Customer Reviews for

The Princess Bride

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic!

    This is simply one of the greatest movies of all time, as far as I'm concerned. Of course, I have a decent sized list of movies I consider to be among the best of all time, but this is certainly one of those. I have been watching this movie since I was a kid. I own the original DVD release of this, but it has just about zilch for features, and the DVD was starting to get pretty worn anyway, so I decided i would go ahead and pick up the blue ray, seeing as how it's one of my all time favorites. This version contains a bunch of features on it, and it even comes with the DVD copy, so it's all good. Seriously, this movie is great! An oldie, but a goldie. If you have never seen this movie folks, you need to get on it! Friggin great, classic movie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one very amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one very amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    one of the best fairy tale movies ever made

    I've seen The Princess Bride a good half dozen times, but I had to have my own copy of it so I could watch it whenever I felt like it. Even if, like my brother-in-law, you prefer gritty, realistic films, you have to see this one at least once in your life. It's one of the few movies you can watch with kids and genuinely enjoy as an adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Did they clean up the sound? I love most everything about this

    Did they clean up the sound?

    I love most everything about this movie except for the fact that the soundtrack on my old VHS version is rather muddy, which makes it difficult to understand Fezzik's lines at times, due to Andre the Giant's heavy accent. What would be really helpful to me in terms of deciding to buy this DVD is feedback on whether they've remastered the sound yet.

    Also, I'm usually one of those people who says that the book is always better than the movie, but this one is the exception that proves the rule. I hated the book. The author keeps interrupting the story with distracting vignettes about his personal life that are not only self-serving but also annoyingly sexist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Best...Movie...Ever!

    At least it is definitely in the top 10, especially for families. My kids had never heard of this movie, as it hadn't been advertised on Disney Channel since well, ever. I played it for them once, and it is now a family classic. Still, if it were a video game, I would rate it E10+, since it has a little bit of language and some violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    One of my all-time faves. Funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    "My name is Indigo Montoya, you killed my father, now prepare to die!"

    This heartwarming, quipsical, entertaining film is a family pleaser! It brings out the child in all of us and is timeless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Princess Bride

    This movie has been a favorite of mine since my childhood. I love it more after every viewing. It is funny and classic with some great one liners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a must see movie.

    Hilarious and sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic!

    This is a must see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    always a blast

    I love wesley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Classic movie

    Really enjoyed this movie. Not as spectacular in terms of graphics as today's movies, but a true classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MY NUMBER 1 FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!

    How does one describe one of if not THE BEST movie ever made?! It has everything...and if you haven't seen it yet, you are missing out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Greatest Movie of All Time.

    I first watched this movie when I was around 9 years old and 20 years later, it's still my favorite. Perhaps that says something about me, but looking at the other reviews here I believe it's safe to say that The Princess Bride is definitely a winner. At a young age I thought it magical, nowadays I find it clever. Never does it condescend to the viewer, which allows all ages to feel a participant and to find new things in the movie as they mature. There is definitely something for everyone in this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Amused

    Delightful tale! I never get sick of this fairy tale farcical adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mandatory

    If you haven't memorized half the lines then your life has only been half lived. This movie is a must-see, a must-love, a must-recite-line-by-line-and-quote-to-friends-and-family movie. And I'm not blaving around either. To blave? Watch the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Inconceivably good.

    One of my favorites since childhood. During a low romantic period, I watched it every day for two weeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An amazing fantasy/comedy

    I have never seen a movie reviewed on B&N where all the reviews were 5 stars until Princess Bride, and with good reason. This movie is funny, romantic, action-packed and has all the elements of the great movies of the 30's and 40's. This is one of my top three movies of all time by one of the top three screenwriters of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic.

    Five stars all the way. classic movie. Great for friends or family and its got everything in it. Entertaining for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Enchanting Wonderment of Pure Excellence

    I love this film, it has everything that you could ever dream of in a love story. The entire ensemble cast excells beautifully in their characters very deeply, especially Robin Wright, Cary Elwes, and Mandy Patinkin, who is absolutely brilliant as Inigo Montoya. The music, costumes, scenery, and hysterical humor make this a classic to remember always. I cannot recommend it more, it's lovely in a gorgeous romantic sense. The sword fights are very exciting, and they maybe the best, and most original battle scenes in film history. Director Rob Reiner creates this magical world with very detailed originality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10