie ever!

    Phantom of the Opera is very deep and emotional. I give props to anyone who can watch that movie and not cry. The story obviously intrigues people since it's been the best selling musical ever and the question was could this movie hold up to that masterpiece? The answer is yes! The actors voices are amazing! At the time, the lead characters weren't big names. In fact most of the cast wasn't which really added to the feeling of reality to the movie. The acting was so well done. This movie brought the scenes from the play to life! It is truly one of the best movies I have ever seen. All the elements that make this movie fantastic go hand in hand, from love to singing to revenge. It all just goes so well together. I recommend this movie to everyone!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My now FAVORITE MOVIE... EVER!!!

    I saw this movie in theaters four times and I never got sick of it! Gerard Butler is the best Phantom ever, his voice has so much raw emotion that you'll love him right away... I already know several people who are already in love with him! Emmy Rossum is a wonderful Christine, her age matches the innocence and purity of her voice, I say bravo! Patrick Wilson is the best Raoul in the HISTORY OF THE WORLD, when he and Emmy were singing 'All I Ask of You' I was melting away... (seeing that I prefer Raoul to the Phantom, and I know several people who disagree with me) he sounds as good as he looks! ^_^ Everyone else did wonderful jobs with their parts (Minnie, Miranda, Jennifer, etc.) once again, bravo to you all on such a wonderful job! The sets and costumes were amazing and the music is unforgetable... you'll be singing the music for weeks, I promise you that!!! This movie is everything you could ever imagine in a Phantom movie... characters who bring lots of emotion to their roles, a cute Phantom and Raoul, and a Christine with the voice of an angel! I will definetly be buying this movie when it comes out in May, no doubt about that... this will be a classic in the years to come!!! ^_^

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Weber did a good job matching voices with character personalities.

    I have seen the stage performance twice and the movie several times. The operatic voices of Patrick Wilson and teenager, Rossum, were clear and lyrical. Minnie Driver was the surprise since I didn't know she could sing. I had seen Gerard Butler as a folk singer in other films. His voice has a dark, earthy quality that fits the phantom. Some say that he doesn't compare to the more operatic phantoms. He was good enough for Andrew Lloyd Weber so for me, too. Any question of his acting ability is resolved in the roof scene when he is grieving and then expresses that grief in anger.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ....WOW....

    I dont know what to say. I saw the phantom of the opera for the first time (this movie) and wa instantly hooked. Everything was awsome! My previous school year i had the opperitunity to go see the play but had no idea what it was about, i didn't go... boy was that the most stupid thing i EVER did! thats all that comes to mind is WOW!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Musical and Movie are two different things

    I've seen the Musical twice and absolutely did not want to see the movie, as I thought that it would deterrerate the quality of the stage production. My lesson after being dragged to the movie? Musicals and Movies are two different arts. Yes they can be similar, but really, with the musical you become part of the audience and so you feel connected to the musical in some way (assuming you do like Phantom), but with the movie, the very little computer graphics they did were enhancements. The mirror tricks and such, they do that on the stage as well. Really though, I like the added scenes, such as the grave yard and such. The only real quality singer I found in the movie was the girl that played Christine. The good thing I'll say with the Phantom's voice was that he doesn't sound as fatherly as Michael Crawford did...Movie Phantom sounded more like he was in love with Christine. Now if you actually read the BOOK you'll understand why they added the scenes in the movie to enhance the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heart Stopper..

    The original cast soundtrack would blare out of a boom box in my '88 drama club meetings. I finally got to see it on Broadway (in the nose bleed section) in '96. This movie is just as heart stopping as the original cast music and the broadway show itself! From the moment the Chandelier lifts and the dust is blown away from the seats- to the mysterious end and the music box! I can't stop telling everyone they should see this movie and I can NOT wait to purchase it on DVD!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Phantom of the Opera is always on my mind

    This was a wonderful movie. I cannot stop watching it. This movie captivated me during the first few minutes. It's magical. This is a musical for everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    The first time I saw it, it instantly became my favourite movie.

    The first time I saw it, it instantly became my favourite movie. I love the music, the cast is amazing. I'm constantly singing or humming the songs. This movie is definitely a must see and a must buy. Its vital for any true music lover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    haunting....

    Ms. Rossum voice was haunting. Very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    :O

    THIS FILM IS AMAZING. I have seen the Broadway show, heard all of the soundtracks... and this movie manages to live up to it. It tells the story with little deviation from the actual plot, and the music is wonderful. Emmy Rossum is an extremely talented singer, and if Gerard Butler works at it he could be a heck of a lot better. But hey, he had no prior music training, so pretty good. The one thing I didn't like about the Phantom was the deformity. On stage and in the book, it's much more dramatic... and freaky. In the movie, it looked like a really bad sunburn/rash. The actor/resses did a great job, it feel sreal when you are watching it. I wholeheartedly recommend this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Phantom of the Opera

    I absolutely loved this movie. Gerard Butler is a wonderful phantom!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Awesome Movie

    This was a very good movie. It was a little creepy at parts so I WOULD NOT recommend this for anyone under 12(there is a hanging) All together this is a gr8 movie if you like thrillers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best stage to screen adaptations I've seen

    For anyone who has seen Phantom of stage, this comes about as close to it as possible! The acting is great, scenery and effects are phenomenal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    No Words Can Describe...

    Phantom of the Opera is a masterful interpetation of the book. Gerard Butler flawlessly captured the darkness and the misunderstood side of the Phantom. Emmy Rossum perfected the innocence that is Christine Daae. The way the two actors' voices complemented each other was immaculate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great music.Very lavish sets.Excellent singing by all of the performers.

    Stunning visual effects.Intriguing story with a bit of humor and plenty of mayhem caused by the Phantom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Speachless

    WOW, I have no words to say for this movie, It is the Most BEAUTIFUL movie and the music is amazing and will leave you speachless it is amazing and thrilling, and sexy, and if you enjoy it watch it ON BROADWAY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I CHOSE THE PHANTOM!

    I rented the Phantom DVD for my guests on New Years' Eve, 12/31/05. The men had gathered in one room and the women all gravitated to the TV in the family room. Until that night, I had never heard anything about the movie or any of the actors. Then I saw him....the Phantom. And was drawn to him for the rest of my life. I thought "my god, who is this?" I loved how he sang Phantom of the Opera. And then he started singing Music of the Night. Even with the mask, I could see & hear his arrogance wanting Christine for only one reason, to sing his music. And then he looked at her...I mean really looked at her. Watch his eyes, his body language, the wonder in his voice and that's when you see him falling in love with her. And later, his heartbreak seeing Christine kiss Raoul on the roof of the opera house, his anger as he slowly crushes the rose in his hand, his desperate cry to the night sky. And what can I say about "The Point of No Return". The joy in his expression when Christine sings to him about the flames of love consuming them. His soft and sensuously beautiful plea to share one love, one lifetime and he lovingly says her name, but before he can tell her he loves her, she pulls his mask off. And later, down in his lair when he's singing with his music box and she walks in and he says "Christine, I love...you" (with that little catch in his breath) and as she's taking the ring off her finger he has such a hopeful expression on his face until she gently folds his hand around the ring. And I will confess my heart was breaking for him as I watched that one teardrop desperately cling to his eyelash until he closed his eyes and it slowly fell down his cheek. At the very end, as the camera closes in on the rose, ribbon and ring on Christine's grave, the scene closes as the candle blew out, I could hardly breathe at the sadness. <BR/><BR/>MR. GERARD BUTLER: NO ONE BUT YOU COULD HAVE GIVEN THE PHANTOM SO MUCH OF YOURSELF. AND THIS HAPPENED JUST BEFORE I WAS DIAGNOSED WITH AN UNEXPECTEDLY SERIOUS CONDITION, DURING WHICH I RETREATED INTO THE PHANTOM'S WORLD FOR ALMOST A YEAR UNTIL I WAS FINALLY HEALED. FOR THAT (AND SO MUCH MORE) I WILL ALWAYS LOVE YOU.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OUTSTANDING PHANTOM

    I saw the play on Broadway and Michael Crawford was good but did NOT bring the passion that GERARD BUTLER brought to this movie. Andrew Lloyed Weber did a fantastic job in his casting of Mr. Butler and I hope if the sequel he is writing for the Phantom is either a broadway or movie production,if Gerry Butler is playing the phantom, I will defintely go see it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh, that chandelier!!!

    Phantom has certainly been my favorite musical of all time. Many may certainly not have a fondness for ALW or his work, but what it comes down to is that Phantom exploits what we all experience at one point or another in our lives...what it's like to be loved, to love and to not always have that love be reciprocated. Plus for those who just LOVE to break down musical themes, you gotta admit, the man knows how to write a tune that gets stuck in your head. Or at least arrange one. :-) ALW's music, themes just totally soar. The movie is good in it's own right. While Gerry Butler may not have been my first pick as the Phantom, he certainly holds his own. Emmy, having been only 16 when the movie was shot, certainly holds her own. What it comes down to with this movie though, is, it is what it is. A chance to experience one of the greatest musicals ever for those who can't afford $100 for a good seat to see it live (or $150 in the case of the new Vegas production). But as a theatre practitioner myself, I would suggest seeing it live first, because folks, there's nothing like live theatre. And if you can't afford that, than the movie is certainly the next best thing in my opinion. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Get over it!

    Hi. To the people who do not like Butler's and Rossum's voice, get over it. This movie was outstanding. To be quite honest, the majority of the people who saw this movie were people who have seen the play and/or love music. Your average person is not going to come out to see a movie that has someone consistantly singing with an operatic trained voice. It's like Grease, yeah they can sing, but it wasn't that great either. Phantom's voice was alluring and seductive, yes a little raw, but it had a way of drawing you in to it. Christine's voice was beautiful, a little airy and soft at times, but wonderful. Raul's, I could listen to it all day. The voice that impressed me the most was Carlotta, I didn't know Minnie Driver could sing like that. It was amazing. I, overall, loved this movie. I have the movie memorized beginning to end. I do recommend this movie for anyone who likes musicals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14