Customer Reviews for

The Rules of Attraction

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a realistic relationship movie

    One of the most realistic dating movies I've seen, albeit depressing. Love triangle does not begin to describe this college based romantic comedy in which everyone can feel the love in the air, but no one can agree on its direction. The movie follows fairly closely to the story set out by the book, both of which are over the top and exaggerated, but closer to realistic dating than most romantic comedies. If I had to pick a favorite dating movie, this would be it. Books would be a toss up between this and 'Christmas at Sibyl's'.
    Great performances by James Van Der Beek, Shannon Sossamon and Clifton Collins Jr. and an interesting bit part role for Fred Savage make this a truly memorable movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    Ordered, paid and didn't received, not even a refund...dissapoin

    Ordered, paid and didn't received, not even a refund...dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVED IT

    this is like legit my fav movie. i loved it. its so sick and twisted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Forget the film, read the book!

    There was a lot going on - maybe too many characters and plots squeezed into too short a film, which worked really well in novel form, but not so well on screen. Bits of it are entertaining, and always good to see ex Dawsons Creeky behaving in a sinister fashion! Overall though, not worth the cultish status it seems it was aiming to reach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Decent...but go read the book instead

    This was an okay movie but it wasnt really anything like the book. I suggest you read the book to get a much better plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dark yet Hilarious

    I'ts hard to explain the feeling you get after watching this movie. You feel some kind of suspense, but you can't help but laugh every once and a while. And by the way to whom ever gave it a 1 star....why did you even bother to make a comment if you hated it so much?? Was it to dark?? Didn't understand the complex?? or did you just not like it because you knew that Britney Spears couldn't capture the entire text with her pea brain, so ya just had to follow your leader.......?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jessica Biel shake your thing lol!!!!

    This movie is the best i really enjoyed watching it ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic

    A really great film for people who like really great films. It is a very dark and cynical portrayal of a young and wealthy college man (James Van der Beek) who is afflicted with some kind of anti-social or psychopathic disorder, and who sees himself as a sexual predator. He eventually ends up falling in love along the way. Think ''Requiem for a Dream'' meets ''Cruel Intentions''.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    I have read almost all of Bret Easton Ellis's published novels. I loved the screen adaptation of American Psycho. This movie is simply amazing and imitates the book on cue. It is hillariously funny as the book is. Must own if you love movies like fight club, formula 51, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YUCK

    This movie simply tried too hard. Kinda ironic, it tried to be edgy, contemporary, and different, and yet it wound up being predictable and self important. The acting was TERRIBLE- the actors never inhabited the characters. Skip this movie and rent another instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT MOVIE!!!

    I have seen American Psycho and loved this movie even more. I liked the director and the movie was hilarious. You gotta see it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ...and the point of this was?

    As I sit here even hours past watching this movie, I still have yet to see its point. The humor was minimal, the ending didn't even end, and the ''point'' was missing. It was a waste of my time. Time I will never get back. Do not make the same mistake as me and watch this movie. It sucked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Funniest Movie Ever Made!!!!!!

    I absloutely would have to give this movie 5 stars, it was flat out excellent. A milestone in any movie lover's dreams. The character who played ''Richard'' aka Dick was hilarious. Please you have to see it, I could watch it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth a watch

    At times this movie can be a little over the top and somewhat overwhelming but overall is a good watch. The best scenes are the ones that involve the character of Paul, espescially the hospital one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply put: a great movie

    This film is both a great adaptation of the Bret Easton Ellis novel of the same name and a great film in its own right. Director Roger Avary shows a thorough understanding of Ellis' world, and the actors carry out their parts with precision. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1