Customer Reviews for

The Polar Express

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good family Christmas movie....

Though this movie isn't as good as "Elf" or "The Santa Clause", this is still a very good family movie. However, there are quite a few scenes that would scare kids under the age of seven... so I will just give you a word of caution on that part. However, this is a ver...
Though this movie isn't as good as "Elf" or "The Santa Clause", this is still a very good family movie. However, there are quite a few scenes that would scare kids under the age of seven... so I will just give you a word of caution on that part. However, this is a very good classic, and it deserves to be a part of your DVD library. The only part I don't like about this movie is this... why doesn't any of the kids have names? The main character is cast as "Hero Boy", the sweet girl is credited as "Hero Girl", the obnoxious boy is credited as "Know-It-All Kid", etc. I don't know, it's bothered me for quite some time now. I also don't understand why Tom Hanks played all those roles. He played the conductor, Santa Clause, the hobo, etc. I wish the film-makers gave him at least two roles... he was very funny in the movie, but it would have been better if they just gave him one role. Anyway, the animation is very... stunning! Wow.. it's so awesome! While I was sitting in the theater, quite a few times (hmmm... let's say... 25?) where I was thinking, "Wow! Is this real?" Because that's EXACTLY what it looked like... it looked sooooooooooo real!!! It was really amazing, they did an excellent job with the animation. Anyway, you should get this movie and add it to your DVD library. It's certainly a good Christmas treat for your family!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Save this one for older children

My son, who first saw this movie in the theatre when 3, was terrified. We left in the middle of it because his heart was pounding and he was shaking. While this is a beautiful story with a wonderful message, do not let the prior review compel you to believe this...
My son, who first saw this movie in the theatre when 3, was terrified. We left in the middle of it because his heart was pounding and he was shaking. While this is a beautiful story with a wonderful message, do not let the prior review compel you to believe this movie is for children of all ages. I expect my son will be better prepared for the scary sections when he is 6 or 7.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pretty good family Christmas movie....

    Though this movie isn't as good as "Elf" or "The Santa Clause", this is still a very good family movie. However, there are quite a few scenes that would scare kids under the age of seven... so I will just give you a word of caution on that part. However, this is a very good classic, and it deserves to be a part of your DVD library. The only part I don't like about this movie is this... why doesn't any of the kids have names? The main character is cast as "Hero Boy", the sweet girl is credited as "Hero Girl", the obnoxious boy is credited as "Know-It-All Kid", etc. I don't know, it's bothered me for quite some time now. I also don't understand why Tom Hanks played all those roles. He played the conductor, Santa Clause, the hobo, etc. I wish the film-makers gave him at least two roles... he was very funny in the movie, but it would have been better if they just gave him one role. Anyway, the animation is very... stunning! Wow.. it's so awesome! While I was sitting in the theater, quite a few times (hmmm... let's say... 25?) where I was thinking, "Wow! Is this real?" Because that's EXACTLY what it looked like... it looked sooooooooooo real!!! It was really amazing, they did an excellent job with the animation. Anyway, you should get this movie and add it to your DVD library. It's certainly a good Christmas treat for your family!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Save this one for older children

    My son, who first saw this movie in the theatre when 3, was terrified. We left in the middle of it because his heart was pounding and he was shaking. While this is a beautiful story with a wonderful message, do not let the prior review compel you to believe this movie is for children of all ages. I expect my son will be better prepared for the scary sections when he is 6 or 7.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not for all children. Preview first!

    My husband and I rented the DVD and previewed it before showing it to my 3 year old son who loves trains. I am very glad that we did that because it was way too scary to be shown to him. There are several scenes where the children are walking on top of a snow covered train and almost fall off. Another scene has the train losing control on a lake of ice and then the ice starts to crack. There is also a mystery ghost man who "lives" on top of the moving train. I know that all children are different, but I can't imagine letting my son see this movie until he is much older. I suggest that you preview this movie before you give it to the little ones in your life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    This is one of my very favorite Christmas movies. It's just not

    This is one of my very favorite Christmas movies. It's just not even the holiday season to me without seeing it. I don't have children so I can't weigh in on what age it's appropriate for, but I can tell you as an adult, I love it. The message is fabulous and the animation is so so beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Magical

    The meaning of the movie is so well told and seamless; would make a great family discussion. It makes me want to believe in Santa again and opens my eyes to angels everywhere. If deciding between the 2D and 3D versions, absolutely go for the 3D. It's the best 3D I've ever seen, including anything I have seen in theaters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    Wonderful

    Wonderful - I have now watched it three times, each time picking up something I previously missed .. this should be viewed by those 1 to 100 plus! You need to see it to understand my excitement over this movie......you would not be disappointed. Plus it is not just for Christmas - I would watch this anytime, for the deep meaning it holds for daily life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Movie

    The Polar Express is by far my most favorite Christmas movie. I love the characters, the graphics, the storyline, etc. Because of this movie, my 3 yr old really, truely believes in Santa Claus. We've seen it during Christmas and off-season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Nook

    I love my Nook however I would have like more direction on it use included instead of have to search and review on line. Also it would have been helpful if an explantion was included that said my extended coverage was electronically noted and thaere was no contract or paper to have. Otherwise I have purchased my first book and I am enjoying the reading.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    very sweet

    My daughter loves this movie and requests "choo choo" back to back... very sweet movie, and the music is wonderful! I even usually don't mind watching it repeatedly with her :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    New Christmas Classic in 3-D

    I had seen this at the theater and really enjoyed it. The Blu-ray gives the clarity necessary to bring this movie to life on a small screen and the 3-D or not 3-D makes it a real winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Christmas Movie!

    Okay, okay...so I am a bit late in seeing this, but yes...I just finally saw this movie shortly before writing this review. Better late than never though I guess. But yeah, this is an excellent movie. I definitely want to buy this now. Why I hadn't bothered to see this any sooner, I have no idea, but now that I have, I totally recommend it to anyone else who hasn't. It's a lot of fun! Listed below are a few of many other great Chistmas titles to check out also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    THE POLAR EXPRESS

    THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I HAVE SEEN . MY DAUGHTER AND I HAVE SEEN IT ABOUT A MILLION TIMES .I LOVE IT!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Polar Express

    My son is 3 years old and LOVES this movie, he has watched it over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BEST CHRISTMAS MOVIE EVER MADE

    Like I wrote in my review on iTunes, I thought this was another one of those poorly-made kid movies about Christmas. But after watching it in school three years ago, I finally realized what a wonderful, sweet movie this really is. It helped me see that I could still have the Christmas Spirit even after I grew up. And there's something in it for everyone, adults and children alike. All I can say is...this is an awesome movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magical

    Best Holiday Story on DVD I have seen and my next favorite is old school..Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer. This is a family tradition every Christmas Eve Eve. The ending will make a grown man cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

    Josh Hutcherson is amazing as the hero boy in this film, as always!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Christmas Best

    This movie has totally brought out the christmas spirit in me. A must see!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's Grrrrrrrrrreat!!!

    This movie is one of the best children movies ever. The animation was wonderful so life like, and the plot made you want to believe in Santa if you don't already or make you believe again. I recommend this movie for all children of ALL ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great for the whole family!

    My husband and I curled up on the couch with our 2 daughters (ages 3 1/2 and almost 2) on a cool morning and watched this wonderful movie. The girls were completely captivated with the fantastic story and all the action. I don't think there is another family movie out there that compares.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!

    This movie is so cool, there were moments when I forgot I was watching a CGI cartoon. The story is great, there's action, drama, comedy. I love the Polar Express.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3