Customer Reviews for

The Point

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    This is pure alchemy:  The angelic voice of Nillson, surreal gra

    This is pure alchemy:  The angelic voice of Nillson, surreal graphic from the psychedelic 60's, and a well told morality tale helping kids to understand  what it means  to judge others that are different from themselves.
    Highly recommended to grandparents that will enjoy the reminiscence while in the company of the little people in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Point

    When my children were children, a few years ago, this movie came out. As an adult I found it in a used movie store in VHS format. Well, not having that format anymore, I was thrilled to find it here in DVD. I have introduced the movie to my grandchildren, who introduced it to their day care provider and the children who attend it as well. It has a great story , great music, and a great moral behind Harry Nilsson's idea of what it is like to be different. Thank You for the memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED WHEN I WAS A KID, LOVE NOW

    This is a great story, great characters, great music, great moral! My parents bought this for me and my brother when we were kids. At the time, in the 70s, it was an album and came with a picture book. We absolutely loved it and would listen to it all the time. I was so happy when my brother found the DVD and CD and called me to tell me it was available. Brings back many memories. Harry Nilsson sure had a way with words and music. He was so awesome! I bought this for myself a few years ago, and now have a baby girl and I can't wait until she's old enough to tell me what she thinks. I also bought it for my friend's son for his birthday and they all loved it so much. The adults get a kick out of it as much as the kids. I highly recommend! The songs are catchy and the story is so amazing and warm. You will enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This is the Point

    I saw this cartoon over 30 years ago.This should be seen by everybody.It should be also mandatory in schools from preschool to high school.A wonderful experience all around.Gardening

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Me and my Arrow - united at last! Oh, Happy Day!

    I saw 'The Point' once and only once, in 1971 when it was first aired on television and I was, well, VERY young. The impression made on me in these short 74 minutes has lasted a lifetime and positively shaped the person I am today. I've been looking for it ever since . . . 34 long years! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FINALLY!!!

    As a kid my father introduced this classic to my sisters and I and we all have loved it ever since. For several years now we have all been looking for any version of this beloved movie of our childhood after our only copy disappeared. At last I will be able to give this to my sisters for christmas!!! A must for every family - young and old (my sisters and I are in our early 20's!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I am so grateful

    I have loved this story for over 20 years. I even played Oblio in a school play and have wanted a copy of this amazing story since then. I will buy many copies for my entire family. Mahalo nui loa....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Lost Treasure for Kids of All Ages

    Loved this when it was broadcast in 1971 and its message of tolerance is timeless. If you haven't discovered Oblio and Arrow and their journey into the Pointless Forest, you're in for a treat! Like 'Alice in Wonderland,' you'll meet some strange and unusual creatures, pointed and pointless, including the Rock Man who wisely observes that you don't have to have a point to have a point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YAY!!!

    I luv Harry Nilsson...such great music. The movie is timeless, with a good message. It's sure to get your kids' attention and hold it...it did for me! I'm 16 now and I still enjoy watching it and listening to the soundtrack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Been looking for this for YEARS

    A friend introduced me to Oblio & Arrow over 20 years ago. I shared it with my grandson, now 8, when he was a toddler, and could only check it out from the library. No video stores had it; my letter to mfgr returned undeliverable. Now I can share it with my 4 yr old granddaughter, too. THANK YOU!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magical

    I remember when they actually premiered this on TV when I was a kid. Not sure why they never showed it again. Adorable plot and theme song 'Me and My Arrow.' It is one of those items I have actually longed to see again. And here it is! Don't miss out. There is enough in this world that can depress one - - this will make you happy (even without the Welbutrin!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's Back!

    I was SO glad to see The Point released on DVD; I remember seeing this on television, 'way back when,' and loving every minute. It's one of those rare films that can be enjoyed by both kids and adults. Welcome back, Oblio and Arrow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1