Customer Reviews for

The Rocky Horror Picture Show

Average Rating 5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I have been a Rocky fan for years. This is a movie that you can watch and just enjoy with your friends. Who doesn't like to do the "Time Warp" in their living room at one o'clock in the morning? The year I got this DVD for Christmas was the first time I cried tears of joy over a movie. My parents tell me stories of how they used to go to the theaters at midnight where audience members would dress up as characters, act out the movie in front of the screen, and participate in singing the songs. I really look forward to enjoying my own experience like this. Rocky Horror will remain in my collection for years to come so I can enjoy it anytime I want and dance/sing along with it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Pure fun in every way.

    Pure fun in every way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Rocky Horror Picture Show

    This has always been one of my favorite movies and as soon as I got it I watched this movie and when my favorite songs came on I turned up the volume and jammed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The BEST Movie Ever!

    RHPS is one of my all time favorite movies. It is funny and stupid, but a little sad, and incredibly amazing. I know all the words to all the songs, and I don't think I'll ever forget how to do The Time Warp. Rocky Horror has everything a movie needs and more. It has it's goofs, like the carpet missing from under Columbia's feet during The Time Warp, or Brad being given 2 slices of "meat" but only having one, or Janet's purse moving around, but those are part of why RHPS rocks. I saw this movie once and bought it right away. There is no way how to describe just how awesome The Rocky Horror Picture Show is. You'll just have to see for yourself why RHPS is "an erotic nightmere beyond any measure", and why watching it fills you with "antici................pation". This is one movie you will never forget. RHPS is great on DVD, but I hear it's even better in theaters, so go out there and see The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Just one viewing will leave you obsessed enough to put on fishnet tights, and a bright red wig and go as Magenta for Halloween. The music is catchy, the dances are great, and it is the best tribute to "Horror, Sci-Fi, B-Movies, and Rock Music", you will ever experience. It has it all, and if you and your friends watch it multiple times in one day don't feel bad, because I have done it too, and I loved every minute of it! The Rocky Horror Picture Show... :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    So Much Fun!

    I love, love, love this movie. It is the craziest most sexy movie I have ever seen. The whole time you are watching it you saying to yourself "what were they smoking when they made this?". And one of the great things is almost everyone you mention Rocky Horror to knows what you are talking about because it is so international.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What could be better than a sweet transvestite?

    I love this movie. I had never seen it until I went to college, but once I did I was hooked. The music is stellar and the acting is great to the plot! It's a great movie that everyone should share!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rocky Horror Show

    The movie is great. I saw the play in England back in the 70's with Tim Curry, so I've always been a fan. My only complaint is that I had a promo code for 20% off from BN and is wasn't accepted. I received the movie pretty quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!!!

    The best movie i have ever seen. I enjoyed it so much, i want to see it again. It's even better than "Little shop of Horrors".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It captured my imagination and soon I was singing and dancing alone with it.

    Tim Curry was a Sex God...just everything about him screamed hot. I can't get enough of Rocky Horror...its an addition that I can't seem to shake. In short...I absolutely loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    absoulutly awesome!

    the rocky horror picture show seriously in my top 3. it's so funny. and it has everything, great music, dance scence, and tim curry plays a perfect Frank'n'Furter. richard o' brian puts the perfect twist on frankenstein. you'll do the timewarp again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Crazy Weird.

    This movie caught me off gaurd when I first watched it but it was really good. I love Tim Curry and he did amazingly good in this movie. The songs and the movements are all so captivating...it all had me hooked from the very start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stupid Fun

    This film may be an excersize in stupidity, but at least it is highly original in concept and has strange/wonderful ways of delivering the story to the viewer. The songs stayed in my head for three days after my first viweing and the dialouge is easily quoatable. This is the most inexplicible thing to come out of Great Britain since the Teletubbies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome!

    i love musicals and this one rocks! its like a tribute to rock and roll while being an awesome movie plot. it is very random but very fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE EVER!! A MUST SEE!!

    I've seen the movie a hundred times and even took part assisting in the play at a community theater. The movie and play are both timeless and you're sure to never stop laughing. If you don't take this opertunity to watch it, you're most definatly missing out. (I mean seriously, when else can you see a castle of transvestites and a man wearing gold tighty-whities?!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yes

    Best movie I have ever seen. It's a timeless classic and a must see. If you don't see this movie you are missing out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really Funny On and Off Stage

    Laugh every time I see it and do the Time Warp-dance every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    One of my all-time favorite movies!!! Great movie to watch with a bunch of your friends! And then do the Time Warp!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I have done the time warp more then anyone else!

    this is the best movie ever. my school decided to put on a play of it (a bit ambitious, i know) i was magenta. i know the time warp off by heat, and i can do the dance. my parents decided to let me watch the movie, so i did. kind freaky at times, i know. i think the woman who played Janet had a beautiful smooth voice, much beter then the girl who was Janet in our play. The best thing about ROcky Horror is that everyone can take part, you wanna just jump of, and do the time warp IT'S JUST A JUMP TO THE LEFT!!!! AND THEN A STEP TO THE RIGHT!!!!! PLACE YOUR HANDS ON YOUR HIPS!!!!! BRING YOUR KNEES IN TIGHT WELL IT'S THE PELVIS THRUST THAT REALLY DRIVES YOU IN-SI-I-I-I-INE LET'S DO THE TIME WARP AGAIN!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a regular frankie fan

    one of the best campy movies made!!! almost as good as being in the movie house!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Let's Do the Time Warp Again...and again and again

    I saw this movie two years ago in 6th grade. I thought it was very good. It was a hilarious movie and my mum went crazy when she found out I'd seen it on Bravo. She was so angry I had watched it, so of course I had to go buy it the next day (along with the original soundtrack of course...)! When my mum found out I'd bought6 the movie and soundtrack and had ripped up the reciept, she gave in and told me not to let anyone watch it if they came over. So what do I do? I get on the phone and call Brette and have her come over to watch it. I brought it over to her house the next week and her dad sat down and watched it. He was saying things like "I remember sneaking in to see that with my friends..." and my mum had said things like "I went to go see that so many times...". So why were they so upset about us seeing it? Well, for one thing, it's a very risqué (did I spell that right? lol) film. Kind of like when I watched Animal House at her house...but that's a whole different story! Anyway, it's a very good movie, with good songs. It's a little cheesy though, but that's what makes the movie so great. The cheap effects make it all the more worthwile. So, all in all, I'd recomend you watch this movie. And if you don't like the movie, at least you can say you've done the Time Warp, because who DOESN'T want to say they've done the Time Warp!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4