Customer Reviews for

The Secret (Extended Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is what started it all for me!

When I found this I finally started my journey to a happier me. I was lost before in the routine of my terribly boring everyday life. All I wanted to do was sleep, to provide me with some sort of stimulation compared to the monotiny of the same ?!&% everyday! I was st...
When I found this I finally started my journey to a happier me. I was lost before in the routine of my terribly boring everyday life. All I wanted to do was sleep, to provide me with some sort of stimulation compared to the monotiny of the same ?!&% everyday! I was stuck in a big way and this is the door that I opened and stepped through and have not looked back. This is a wonderful starting point for those who are lost or stuck. I have a bunch of wonderful recommendations to watch and rad as well. Good Luck and God Bless!

posted by FindingMyWay on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Truths diluted by mystical, new age crap. Good, but could have been great.

This mystical, new-age crap about "the Universe" flooding you with money and power, or whatever else your heart desires, is silly. How can you believe in some nameless, faceless, mystical power, when there is so much evidence to point to an actual God, who created this ...
This mystical, new-age crap about "the Universe" flooding you with money and power, or whatever else your heart desires, is silly. How can you believe in some nameless, faceless, mystical power, when there is so much evidence to point to an actual God, who created this world, who is our Father in Heaven, and who wants what is best, in the long term, for his spirit children here on Earth? Why is it easier to believe that crystals give you mystical energy, that "the Universe" gives you what you want, regardless of how righteous or evil, and that sin doesn't exist? Now for the actual footage - the beginning is overly melodramatic, quite nerdy, if you ask me. The Good: There is a lot of truth "Golden Rule, disguised in mystical terminology" in this infomercial. It will inspire many to be more focused, and to accomplish more. The Bad: Again, the new-age mysticism is irritating, as well as misleading to those who don't know better, so make sure you watch this with a healthy sense of skepticism for the more fantastic claims, and do your best to enjoy this very slick media production. Other than the cheesy introduction, the rest exhibits high production standards, and while some of the content is suspect, it contains a lot of good information, so it's worth the watch if you can get past the mystical new-age vocabulary "and some of the false claims".

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Anything is Possible!

    It never occurred to me til a friend introduced me to this movie, and book that people just do not realize what a vicious negative spiral they can get themselves into. Rhonda's inspirational reaction to her discovery of "The law of attraction" was to share it with the world! Luckily my mother was a collector of old books, so I had access to these books as a child.
    I must admit though that it has been difficult at times for me to explain to others how I got "the part" or how "I won" that vacation, other than my retorting that "Anything is possible just believe!" Which means ENTERING contests instead of thinking "I'll never win" If you don't enter You will not! Rhonda has found a way of being politically correct by saying make your request to the universe, where I would say make your request to God, which as far as I'm concerned is one and the same. I am thrilled to finally have a tool to use to help people to open their eyes to certain facts, so I can continue to gently remind them we all need to reprogram ourselves from time to time if we find we are not happy. As the key is to "feel good," and if you hear your mind coming up with all the "Buts" those are the negatives that are holding you back! We are taught that things don't come easy. Why not? Again my motto! Anything is possible only believe! I have even given "The Secret" Calendars to people for Christmas. And I recommend seeing the movie on a regular basis, until your life becomes what you wish it, because I'm sure you'll get a new insight each time. And oh yes that means you CAN have a dream life so instead of flowing with the tides of life, sit and think of what that dream is. Dust those cobwebs out! Was there something you wanted to become when you were a child? Continued Education? Dream Job? Financial security?
    Another book to read is "The Power of Positive Thinking" by Norman Vincent Peale As he had to get a psychology degree to be "allowed" to write a book on positive thinking. So he also was inspired to share his discovered inspiration to the world. He was a pioneer writer, as today you don't need a psychology degree to write a book on positive thought!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It can change your life!

    This is a good video to keep for those times when you feel down or depressed. Not only does it lift your spirits, but it also inspires you to get out there and start doing something about the things you don't like about your life. If you like self help books or videos, then you will definitely enjoy this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Inspiring thoughts on positive thinking.

    I found this book to be very mentally stimulating as to how the thought process can affect real life, as thoughts become things. If you can train your self to think differently this book tells you how all things are possible. You have the ability to change your life without having to do much of anything except realize that you are what you think and you can have what you think if you think of it in the now. Amazing. Once you read what the interviewers are saying you will realize that you have heard the same thing over and over from very successful people. They have all been trying to tell us the same thing, change your thoughts and you can change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Religious wackos need to relax

    This book is a simple way to look at things in a positive but not unrealistic way in everyday life. If you did not get the memo this is a book about common sense with a few things you can pick up along, or u can pick and choose what works for your lifestyle, beliefs, ambitions, or good old chill pill on not stressing over obsticles yet taking action and responsibilty to the best of your ability - and if we fail which we all do all the time, at least we tried and that's a positive in itself, and we should deal with it the bestyou can and move forward. We should not force our beliefs into others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Stories

    Yes, I agree that this information is NOT a SECRET and yes it has been presented in different formats BUT if you have read The Power of Positive Thinking, What You Say When You Talk To Yourself, The Purpose Driven Life, The Power of Intention, Think And Grow Rich and the #1 book THE BIBLE and you still don't get it....then you may want to invest in this one. Just like a child, a student and sometimes adults...you have to hear the same message delivered a different way to finally say AH I FINALLY GOT IT!!! Bottom line follow your dreams, step out on FAITH and just do it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    The context of this dvd stops and makes you think of what possiblities lie ahead with positive thoughts. You do have to be careful of what you wish for it might come true-good or bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not just on Oprah

    To the reviewer. I saw this DVD way before Oprah brought it on her show. And I know for a fact that out thoughts have power. If you dont believe. Think about a person or place, and watch it manifest itself to you. If it doesnt then you are too far gone to be reached!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    i found the secret more or less a recap of "the millionaires of the bible" series by catherine ponder,"conversations with god" books, "the game of life and how to play it".it is easier to read and understand than "the course in miracles", and if it gets the message out to a broader mass of folks to better their lives, it has served its purpose.these are only instructions, you have to supply the actions yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's worth it...

    The information is nothing new to anyone who has looked into the laws of attraction and related subject matter... It has been in self-help books for years and years... What I found to be wonderful about this dvd - is the format and presentation - It is really well done. Lovingly and beautifully presented. To marginalize the value of this dvd because the subject matter has been covered before - would be a huge mistake. It would be like saying "if you have read one history book - you have read them all." I am grateful that the producers of this film took the time and loving effort to put this out. They deserve my $30 for the work. I could spend that money on love or on hate... and I choose to buy this dvd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1