Customer Reviews for

The Quiet Man

Average Rating 5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I just received and watched the restored DVD. This is my all-tim

I just received and watched the restored DVD. This is my all-time favorite movie, and I was not disappointed. Excellent!

posted by 18055629 on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

One Of Ford's Best In One Of Artisan's Worst Looking Transfers!

¿The Quiet Man' is a tender story of a returning native to his Welsh village. It stars John Wayne as Sean `Trooper¿ Thornton, an American boxing sensation come home to the Emerald Isle. Sean¿s eagerness to assimilate is somewhat put on hold when he falls for the rapturo...
¿The Quiet Man' is a tender story of a returning native to his Welsh village. It stars John Wayne as Sean `Trooper¿ Thornton, an American boxing sensation come home to the Emerald Isle. Sean¿s eagerness to assimilate is somewhat put on hold when he falls for the rapturous and fiery Mary Kate Danaher (Maureen O¿Hara). Like ¿How Green Was My Valley¿, ¿The Quiet Man¿ was a deeply personal film for its director, John Ford. Though a curmudgeon by all accounts on the surface, there¿s no mistaking Ford¿s tender hand and aptness for the blarney stone in this sumptuous Technicolor classic. As the town matchmaker, Michaleen Flynn, Barry Fitzgerald gets the outstanding laugh of the picture when he walks in on Mary and Sean the night after their wedding to discover that they¿ve broken the bed. His look says it all. Aside: I first saw this movie on late night television, some fifteen years ago. It looked then as though it had been fed through a meat grinder. I next had the opportunity to view, what was then billed as a restored version during the early 1990's at a special screening. While there was a marked improvement in the quality of the print shown over my previous television experience, there remained in evidence the fact that much more work was still required to get this movie looking right. So when Artisan Home Entertainment announced a completely remastered collector's edition, my heart leapt. I was, after all, expecting a print that would really knock my socks off. What I got instead was a DVD that looks more like my memory of the original television broadcast. 'The Quiet Man' looks awful. There's no polite way to critique the excessively soft, blurry and dull image quality. Colors are poorly balanced with inconsistent flesh tones. Black and contrast levels are so poorly realized that I can't deduce whether the staff at Artisan actually did some restoration work or are just trying to bluff the consumer into repurchasing this film on DVD. Regardless, this is the worst looking DVD experience I've had in a long while. The audio is mono, strident and wholly unsatisfying. Edge enhancement, pixelization, aliasing and shimmering of fine details are obtrusive and an eye-sore to behold. I'll be honest. After sitting through such a dismal visual experience I was so disheartened that I didn't even get to the extra features. Artisan advertises a documentary and audio commentary as part of the deal. Let's just leave it at that. Although, they did also advertise this DVD as digitally remastered too¿hmmm?!?

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    I just received and watched the restored DVD. This is my all-tim

    I just received and watched the restored DVD. This is my all-time favorite movie, and I was not disappointed. Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2014

    After waiting for over a year to buy this dvd and researching al

    After waiting for over a year to buy this dvd and researching all the comments, went with the green banner Collector's Edition DVD 2002, that had Maureen O'Hara does a commentary.... although half way though, it did freeze on me the part ~the coin was toss into a cup~ but found out it work on another dvd player, so remember if it happens to you, try another.... 60++ old movie still was wonderful to watch, recommend this dvd only.... So happy I finally bought "The Quiet Man" and just love listening to Maureen O'Hara comments... Enjoyed the movie very much..... :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    Great movie

    Fun all the way around. The characters, the scenery, the story. One of my go-to movies. Definitely a feel-good, fun to watch option.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Loved the movie!

    Loved the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    A lot of people have complained about the poor quality of this m

    A lot of people have complained about the poor quality of this movie on previous media (DVDs and/or VHS). After watching a poor version of this fun film on TCM HD, I know why they're complaining. However, folks at Olive Films created a fantastic re-mastered version on Blu-ray. Buy this version and see, what I believe, was Ford's vision of Ireland on film. All the scenes are crisp. All the gestures of town folks are clear and fun to watch, especially the hilarious ending. The audio. too, was very good. I could clearly hear the Gaelic conversation O'Hara has with Bond. BRAVO, Olive Films!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    We watch it every St. Patrick's Day, great movie. Love it.

    We watch it every St. Patrick's Day, great movie.

    Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of John Ford' s most beautiful and charming films.....Mauree

    One of John Ford' s most beautiful and charming films.....Maureen O'Hara was never better.  John Wayne considered this one of his top five films.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Entire Family Loved this Movie

    My husband and I sat our kids (14 - boy, 12 - girl, 10 - boy, 5 -girl) down to watch this classic. This it a hugely entertaining story about a man (John Wayne) who returns to his Irish roots, but doesn't understand the customs - which hampers his relationship with lovely girl (Maureen O'Hara) whom he'd like to marry. It has some funny scenes showing differences in cultures, as well as some tender and heart warming moments. Some of the "Irish brouge" was a little hard to understand at first, but you get used to it. My kids all loved the show and my 14 year old son even said, "I'm glad we watched that movie."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic movie

    Good story, wonderful presentation and excellent actors/actresses. The scenery is awesome. I purchased this for my collection of great movies to enjoy often.
    The Turner Musicals are also great -- great entertainment for the whole family. Music scores will bring back good memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Quiet Man

    Very Irish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    "The Quiet Man", indeed

    True this is a dazzling Irish classic, spun with all the mystical, magical charms to be mustered among the rolling greens of Ireland's shores. But only a few wee leprechauns know it's inspiration. The heart of this movie was inspiraed by director John Ford's attraction & relationship to Katharine Hepburn. Being a catholic, and already married, he realized he'd missed the opportunity to marry his equal in everyway. So, he immortized their love in this movie. That alone, makes it worth a twice glance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You'll Love Barry Fitzgerald

    I warned my teenage boys ahead of time that there would be no nudity, swearing, explosions, or car chases. They wanted to know if there would be any fighting. The answer is, with John Wayne, of course. One of the best and most entertaining fight scenes in the movies. They were sure they wouldn't like it but loved Barry Fitzgerald and the whole movie. Colorful portrayal of Ireland of 50 years ago. This is a great movie even if you are not of Irish background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Perennial favorite

    This is a classic and I never tire of watching it. John Wayne and Maureen O'Hara are great. The Irish scenerary is wonderful, and it's fun to get a glimpse of some of the old ways. Barry Fitzgerald is wonderful in his role and provides plenty of humor. A great cast, a good story, beautiful scenery - it all leaves you feeling good. This is a true classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    "The Quiet Man"

    Great classic ...scenic, entertaining, heartwarming ....start the fireplace, curl up on the couch, perhaps some hot chocolate with whip cream or a Guiness beer - you choose! Either way, it's movie making at it's best -simple, humerous and a "Hollwyood pairing" that rivals them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Classic Movie

    This movie never gets old and I can watch it over and over. It is funny, charming, romantic and you will fall in love with all the characters. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    In our family no St. Patrick's Day passes without viewing the Quiet Man. It's as necessary as corn beef and cabbage. It's a truly warm and beautifully filmed movie that has something for both Irish and Irish want-to-bes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    For EVERYONE Of IRISH Decent ...

    EVERY Irish Person should Not Only SEE this movie ~ but OWN It! It's THAT Good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A beautiful tribute to the Irish ( I am)

    The lush emerald green landscape is breath-taking! What a glorious tribute of love for Ireland. The movie was not only a cinematic jewel, it was also very funny. Maureen O'Hara was so lovely, and John Wayne was not his usual "shoot em' up" self. He was very good in his acting abilities. It was a very romantic, it had it's beautiful sensual moments between O'Hara and Wayne. I love this movie. It is a lush, cinematic work of art. John Ford at his Irish best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding film

    This is one of John Wayne's best films, and Maureen O'Hara is just delightful as usual. This movie is far funnier than it is given credit for, but it also has a very good story to it. The way that Ireland is captured here is just beautiful. I must see for those who love the Duke and Maureen O' Hara, not to mention the ever lovely Ireland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie Ever!!!!!!!

    Ford's attachment to Ireland is exemplified by the beauty of Ireland demonstrated by the cinematography but it's the character development that makes this film my all time favorite --- and if there's a better love scene than the one at the cottage where John Wayne grabs Maureen O'Hara and pulls her back and the wind blows through her beautiful red hair, I've yet to see it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2