Customer Reviews for

The Secret (Extended Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is what started it all for me!

When I found this I finally started my journey to a happier me. I was lost before in the routine of my terribly boring everyday life. All I wanted to do was sleep, to provide me with some sort of stimulation compared to the monotiny of the same ?!&% everyday! I was st...
When I found this I finally started my journey to a happier me. I was lost before in the routine of my terribly boring everyday life. All I wanted to do was sleep, to provide me with some sort of stimulation compared to the monotiny of the same ?!&% everyday! I was stuck in a big way and this is the door that I opened and stepped through and have not looked back. This is a wonderful starting point for those who are lost or stuck. I have a bunch of wonderful recommendations to watch and rad as well. Good Luck and God Bless!

posted by FindingMyWay on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Truths diluted by mystical, new age crap. Good, but could have been great.

This mystical, new-age crap about "the Universe" flooding you with money and power, or whatever else your heart desires, is silly. How can you believe in some nameless, faceless, mystical power, when there is so much evidence to point to an actual God, who created this ...
This mystical, new-age crap about "the Universe" flooding you with money and power, or whatever else your heart desires, is silly. How can you believe in some nameless, faceless, mystical power, when there is so much evidence to point to an actual God, who created this world, who is our Father in Heaven, and who wants what is best, in the long term, for his spirit children here on Earth? Why is it easier to believe that crystals give you mystical energy, that "the Universe" gives you what you want, regardless of how righteous or evil, and that sin doesn't exist? Now for the actual footage - the beginning is overly melodramatic, quite nerdy, if you ask me. The Good: There is a lot of truth "Golden Rule, disguised in mystical terminology" in this infomercial. It will inspire many to be more focused, and to accomplish more. The Bad: Again, the new-age mysticism is irritating, as well as misleading to those who don't know better, so make sure you watch this with a healthy sense of skepticism for the more fantastic claims, and do your best to enjoy this very slick media production. Other than the cheesy introduction, the rest exhibits high production standards, and while some of the content is suspect, it contains a lot of good information, so it's worth the watch if you can get past the mystical new-age vocabulary "and some of the false claims".

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Having Faith

    Intelligence foregoes ignorance, Faith foregoes negativity, The Scriptures teaches have faith, and the secret teaches the same Enjoy and embrace the information

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    truly remarkable !

    I had just failed my exams for yet another time and my friend recommended that I watch the dvd. It was so interesting and true, and it was more than a wake up call. It had open my eyes to all the negative things that I was surrounded by, and all the negativity I had been attracting instead of positivity. I was proud and anxious to share the secret with my husband and my daughter and I will continue sharing the secret with everyone who needs it. The secret have changed my life sooo much that I know when I do my exams again I WILL PASS.... no doubt about it... I will definately recommend this book to every and anybody. Thanks for sharing The Secret

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Having first been introduced to the concept of the laws of attraction through the Communication With God trilogy,by Neale Donald Walsch,it is apparent to me that thought/feelings are meant to remind us of who we really are,if we listen to our inner self,allowing energy"life,love,god"expand out into an infinate universe,then that positive energy will expand our world.If we let fear turn us inward"less than we are capable of",then likewise,we will attract what we expect.It "feels" like a puzzle that finally has all the pieces,and NOW I SEE....THANK YOU

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thoughts Become Things

    You may think this was a great marketing ploy, and congratulations to Rhonda Byrne for utilizing the Law of Attraction. Marketing ploy or not you will get out of this what you put into it. Obviously someone who still remains negative will be disappointed, but for those that know the importance of "thoughts become things" will be able to change their life for the better. Good Luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't get conned

    This DVD is a super successful marketing project that will capture naive, vulnerable people and dreamers. This professionally produced DVD is packed with wishful thinking. There is never a mention of risk/reward, cost/benefit, and in high cost situations, the believer will end up heart broken. Avoid this DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This documantary is worth millions and millions of dollars!!

    For me, this documentary confirmed a lot of my inner believes... So i have no doubt what so ever that it is 100% truthfull!! But it is for awakened people only!! Others will simply not understand! This is a movie that will change your life for ever!! It is the secret of everything, of life... It is the secret of Money, Power, Greatness... And the secret of all the great leaders and teachers of all time!! With this knowledge in hand, there are no limit of what you can do... It is for sure the knowledge that the knights templars had!! In a few words... It is the holy grail!! Hidden of the masses for all those centuries... and finally revealed!! "this is my own belief!"... Enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It will awakened something that is already there.

    There is no doubt that everything the Secret reveals is true. The secret within the secret is that if you don't believe in it than it will not work for you. I would also recommend to read the book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    91 minutes of wide open eyes and mouth

    I've read a lot of the reviews and was most surprised by the negative ones after seeing this DVD. All I can say to those writers is that you have never been in any of the positions that the narrators emphasize. About 5 minutes into this DVD, I was hooked. Unable to blink. It was difficult to close my mouth. The next day, two scenarios came true for me. The most amazing part is that it seems so simple. To those of you who call it magic or complain that these principles have been preached time and time again...well, you are right..There is nothing new in this DVD. But once you relate your own experiences to just one scenario in this movie you will understand that the techniques were developed just for YOU. Gothic music aside, there is no hokus pokus in this DVD. Its quite simply "the bag with a million dollars in it sitting on your bookshelf with dust on it". You can bring that bag of money down any time you want. But we have gone for years and years bypassing that bag. I'll tell you a story if you have the time to read... When I was a very little boy, maybe 3 or 4 years old, I recall sitting on my babysitters lap "I actually remember this story", and she was cracking open pistachio nuts for me to eat. there was one nut that sat very close to me on the table that she was putting them on once the shells were gone. This particular nut appeared to have the shell still on it. So I didn't touch it. I would wait for her to crack more open. It wasn't until she asked me why didn't I eat the one closest to me that I realized that it was without its shell. I will tell you that this particular pistachio nut was the best tasting of all the ones she cracked open for me on that day. And it sat closest to me the entire time. Pick up The Secret. Watch it. Live it. Your life is about to change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Religious wackos need to relax

    This book is a simple way to look at things in a positive but not unrealistic way in everyday life. If you did not get the memo this is a book about common sense with a few things you can pick up along, or u can pick and choose what works for your lifestyle, beliefs, ambitions, or good old chill pill on not stressing over obsticles yet taking action and responsibilty to the best of your ability - and if we fail which we all do all the time, at least we tried and that's a positive in itself, and we should deal with it the bestyou can and move forward. We should not force our beliefs into others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better Than the Book

    "The Secret" DVD has fantastic visual imagery and promotes a clear message of positive thought and attracting our cherished goals into our lives. The teachings contained in this DVD are based on Charles F. Haanel's book "The Master Key System." This was a system that he mailed in the 1900's to subscribers for $1500 per course, which was at that time a huge amount of money. "The Secret" DVD dramatizes Haanel's teachings. Your thinking and feelings attract or repel money, relationships and health in your life. It's like a magentic energy that you build up with your thoughts and enthusiasm. Wealth, relationships and health are all created from a mindset.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Again.....NOTHING new

    I saw this at a second hand bookstore and decided to see what Oprah was ga-ga about. Lo and behold it's a rehash of principles penned by popular authors from way back. It's done what it was supposed to do which is make $$ for it's author. Don't waste your time, Dyer's books are much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    If you are looking for a change,"no matter what it is" this will help! if anybody complains, they are usally complaining about the price, or that they "Knew this already" they are not thinking possitive thoughts,"One of the main points of the Secret" this is wonderful. It is only 30 dollars lol, some are ready for this information, and some are not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    How can you not think positive after reading this book.

    I am very thankful and excited this morning. I started reading this book last night and finished it. Even if you already know this info. It doesn't hurt to be reminded of how our daily lives can be happy no matter what is going on. I can hardly believe anyone could write a negative review after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    It's a wonderfull book which I recommend deeply. I have giving this book to my children's teachers as a end of the year thank you gift. It works wonders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Metaphysics 101

    The Secret is not really a secret at all. This concept is in many new age books (anything by Wayne Dyer, Deepak Chopra, Norman Vincent Peale, Ernest Holmes and even the spritual novel "The Destiny of Miro".) All of these give more information and explanation on the law of attraction. This has never been hidden information and the opening sequences that seem to be like "The Da Vinci Code" are simply overdone. This can serve as a basic introduction. Several people discuss how believing in something has helped them to manifest certain things in their lives. The stories are inspiring but where the DVD fails is in not exploring the concept further. Our beliefs can also limit us and keep us from what we desire. No matter how much you concentrate on being a millionaire, if you don't believe you deserve it, you won't get that big check. Knowing yourself is still your best tool. Recognize limitations in your beliefs and rid yourself of them. This must be done before you can really bring all that you want into your life. Also whoever did this DVD never watched "The Twilight Zone". Be careful what you wish for. It is really more important to focus on the emotion you want to have such as being loved or feeling fulfilled or prosperous, then let the universe decide how best to give you what you need to bring you that emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    mental health counselor

    There is a difference between sharing knowledge and SELLING knowledge. Rhonda claims that she is sharing knowledge, so then why is the book or DVD so expensive. Also, the book is no different from any other self-help book besides the fact that Oprah recommended it. Promoting positive thinking is the only thing i'll give this book credit for. But again, this is stated in any other self-help book (cheaper than this book). Life is what you make of it. With God and Love in your heart, you will find Happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    jack

    The human race is in a very sad sad state of being when so many people flock like moths to the flame to such a ridiculous newagey farce of a concept. I really wish that people would do some self-educating that didn't come from oprah winfrey's/dr.phil set of values. the vapidity in some of these reviews shows just how willing and lonely some people are to accept anything that presents itself as an answer on how to live your life. can none of you people tell a financial scheme when you see one? would you like to buy the brooklyn bridge as well? read kafka, read hemingway, listen to beethoven, rock n'roll, look at a michelangelo, the answers to life are far more likely to hit you on the head more than this latenight infomercial 1-800 crap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This movie changed my life. I recommend it to anyone! Absoloutely amazing. I really dont know what else to say aside from it changed my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Stories

    Yes, I agree that this information is NOT a SECRET and yes it has been presented in different formats BUT if you have read The Power of Positive Thinking, What You Say When You Talk To Yourself, The Purpose Driven Life, The Power of Intention, Think And Grow Rich and the #1 book THE BIBLE and you still don't get it....then you may want to invest in this one. Just like a child, a student and sometimes adults...you have to hear the same message delivered a different way to finally say AH I FINALLY GOT IT!!! Bottom line follow your dreams, step out on FAITH and just do it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The power of INDEPENDENT thought.

    The last reviewer is right. The basic premise for the book and DVD is "Think positive thoughts and good things will happen to you." It reads like a grab bag of chapter headings from any number of self improvment books. I'm pretty sure this lady sold her soul to get on Oprah because there are literally dozens and dozens of self help books better than this one. Note that large portions of the book are notes from "modern day teachers," all of whom have books of their own. Of course, they dont come with the Oprah seal of approval, so why bother, right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7